julie & punkin (ga)
Member Since 2011
last post 8/11
we've been on quite the rollercoaster this week. i think the pancreatitis might be resolving some.
sunday morning after we'd given him his shot, he refused to eat. he was amps 93 and if he'd been willing to eat it wouldn't have been a problem. saturday he'd been eating so i didn't expect it. anyway, i took him to the vet as soon as it opened and asked for cerenia for his nausea. the e-vet told me (via the tech) that she'd have to examine punkin before prescribing, and that they wouldn't give him cerenia because he wasn't vomiting. i asked for ondansetron and she said they didn't carry that and the compounding pharmacy is closed on sundays. at that point i didn't know i could get it at a people pharmacy. the vet tech said they only had mirtz, which i didn't want to give him because it was obvious to me that he was nauseous. i said he didn't need an appy stimulant, i wanted something for the nausea. ultimately, i left without any help and poked, carbed & begged him to eat all day long. it was very, very aggravating. he'd only gotten the pancreatitis diagnosis a couple of days before that and i spent $300 there in just the previous week, so i didn't want to pay for an exam when the vet told me upfront that she wouldn't give him anything for nausea.
Monday i talked to my vet about it and am writing a letter to them about the experience. apparently that emergency vet is a co-owner.
he got fluids on Tuesday at the vet's (followed by his BG going from 150ish to 26), he's on cerenia to reduce the nausea, bupe to relieve pain, and metronidazole to kill the lingering c diff bugs.
we've reduced the dose, but it's been a bit crazy trying to figure out if shed is causing his numbers to drop or if he needs another reduction. obviously today is calling for another reduction. the poor guy has been poked a million times in the past week, it seems.
on the good side, he's definitely eating better although no CPC yet. :sad: i expect him to get back there soon, though. i've been sprinkling little bits of the fancy feast on his food to get him to eat it. he has returned to normal excitement about his beloved Pill Pockets. he has a funny MRW that he does that is only about those. stares right at me getting them ready, glances at the floor to see if he's missed one, stares back at me, lets out one MRW, and repeats til he gets his pill pockets.
he's feeling better overall also. i picked him up this morning to carry him upstairs to test him and he started purring. still won't let me just hold him, but i will take what i can get.
the fluids at the vet's went fine - he didn't even flinch when the needle went in. but i am a little concerned about when to give him fluids today, especially with him back in low numbers. i don't know if it was a coincidence tuesday that he went so low after getting the fluids or if it was a cause -> effect. so many factors at play in the little guy it's hard to know what is what.
we've been on quite the rollercoaster this week. i think the pancreatitis might be resolving some.
sunday morning after we'd given him his shot, he refused to eat. he was amps 93 and if he'd been willing to eat it wouldn't have been a problem. saturday he'd been eating so i didn't expect it. anyway, i took him to the vet as soon as it opened and asked for cerenia for his nausea. the e-vet told me (via the tech) that she'd have to examine punkin before prescribing, and that they wouldn't give him cerenia because he wasn't vomiting. i asked for ondansetron and she said they didn't carry that and the compounding pharmacy is closed on sundays. at that point i didn't know i could get it at a people pharmacy. the vet tech said they only had mirtz, which i didn't want to give him because it was obvious to me that he was nauseous. i said he didn't need an appy stimulant, i wanted something for the nausea. ultimately, i left without any help and poked, carbed & begged him to eat all day long. it was very, very aggravating. he'd only gotten the pancreatitis diagnosis a couple of days before that and i spent $300 there in just the previous week, so i didn't want to pay for an exam when the vet told me upfront that she wouldn't give him anything for nausea.
Monday i talked to my vet about it and am writing a letter to them about the experience. apparently that emergency vet is a co-owner.
he got fluids on Tuesday at the vet's (followed by his BG going from 150ish to 26), he's on cerenia to reduce the nausea, bupe to relieve pain, and metronidazole to kill the lingering c diff bugs.
we've reduced the dose, but it's been a bit crazy trying to figure out if shed is causing his numbers to drop or if he needs another reduction. obviously today is calling for another reduction. the poor guy has been poked a million times in the past week, it seems.
on the good side, he's definitely eating better although no CPC yet. :sad: i expect him to get back there soon, though. i've been sprinkling little bits of the fancy feast on his food to get him to eat it. he has returned to normal excitement about his beloved Pill Pockets. he has a funny MRW that he does that is only about those. stares right at me getting them ready, glances at the floor to see if he's missed one, stares back at me, lets out one MRW, and repeats til he gets his pill pockets.
he's feeling better overall also. i picked him up this morning to carry him upstairs to test him and he started purring. still won't let me just hold him, but i will take what i can get.
the fluids at the vet's went fine - he didn't even flinch when the needle went in. but i am a little concerned about when to give him fluids today, especially with him back in low numbers. i don't know if it was a coincidence tuesday that he went so low after getting the fluids or if it was a cause -> effect. so many factors at play in the little guy it's hard to know what is what.