8/16 Toeby AMPS 162, +4 97, PMPS 137, +3 59, +4 77, +5 121

I gave him some medium carb FF after his +3 tonight to be sure, and I am glad I did as an hour later he's 77
I know better than to get hopes up, but he seems to be adjusting to this new lower dose.
 
Laura, I've been thinking about what your vet suggested about giving insulin only on the days he gets the budesonide and I don't think it's a bad suggestion. I don't think it can hurt to experiment a little with this. It's a little outside of what the dosing methods here can advise, but at this point you're experienced enough to know what to do when he drops low and to increase if he goes higher so you don't really need us. :) As long as you have an open channel of communication with your vet about how Toeby is doing and what dose he's on, I think it's worth it for you to think outside the FDMB box a bit to see how it works out.
 
Regarding my last post to you, sorry about the typo. I meant to split the difference on doses and do 0.15. If that was even possible. But looks like Toeby paid attention and decided to really work the 0.1 unit dose. Though I agree with Christie, there is too much blue in the picture, which is why I though a bit of an increase might help.

Regarding EOD dosing of Lantus, not sure how well that would work with a depot insulin. Probably not like you'd think. Might be OK with an in and out insulin like Prozinc. But I'd only consider it if the days without budesonide were taking him too low.
 
It seemed like the last limes were am cycle of August 11th, maybe nothing to do with Budesonide, since the Budesonide was given pm of August 9th.

ETA the next cycle went into safe greens?
I don't think a spike happens after every dose, which definitely makes this steroid vs insulin dosing thing difficult, but I do see a strong trend if you look back further on Toeby's SS.
 
And look at August 5th, where he dove to limes after a dose of budesonide. Did the same on the PM of 7/31. There's also been cycles with no budesonide where he's gone up after PS. Toeby's not making this easy! The action of budesonide is not as even (ie, less predictable), than with pred.
 
Wow, this discussion is wonderful!
Wow, my head hurts!
;)

I didn't try the alternating dosing as the vet suggested last Wednesday afternoon because frankly I was afraid of messing up what I'd achieved with him.
But, I do not feel comfortable working against her recommendations, as I respect her, so it feels wrong.
She is worried I am going to end up calling the clinic with him in a hypo emergency.
(I'm not sure she appreciates how hard I've been trying to avoid the same thing!)

She felt strongly that I should try it, knowing I could go back to regular dosing if it didn't work out.
But given his better results today, I think I will continue on the 0.10, maybe lean towards a 0.15 like Wendy has suggested, but regardless, stick to a minimal amount of insulin on a daily basis for now.
I have to report back to her next week.

His blood sugars seem to follow a pattern until they don't.
I am simply encouraged that overall, his trend for blood sugar levels has been going in the right direction - that is, downwards.

Toeby is not in the best of health overall...
He lost quite a bit of weight in the last year, while his brother got fluffier (like I did - I can blame Covid :)).
I certainly don't fool myself that he is going to live to be 25, but I do want him to at least feel okay while he's here.
Today he certainly seemed to feel pretty good... even got his old crappy attitude back, beating up his brother like he used to when he outweighed him.

Now, I have to re-read all this discussion and make some notes for myself.
Thank you very much, everyone!!!
I appreciate the input.
 
Back
Top