? 8/16, Tango, AMPS 247, +2 306, +6 375, PMPS 9 530

His numbers look good on this dose...for now. He is seeing nadirs in the high 70s/low 80s which is a good range for the AT2. If he drops below 68, he earns a reduction to 2.5U.
Glad to see you are holding the dose and shooting consistently. That yields the best results with depot insulins like Lantus :-)
 
Hello, I don't think I've stopped in and welcomed you to LLB forum yet. I have a thing for tuxies. :kiss:

Tango's spreadsheet is very "colourful". I called my girl the Rainbow Queen for a while.

Out of curiosity, I notice your signature said Tango had been tested for acromegaly. Can you tell me why he was tested and when?
 
His numbers look good on this dose...for now. He is seeing nadirs in the high 70s/low 80s which is a good range for the AT2. If he drops below 68, he earns a reduction to 2.5U.
Glad to see you are holding the dose and shooting consistently. That yields the best results with depot insulins like Lantus :)

Ok. So, for now, I shouldn't be too concerned about the high numbers - 400s and 500s? Understand if Nadir drops below 68 - reduce. Is that if just one reading drops?
Also, not that I want to, but should we be testing between testing +3 - +11 after PM shot?
 
Hello, I don't think I've stopped in and welcomed you to LLB forum yet. I have a thing for tuxies. :kiss:

Tango's spreadsheet is very "colourful". I called my girl the Rainbow Queen for a while.

Out of curiosity, I notice your signature said Tango had been tested for acromegaly. Can you tell me why he was tested and when?

Thank you Wendy. Love my tuxie.

Tango was tested for acromegaly about 3 weeks ago. Main reason to see if he was insulin resistant. It was also suggested by a couple others. Plus a year ago he had an x-ray and it indicated he had an enlarged heart and the specialist said this would provide more information as to the next steps.
 
Hard as it is, try to focus on the nadir numbers as the important ones. The ugly numbers just mean that the insulin is being successful in getting him down to blood sugar numbers he isn't used to yet. Totally common in recently diagnosed cats.

Your spreadsheet starts May 19th, but the diagnosis date is April 22nd. What day did he start insulin? The reason I'm asking is because of an English study at the Royal Veterinary Clinic that showed that you shouldn't test for acromegaly until the cat has been on insulin at least 73 days. Otherwise up to 1/3 of the cats that did have acromegaly, would test as false negative if tested too early. If the blood draw was 3 weeks ago, that would be July 26th. May 19th to July 26th is 69 days. It's also unusual for us to see members here who've already had the test done. Good on your vet for at least considering it.
 
Hard as it is, try to focus on the nadir numbers as the important ones. The ugly numbers just mean that the insulin is being successful in getting him down to blood sugar numbers he isn't used to yet. Totally common in recently diagnosed cats.

Your spreadsheet starts May 19th, but the diagnosis date is April 22nd. What day did he start insulin? The reason I'm asking is because of an English study at the Royal Veterinary Clinic that showed that you shouldn't test for acromegaly until the cat has been on insulin at least 73 days. Otherwise up to 1/3 of the cats that did have acromegaly, would test as false negative if tested too early. If the blood draw was 3 weeks ago, that would be July 26th. May 19th to July 26th is 69 days. It's also unusual for us to see members here who've already had the test done. Good on your vet for at least considering it.

Correct. Diagnosed 4/22. Tried changing diet - that didn't work. Started insulin 5/19. Blood draw was done on 7/21, collected on 7/23, vet emailed results 7/31. Looks like if we go by blood draw date, it's only 64 days. Will have to ask the specialist about this. Thanks for letting me know.
 
Back
Top