8/16 Lightning PMPS 319, +2 305, +4 232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pamela and Lightning

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo
8/15

Yesterday was pretty eventful....saw almost every color! We finally got to a nice green number around +4 PM. Didn't test again after that, wanted to give Lightning's ears some rest.

Not sure this new timed feeder is going to work out....Tried to use one side of it last night and Thunder actually ended up getting the tray completely out of the unit (luckily it was the side I wasn't using) but still.....have a feeling I'm only going to be able to use it when I'm not home for long periods of time and who knows what they'll do to it while I'm gone.

But anyways, happy monday and hoping for more colors today!
 
Re: 8/16 Lightning AMPS 332, +2 326

Did I read on your SS that you are feeding the 10% food this morning? Wondering if the LC would be a better choice unless you see him going low...
I see you fed at +1 ...Lots of people use LC in mini meals, fed every hour during the beginning of the cycle. The food keeps their BGs level and helps prevent the dropping. So, feed at shot time and then a mini meal at +1 and then again at +2.
I hope Lightning does well in clearing this bounce today...wonder how low he went last night or if the HC brought him up... We do another test to make sure they are on the rise so next time, maybe you will make sure you get that second test in.
Thunder and Lightning...sooo cute! :lol: How is Thunder feeling today?
Sorry about the timed feeder...maybe they just need practice with it!
 
Re: 8/16 Lightning AMPS 332, +2 326

WELL....I'm trying to experiment with the food thing. I want to see how the 10% affects him. I want to know if it will keep him stable (even if that means staying in the 300's) or if he still drops like with the 3-5%. Just took his +4 and he's at 294 so he's dropped less than 40 pts since his shot. BUT he's pretty close to on track with what he did yesterday (although his AMPS was 20 pts higher). I'm interested to see how the rest of the day pans out and if he's going to stay yellow or not.

I wasn't keeping track of the % previously, but all his food was 3-5% and on 8/19 he started at 294 and dropped to 48 in 4 hours! Granted that was with the 1.5u, so there are a lot of variables I'm working with here....just trying to figure it all out! :?

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
I see you fed at +1 ...Lots of people use LC in mini meals, fed every hour during the beginning of the cycle. The food keeps their BGs level and helps prevent the dropping. So, feed at shot time and then a mini meal at +1 and then again at +2.
I've been breaking up his whole AM meal into a few meals throughout the whole 12 hours, but I think I'm going to focus on the first 6 hours instead. So i've been giving 1/2 can (1.5 oz) before his AM shot and then 1/4 can (.75oz) every few hours until he gets a total of 1 1/2 cans in the AM. Then I repeat the same thing in the PM. He gets a total of 9 oz of food per day, plus a few dried chicken treats here and there....and MAN does he love those things!

Thunder is doing "ok" today....his ear bumps are looking horrible although his mouth doesn't seem to have a bad ulcer. I'll have to make an appt for him though cause he's been very moody for the last few weeks and hisses and bites at Lightning all the time. I just read that the ulcers can make him more aggressive (which I've never noticed before) but looks like things are getting worse...Ugh...2 sick kitties is NOT fun!
 
Re: 8/16 Lightning AMPS 332, +2 326, +4 294

Two kitties with issues is not a lot of fun. (well, I guess I know about that too....but I had the two on insulin at the same time for awhile...LOL...Yikes! Raja went OTJ so now I just have Shadow on shots)

It is great that you are trying out the different foods and all, Pamela...really good job. But keep in mind that we are hoping to keep them in healing range during as much of the day as possible. So, if your aim is to keep him in the 300's, it's not all that good for him.

I always say that "food is your friend" and believe me, I know how scary the lower numbers can be at first. But, food can help them surf in the greens or the blues...and that is preferable to them surfing in the pinks. If they drop, it means an adjustment in how much insulin they get. So, by keeping him in the 300s and giving him the insulin that he is getting now, you are kinda spinning your wheels. Know what I mean? The HC is an important tool when they go low...but I think you are working against the insulin when you are feeding it all the time.

