8/16 Lucian AMPS 60,+4.75/63,+7.5/48,+9/72,PMPS 176

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
UGH! I have to leave in a little over an hour and have no idea when I'll be back, but hopefully before he nadirs, Experience has taught me not to reduce his dose when he's low, so I didn't. I did give him some med carb for breakfast and will give him another spoonful before I go, I'd rather him be a little high today than too low, since I won't be here for half the day at least. I would have loved to monitor this cycle just to see what he would do, but never fails..............

Hope he's ok, if I don't go to court, I'll get locked up, so I have no choice.
 
Re: 8/16 Lucian AMPS 60

Good luck in court today!! Lucian will hold down the fort while you are gone. Nice number - puts me to shame!!

You should take Lucian with you.... "Pardon me your honor, I need to test my cat now.... Can we use your bench or better yet could you hold him for me, he really is a dear... you understand"

Tee hee.. Just trying to keep your spirits up!
 
Re: 8/16 Lucian AMPS 60

LOL talk about being held in contempt! Seriously, 20 yrs ago I would have, but I'm too old to deal with the consequences. Thanks for the chuckle! :lol:

I'm outa here, gotta stop and get a biscuit on the way or worry about my BG's.
 
Re: 8/16 Lucian AMPS 60,+4.75/63

Wow look at that - 63 :cool:

So what med carb food did you give him? I have FF Florentines in my hypo kit which I consider to be med carb at 14%.
 
Re: 8/16 Lucian AMPS 60,+4.75/63

I use the Friskees Beef with Gravy Prime Filets and it's either 14 or 15%, can't remember which. I have much higher in my Hypo kit, 21-22%. Extremely rare that they are used, med carb is normally sufficient.
For some reason, the Tuna and Egg has the same effect on him and I think it's an 8 or 9, so I use that as med carb too.

Well, got the court over with, to the tune of about $206.00 counting parking and gas. :o So now I'm sort of on probation, can't get another violation in the next year I believe, it may be 2 yrs. As long as I don't, it will be removed from my driving record. Hell, I'm scared to drive now! :shock: Setting the cruise AT the speed limit, stopping at yellow lights, etc :lol:

And Social Security Disability wants me to see a DR 40 miles away! Break out the xanax! @-)
 
Re: 8/16 Lucian AMPS 60,+4.75/63

Sounds like you got a heavy foot like me - especially when I see a yellow light. Glad it's over for you. Phew!!!
Now you and Lucian can kick back (although you shouldn't be kicking anything with that sore foot) and enjoy a xanax daze or a glass of wine...

I should probably add a high carb can to my hypo kit.
 
Re: 8/16 Lucian AMPS 60,+4.75/63,+7.5/48

Never hurts to have a high carb, or at least Karo syrup. I keep both. My kit has 4-5 cans of high card and a 'bear' honey bottle half full of Karo syrup. A lot of people will keep an extra vial of strips in their kit, because when they go low, you could end up testing as often as every 15 minutes. But since I buy strips 2 vials at a time, I've almost always got an unopened or just opened vial. When I open the 2nd, I get 2 more the next time at Walmart, usually within a day or 2. FF Gravy Lovers is very good for High carb. Comes in several flavors, whatever he likes. Most have like 21-22 carbs, so that will kick the a$$ of a low bg he might throw. :lol:

A bit of advice on low bg's: Many times the owner will freak out and give the cat a bunch of high carb. NOT good! It is only going to help for a short period of time. You're going to have to keep giving it, possible every 30 mins, maybe less. The last thing you want is for him to be full and not eat it. So the best way to handle it, feed in 1 (one) teaspoon amounts every 20-30 minutes until he's in the safe zone again. I've dealt with this many times, been up till 6AM with no sleep too. I've seen other newbee members feed too much and then when the cat really needs the carbs, they refuse to eat cause they are full. You don't want that to happen. When a cat runs low before/at nadir, you have to steer them a little with food until their numbers naturally start coming back up towards the end of the cycle. And, YES, I do use a measuring spoon, not silverware. Being higher than you'd like is a pisser, but being too low can be deadly. One thing about around here, if you are dealing with a hypo, someone will stay with you until the cat is safe, even if it means being up all night with you. I've done it, many others have too. And others did it for me when I was a newbee and scared to death.

NOW for Lucian..........me thinks he might be looking for a reduction in dose. :o He just ate his low carb, will test again in about an hour because he really isn't at nadir yet I think. He seems to nadir around +9, give or take.
 
Re: 8/16 Lucian AMPS 60,+4.75/63,+7.5/48

Thanks for all the good advice. I have a honey bear full of honey and extra strips in his kit along with the medium carb food. I will have to add a measuring spoon. Sno gets fed many times and he always has food to graze on during the day and night. The other cats won't touch it. I do have to admit that I get more excited than worried when his numbers go low. I want to celebrate but I also know that I have to keep an eye on him which is easy because he is usually more active and out of his room. I am watchful but not worried and I take hourly tests then. Now I know that this is because I have not had a hypo experience. That jubilation could change if I ever did.

Is it recommended that if he were to need some help in a low situation - that a couple of drops of honey could be added to the teaspoon of medium carb food?
 
Re: 8/16 Lucian AMPS 60,+4.75/63,+7.5/48

Absolutely! You could do the same for low carb if needed. From what I understand though, is that honey or syrup doesn't last as long as med or high carb food. Maybe cause it's a simple carb and not the complex carbs like in food most times. I could be wrong, but that's my thought on it, sounds logical. :-D It would still be a boost for a med carb if it was needed. As I understand it, karo or honey is absolutely necessary if the cat goes into coma. You can't feed then. You rub drops of syrup on the gums on the way to the ER Vet. I've heard, in emergencies it can be administered through the rectum where it is absorbed, like on the gums. May sound bad, but if it saves his life, it's worth it.

Keep in mind, all cats are different. Some show hypo symptoms at 30-40, others don't show it until below 20. Depends on the cat. I think the lowest Lucian has been was 31? Maybe? and showed no symptoms. But some cats do at that level. Unfortunately, we never know until it happens. :o

I think with your med carb and honey/syrup, you're fine. Wouldn't hurt to add a can or 2 of high carb, just in case. With Lucian, once I've given all the med/high that I'm going to, the other cats get the rest of the can and think they got a treat. :thumbup
 
Re: 8/16 Lucian AMPS 60,+4.75/63,+7.5/48,+9/72

So much for +9 being his nadir! Never, never, never try to predict what Lucian will do, I should know better!! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 8/16 Lucian AMPS 60,+4.75/63,+7.5/48,+9/72

Yeah but you're still in double digits!!! Give that boy a beer!! Oh, wait, too many carbs...
 
Not a bad bounce at all, no complaints here. :-D If he was on Lantus, he'd be over 500 with that 48 today. :o

I'm not going to give him a reduction yet, probably next time he drops below 50. Of course, had I not boosted him this morning, he may have gone much lower, maybe TOO low, so I want to wait and see what he does another cycle or 2, see if he needs a reduction or it was just a fluke of some sort.

Gotta go to Walmart tomorrow, opened his last vial of strips today, plus need more cat food....always. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top