8/16 Scully AMPS=? +3=112 +6=62 +7=74 PMPS=250

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Scully

Member Since 2014
Hello, everyone! DH and I just returned from a week's vacation in California! We flew into LA and drove up the coast to San Francisco with stops along the way in Carmel and Monterey. Had a great time!

While we were on vacation, we boarded Scully at our vet's. I was a little hesitant to board her because she just plain hates it there, but that was the only option that allowed me to go on vacation with the peace of mind that Scully would be monitored and quickly treated if her blood sugar dropped too low. My mom, who normally took care of Scully and Mulder when we were away prior to Scully's FD diagnosis, is willing to give Scully her insulin injections but is uncomfortable testing her. She hates the thought of poking her ears, even though I've explained countless times how necessary and relatively easy it is. Plus she doesn't have the time to come over to our house several times a day. She lives less than 10 minutes away, but twice a day to feed and clean the litter box is about as much as she has time to do. So, while we were gone, Scully was at the vet's and my mom came over to take care of Mulder, who really enjoyed being king of the castle while everyone else was away.

I picked up Scully this morning, and boy was she happy to see her mommy!! I got a lot of headbutts, nudges, purrs, etc. Thank goodness there was no why-did-you-leave-me-at-that-place attitude and only thank-you-for-bringing-me-home-I-missed-you feelings! However, she seems to be exhibiting some separation anxiety. If I am out of her eyesight for more than 5 minutes, she begins to meow, soft at first, more like talking, but gradually increasing in volume. My DH doesn't seem to be able to calm her either. While I was in the shower, she laid on the bathroom floor and continued to meow, even as I talked to her to assure her I was right there, but she did not want me in the shower where she couldn't see me. I was also moving about the house today doing laundry, sorting mail, all the fun things we get to do when we get home from vacation, so if I didn't return to the room where she was after a few minutes, I would hear her calling. Eventually we both settled in the spare bedroom -- me ironing and she curled up at the top of her cat tree finally relaxed enough to take a nap. My sweet girl.

Our regular vet was out of town the entire time Scully was there, but another doctor was there to cover for him. I was told by the receptionist that Scully was very stressed the entire time she was there, and didn't eat very much. Upon release today she weighed 10.6 lbs, so she lost a pound. We supplied them with FF Classic food and a few cans of FF Gravy Lovers (just in case of a low sugar episode), but I was told that although she ate some of the FF, she often had to be hand-fed A/D medicated food. They kept her insulin dose at 1 U, but only tested her once a day at +5 after her AM shot. And she wasn't tested at all Saturday or Sunday because the doctor is the only one who tests the animals, and of course he is off on the weekend. Well, so much for feeling secure that if her blood sugar dropped she was being carefully monitored and would be quickly treated! Why put her through the stress of boarding her if they aren't going to closely monitor her? I know her numbers were trending high when we took her, and the stress would probably keep her numbers elevated, but I still think they should have tested her more frequently. Yesterday at +5 she tested at 87. I will think twice before boarding her again. I think I'd rather have her stay home where she's comfortable, and perhaps decrease her dose slightly so my mom doesn't have to worry about testing her.

Aside from her constant need to be near me today, which I like because I've missed her, she seems to be doing well. She had a very large, solid poop soon after coming home, and has eaten a few small meals throughout the day, which is normal for her. She's a grazer, not a hoover. Her coat looks good -- no dandruff. Her eyes are clear. Her neuropathy seems to be the same, no better or worse. This evening she ate about a half a can for dinner before her PM shot. She smells like the vet, though, so Mulder won't go near her and if they get too close to one another there's an abundance of hissing from both sides. This is completely normal for them and will take a week or two before they will tolerate being close to each other again. It happens every time one or both go to the vet.

I hope everyone is having a great weekend! I am sooo not ready for Monday to arrive! Going back to work after vacation sucks. Sending healing vines to all of our sugar kitties and their beans in need.

Tara & Scully
 
Hi Tara - I'm glad you got away and managed to have a good time on holiday. Me time is very important with an FD kitty!

Bummer on the vet not testing as you were hoping for, but it does seem to be a familiar story. Several people here just lower the dose to something safe so the pet sitter can shoot without testing. One pound is a lot of weight to lose in a week. Yet another reason she'd be more comfortable at home. I hope Scully is back to her usual appetite now.

Great cycle today - she does seem to be doing well on this dose. And so sweet how she missed you. cat_pet_icon
 
Yes, I think we will just lower her dose next time so she can stay at home. I literally cried when I dropped her off at the vet last week.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top