8/16 Spooky AMPS 355, PMPS 118

Status
Not open for further replies.

koala kim

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's condo:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77195

A big heartfelt thanks to everyone who held my hand, calmed me down, and offered suggestions last night. I was practically at my wits' end trying to figure out how to make testing easier for Spooky. Well, truthfully- for all of us. ;-)

First, the bad- this morning, while trying to test, Spooky had an anxiety attack on us. He has never had one before, but I recognized it immediately as Punkin (no longer with us :cry: ) used to have them. I told my husband to let him go so he could catch his breath. After about 30 minutes, with everyone including Spooky calmer, we managed to get one. It just now hit me that the anxiety attack could have played a factor in the high BG number this morning. ohmygod_smile

We ended up giving him the full 1.5u this morning. After work tonight, I stopped at WalMart and picked up some 26g lancets. Rhiannon had suggested that the lancets I was using might not be a good gauge for now. I have been using the 31g, thinking it wouldn't hurt as much. :roll:

Tonight's testing went much better. It was the fastest testing we've done in at least two weeks! I got as close to the rim as I could (I did that this morning too, but, he was just so wound up :sad: ), 1 quick prick, and away Spooky flew! He only managed to get one growl out at us tonight. :lol:

I decided to go with .5u tonight. I kept wavering between no shot and .5u. I'll keep an eye on him, as I seem to be headed for another bout of insomnia. :roll: Right now, he's snoozing. :-D

Wishing all our sugar kitties pretty green numbers :mrgreen:
 
Great job on the testing, Kim! You are making real progress. :-D That must have been awful for him and you this morning with the anxiety attack. Hopefullu that won't happen again. Good suggestion on the bigger lancets!
Liz
 
FWIW, I don't use a 31 gauge lancet -- I use a 30 gauge. Going to a thicker lancet makes good sense until the capillary bed in Spooky's ear is better developed.

What you did tonight is what we call a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. It's a reduced dose. I'd suggest getting a +1 and a +2 test. We recommend getting early tests if you are shooting a lower than typical number.
 
Thanks Liz.
I felt so bad for him this morning. :sad:

I see Zener had a tummy problem this morning. :sad: Glad to read he's doing better this evening. :smile:
 
Sienne- BCS dose- :lol: I know I shouldn't laugh, but, it just hit me as funny. It fits though.
With his number dropping so much from this morning, I didn't want to give the full 1.5u dose, and the 1u even seemed like it might be too much.


I didn't have a clue as to what size lancets to buy originally, so I went with what I thought would be the most gentle. It never occurred to me that his capillary bed needed to be developed. So much to learn still...

My husband's long gone, so no more testing tonight, unfortunately. This weekend we will try to get some extra testing in. I want to try and get one during the overnight hours.
 
I think you definitely SHOULD laugh. As much as possible. :lol: That's the only way to get through all this. Isn't it great that you can get this kind of help here? I am positive that Zener would not be alive, let along thriving, if Anne hadn't found this place.
Liz
 
Good to hear a little success.

Some of us do better with baby steps but as long as we improve, that's the way to go.

Are you desensitizing Spooky to clicking?
 
@ Liz- Laughter is always a great medicine! :lol:

I am positive that Zener would not be alive, let along thriving, if Anne hadn't found this place.
I believe that too. This place is truly life saving. <3

When the vet first suggested diabetes to us, she told me I could keep on free feeding the dry (Orijen, which is a "low carb" dry :roll: ). Her exact words were "That sounds like a good food. You can continue to feed it. We can work around your feeding schedule."

Thankfully, I got on the Internet, found this place, realized dry food was *not* going to cut it, and hit the pet store for lots of wet food. That was actually a blessing, since by the time Spooky was started on insulin, the switch from dry to wet was already 2 weeks along. Pretty sure Spooky would not have been happy at all with tests, shots, AND no dry food all at once! :lol:

@ Rhiannon- I clicked it a little last night. Didn't even try this morning. Right now he's chilling next to me, so I think I'll go get it and click some more. ;-)

Baby steps,,,I need to make that my mantra... :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top