Re: 8/16 Lucian AMPS 60,+4.75/63,+7.5/48
Never hurts to have a high carb, or at least Karo syrup. I keep both. My kit has 4-5 cans of high card and a 'bear' honey bottle half full of Karo syrup. A lot of people will keep an extra vial of strips in their kit, because when they go low, you could end up testing as often as every 15 minutes. But since I buy strips 2 vials at a time, I've almost always got an unopened or just opened vial. When I open the 2nd, I get 2 more the next time at Walmart, usually within a day or 2. FF Gravy Lovers is very good for High carb. Comes in several flavors, whatever he likes. Most have like 21-22 carbs, so that will kick the a$$ of a low bg he might throw. :lol:
A bit of advice on low bg's: Many times the owner will freak out and give the cat a bunch of high carb. NOT good! It is only going to help for a short period of time. You're going to have to keep giving it, possible every 30 mins, maybe less. The last thing you want is for him to be full and not eat it. So the best way to handle it, feed in 1 (one) teaspoon amounts every 20-30 minutes until he's in the safe zone again. I've dealt with this many times, been up till 6AM with no sleep too. I've seen other newbee members feed too much and then when the cat really needs the carbs, they refuse to eat cause they are full. You don't want that to happen. When a cat runs low before/at nadir, you have to steer them a little with food until their numbers naturally start coming back up towards the end of the cycle. And, YES, I do use a measuring spoon, not silverware. Being higher than you'd like is a pisser, but being too low can be deadly. One thing about around here, if you are dealing with a hypo, someone will stay with you until the cat is safe, even if it means being up all night with you. I've done it, many others have too. And others did it for me when I was a newbee and scared to death.
NOW for Lucian..........me thinks he might be looking for a reduction in dose.

He just ate his low carb, will test again in about an hour because he really isn't at nadir yet I think. He seems to nadir around +9, give or take.