8/16, Susie, 238 @+2 (pm), 168 @+3.5 (pm)

Summer and Susie (GA)

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-15-susie-217-amps-162-2-142-3-157-4.251421/#post-2837139

Nice start for Susie this morning. I might have to be on my toes today.

She wasn't cleaning all her meal dishes yesterday like she normally does. I tried a can of Weruva Chicken Frick A Zee and she ate the first meal, mostly ate the second meal and turned her nose up at the third. Maybe I mixed too much water in. Last night she wasn't completely cleaning her bowls. Just leaving a tad. Ate all her breakfast this morning. Will keep an eye on her eating habits.

I left her last pm meal for +6, instead of +4, last night and got a decent AMPS today. Maybe there is something to providing food a little later than what I have been doing.
 
I was just thinking, right before I got her +1 test, how nice that she wasn't bouncing from yesterdays numbers. Well, I think I was wrong. The 224 was too high to be just a food bump. I might get the day off after all :(
 
Is there something about the 6th cycle after low greens that I should know about, Bhooma? I hope she is not going to keep me up tonight. I had to be a little vigilant last night.

Hope your Bandit is doing well.
 
Only that bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear. Hopefully she gives you a day and a night off! :)
Let me ask you some questions. Do cats really start bouncing less when they get better numbers? It just seems like Susie is getting lower numbers (blues/green) much more often now but she still bounces.

Also, do cats that continue to bounce actually get to remission? How can they when the OTJ trial requires low, consistent numbers?

If Susie didn't bounce, and have drastic drops, I would try harder to get her into remission. But, with these two continuous factors, I feel I will never get the chance to try and get her into remission.

Why do some cats bounce and others don't seem to?
 
It does look like you'll get a break today. I hope Susie surfs safely tonight. Each cat is different on when they quit bouncing. Furball is much more bouncy this time around on insulin. She did bounce some before, but not as bad. Once she got into good numbers it just "clicked" and she suddenly stopped bouncing. You just have to keep following the TR protocol and Susie will determine when she stops bouncing.
 
It does look like you'll get a break today. I hope Susie surfs safely tonight. Each cat is different on when they quit bouncing. Furball is much more bouncy this time around on insulin. She did bounce some before, but not as bad. Once she got into good numbers it just "clicked" and she suddenly stopped bouncing. You just have to keep following the TR protocol and Susie will determine when she stops bouncing.
Thank you, Carla.
 
Susie is looking good. She had a great weekend!

I am not sure why Bhooma said to be ready for tonight. It is not the 6th cycle. Susie had greens last night so this is only the 1st cycle since her last greens.

I've heard people mention that some cats bounce into remission. I recall seeing one ss with a cat who was bouncing until the OTJ trial began and was able to pass the 2 week trial. I don't remember who it was. It was a cat from before my time and someone mentioned it so I glanced at the ss to see what it looked like.
 
Susie is looking good. She had a great weekend!

I am not sure why Bhooma said to be ready for tonight. It is not the 6th cycle. Susie had greens last night so this is only the 1st cycle since her last greens.

I've heard people mention that some cats bounce into remission. I recall seeing one ss with a cat who was bouncing until the OTJ trial began and was able to pass the 2 week trial. I don't remember who it was. It was a cat from before my time and someone mentioned it so I glanced at the ss to see what it looked like.
I have heard that too, Mandy. Susie is really bouncing today. Looks like we both get the day off from all the testing. Of course, I will do periodic checks but I'm happy to give her a break. She did have a good weekend. I keep hearing that cats will bounce less once they are used to lower numbers. Doesn't seem to be the case with Susie.
 
Afternoon Summer, what nice greens Susie had last night and a good start this morning. I'm glad you and Susie are getting a pokey brake today and she surfs safely tonight. Have a nice day Summer ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yep, Susie proved me wrong again today. Earlier this morning I was thinking how glad I was that she wasn't bouncing badly THEN I got a 300 at her nadir time :arghh::banghead::eek:
 
Thank you, A. Looks like your boy is doing really well on the OTJ trial and it also looks like you got a little vacation. I hope so. Thanks for stopping in.

Thanks, I've been very fortunate. Hopefully he can start an official OTJ trial soon. The little fellow has been such a trooper.

I'm hoping you can get to a place where you can test lightly for a bit. You must feel very tired.
 
Honestly, I don't think I have anything to worry about, tonight, based on the next cycles after the pinks ( 7/28, 7/30, 8/3 and 8/11). I think it will take at least until tomorrow to see any drop in the glucose that will be significant. That being said, she always surprises me. I hope I am right. I would love a night where I didn't have to get up and test after +2. I have been so worried about her that I actually made myself wait until she used her litter box to check for ketones. It was the first time I have actually gotten a test and it was negative. Test strips were good - not expired. This is just another quirk in her diabetes treatment and one that is upsetting. I don't know how I will ever get her to remission.

I am also at the absolute "tail end" of her Lantus pen so I am going to open up the next one in about 30 minutes when I go for the PMPS. Frustrating day. Wish I knew how to stop these horrible bounces.
 
What am I supposed to do with this mess? I almost went to bed at 8:00 pm because she has been in the "statosphere" all day but due to an issue with my Mom I stayed up a little later. I wasn't even going to test Susie because she had been "sky high" all day. She went from 270 at PMPS to 168 at 3.5 (pm). I already gave her .75 oz l/c at +3.5 and she has .75 oz l/c in her auto feeder for +6. Am I safe to go to bed.? I'm tired and stayed up a little late with her last night. I just want sleep. Maybe a healthy TBLS of m/c or h/c? I can't do this tonight.
 
I sure can't give you dosing advice, but I really feel for you. It all sounds and looks really stressful. I can't imagine giving a bit of a carb bump so you can get some sleep would do any damage since you have to stay healthy too, but definitely not my place.

I'm just really sorry you're going through such a tough time.
 
Back
Top