The trick is to keep his numbers in the healing range on LC foods. We know what HC does, but we need him to be eating LC food --a little each hour in the beginning of the cycle...and if he goes <50, then less insulin is need. You will earn a dosecrease. And you will bring him up to a higher green with the MC or HC. On the lowered dose and LC, his numbers will again adjust and possibly go <50 again...thereby working his way down the dosing ladder until he no longer needs the insulin at all!
Does that make sense?
 
Re: 8/16 Lightning AMPS 332, +2 326, +4 294

It makes TOTAL sense! And when I said I wanted to keep him in the 300's I didn't really mean it literally....I meant that I want to see if the food will keep him at any level...whether its 300, 200, 100, etc. I just want to see how it works. So yes, my intent is to let the insulin work and get him in the normal ranges, I just want to figure out how to KEEP him in those ranges. So for me, I feel like I need to do some trial and error and figure out what makes him stable. I feel like when he's drops into the super low greens, I freak out and feed way too much HC and that's why he bounces the next day. So that's why yesterday I only fed him 1 tsp because I know that from before, he's gotten way too much of it (and I now know that it takes a while for his body to register it) and I didn't want him to end up ridiculously high again. And his AMPS wasn't too bad, but of course I would like to see it lower. His HC is actually super high at 19% so I'm thinking that maybe that is too much and again, I need to do some figuring out to see what % of HC is enough for him to not make him completely go in the other direction.

I've already realized that this is going to take ALOT of practice and I don't expect to get Lightning regulated in a few months or anything, but I do want to try everything I can to make sure I know what the food does for him. Just like with the insulin, I found out that 1.25 is too low and 1.5 is too high. Which totally boggles my mind that such a small amount (I mean seriously, its a few drops!) can affect him so much! So believe me, my intentions are there, I probably just don't articulate them as well as needed, especially since I have to type them too! :)
 
Re: 8/16 Lightning AMPS 332, +2 326, +4 294

I tend to take things quite literally so apologies if I misunderstood what you meant...
The bounces drive us all crazy but we know they are coming when we see the lows. <sigh>
I wish there was something that could be done to eliminate them completely, but that something doesn't exist I guess. Bounce they do and bounce they will. Well, until they don't bounce anymore... LOL.

Kudos to you for getting so thoroughly involved with this. I think that it is the one thing that will assure a healthy future for sugarbabies. The Beans' attitude makes all the difference. Your boys are very lucky to have you for their Bean! :razz:
 
Re: 8/16 Lightning AMPS 332, +2 326, +4 294

Hi Pamela

I had to do the same thing for what seemed like ages trying the carbs out, geesh!
I got lucky thou, 2% was too little and 4-6% was the one that worked.

Have you tried MC numbers? I see you note the foods on SS, this is good, I like tracking stuff :-D
 
Re: 8/16 Lightning AMPS 332, +2 326, +4 294

No worries Pat. I love all the conversations..helps me figure out things I might've over looked or not thought about before...so keep it up! :)

Ronnie, today is Day 1 with the higher carb food. Is 10% still considered LC or is it the start of MC? I know I've seen someone post the %'s for them but I can't remember off the top of my head and 10% is what I thought MC was. If I'm wrong, please let me know.
 
Re: 8/16 Lightning AMPS 332, +2 326, +4 294

I think it may depend on the brand.
I think. hopefully others can come along to give more specifics.


usually under 10% is considered LC, but ECID...

and every cat responds differently, which is why tracking the numbers and what was given really helps sort that out.
 
Re: 8/16 Lightning AMPS 332, +2 326, +4 294, +6 291

Ok, well now I know what 10% food does for Lightning...nothing basically! BUT it does mean something when I look at the grand scheme of things. His BG went up to 360 @ +10 and I was trying to hold out til his PMPS but he just looked kinda "eh" so I figured I might as well check cause maybe he's skyrocketed or something. Nope...@+11.25 he's come down and is now at 315. He's just been laying around and looking kinda sad, but he does play when I get out his "mousey" :smile:

I don't get why he's on such a roller coaster? Up, down, up, down. I even gave lower carb food @ +6 and he ended up going higher than his AMPS. Just another frustrating day in FD land I suppose. I'll be giving him 5% tonight as well so we'll see if he changes his tune at all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top