8/16 KittenCat AMPS 186

Jenifer

Member Since 2020
Did my first 1/2 dose this morning. Does this look about right? It’s pretty much impossible to try and get an accurate 1/2 dose.
Also, KittenCat jumped up on the coffee table for the first time in months! OMG! This makes me so happy! I think she can smell her freeze dried treats in there or something.
One more question. My other cat seems to be very interested in her backside and keeps licking at her there. I know there is stuff I need to learn about ketones so I’m wondering if that maybe has something to do with Dougs sudden interest in that particular area......
7B013942-0A29-46D8-8740-77E3A778FE0F.jpeg


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/newbie-here.233447/#post-2612463
 

Attachments

  • 7B013942-0A29-46D8-8740-77E3A778FE0F.jpeg
    7B013942-0A29-46D8-8740-77E3A778FE0F.jpeg
    59.8 KB · Views: 117
Forgot to post a pic of the 1/2 dose
57898810-52F5-4360-AED6-A5A16C4310A8.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 57898810-52F5-4360-AED6-A5A16C4310A8.jpeg
    57898810-52F5-4360-AED6-A5A16C4310A8.jpeg
    20.4 KB · Views: 116
Do you mind getting a current test to see where Kittencat's # is. Are you using a AT2?

do you have syringes with 1/2 unit markings? From the picture that looks like 1.5u. We'll see what others see in the pic.

When starting out with a blue PS# it's a good idea to get a test in at +2. Kittencat had a black PMPS last night and blue start this morning. there was a lot of movement in #s during the night. Testing is the only way to see that movement and know what's going on. We always recommend to get a Test in before you go to bed, to ensure kitty doesn't need assistance.

Here's a link about Ketones There are additional links w/i this page that better explain Ketones.

Have you had a chance to look over the yellow stickies at the top of the forum discussing dosing methods?
 
Please, since you are a very new member post for help before shooting a blue PS. I can't emphasize enough how important testing is. Blue PS #s can lead to dramatic drops in BG#s. Not trying to scare you...trying to inform and help how I can;) Any new test results?
 
In
Do you mind getting a current test to see where Kittencat's # is. Are you using a AT2?

do you have syringes with 1/2 unit markings? From the picture that looks like 1.5u. We'll see what others see in the pic.

When starting out with a blue PS# it's a good idea to get a test in at +2. Kittencat had a black PMPS last night and blue start this morning. there was a lot of movement in #s during the night. Testing is the only way to see that movement and know what's going on. We always recommend to get a Test in before you go to bed, to ensure kitty doesn't need assistance.

Here's a link about Ketones There are additional links w/i this page that better explain Ketones.

Have you had a chance to look over the yellow stickies at the top of the forum discussing dosing methods?
I updated her SS right after I posted this. She was at 241. I am not using the AT2 but it is a pet meter. I have read through some things but not all. Still trying to figure out how to navigate this site which is proving to be quite difficult for me for some reason Thanks for the link. I will check it out. And I’m working on reading the stickies as I have time. Hopefully I’ll get through them today.
 
Please, since you are a very new member post for help before shooting a blue PS. I can't emphasize enough how important testing is. Blue PS #s can lead to dramatic drops in BG#s. Not trying to scare you...trying to inform and help how I can;) Any new test results?
Seriously? So I shouldn’t have given her her shot then? Her BG is 241 right now
 
She was at 241
whew!

The FDMB is information overload for certain. Take your time. Ask questions. We'll help as much as we can. After All our goal is to help you through Kittencats diabetic journey.
I would look over this sticky first. It discusses the different dosing methods. Pick the one that fits into your lifestyle.

I type slow...sorry. I'll try to reply to things individually
 
Seriously? So I shouldn’t have given her her shot then? Her BG is 241 right now
Nope didn't say that. We just ask that new members post for help prior to shooting a lower than normal PS. That way we can help you if things were to get beyond your control, so to speak.
 
We just want to know if you are shooting a lower number Than you are used to so that someone can keep an eye on your condo. If you get help before you shoot a member will stick with you for as long as needed or get another member to do so. Kitten is bouncing from hitting a bg she probably hasn’t seen in awhile. See what happens at PMPS but I think you will likely be able to give the full dose. Only Kitten knows for sure.
 
Nope didn't say that. We just ask that new members post for help prior to shooting a lower than normal PS. That way we can help you if things were to get beyond your control, so to speak.
Ok. I’ll remember that. I didn’t think her PS # was super low. And it had been less than 12 hours since her pm shot too so I figured that had something to do with her number being good for once. I’m changing her shot times a little bit now that I’m going to start dosing her twice a day instead of once so that’s why it was less than 12 hours. How do people do this when they don’t check levels at home? You just do the injections and hope for the best?
 
Basically to sum up the 2 dosing "methods" SLGS is Start low go slow and TR is tight regulation. SLGS is a gradual approach to dosing. Changes to doses are made slower and preshot(PS) thresholds are higher.
TR is a very aggressive dosing method. Doses changes are made quicker and PS thresholds are lower. If you click on my kitty Moey's SS....I followed TR. tiffmaxee's kitty Max was following TR.
 
How do people do this when they don’t check levels at home?
If they're not at least getting PS(preshot)#s...they're taking a huge risk.
Don't let our SSs intimidate you BTW. I and tiff(hope's ok I'm speaking for you tiff) were very data driven. Wanted to see every change during the cycle. Don't let it dissuade you. A lot of peeps do the SLGS method because they can't test as often. Peeps do work full time jobs and manage to do TR believe it or not. Craziness right!?! It's not though. Once you get to know your cat and their cycles, it becomes easier and doable.
 
See what happens at PMPS but I think you will likely be able to give the full dose.
I’m only doing 1/2 unit doses twice a day right now.
do you have syringes with 1/2 unit markings? From the picture that looks like 1.5u. We'll see what others see in the pic.
I forgot to respond to this. I do not have syringes with 1/2 unit markings. They initially had me giving her 1 unit twice a day but her numbers tanked so the vet had me doing 1 unit once a day. The people on here have informed me that that is a bad idea and to start dosing her 1/2 unit twice a day instead. The way I thought these syringes worked is the first line is “0” and then the second line is “1”. Which would make this 1/2 if that’s correct. The pic looks weird because it makes it look like the “5” line marker is actually the fifth line but it’s not.....
 
1st line after zero is 1 unit on a syringe w/o half unit markings. 1/2 unit would be in between 0 and 1. The zero line on a BD is the long one at the very top
Sorry that it's hard for me to tell from the pic:rolleyes::facepalm:
 
You're prolly gonna hate hearing this....but I'd get syringes with 1/2 unit markings. that way you're consistently giving the same dose.
 
If they're not at least getting PS(preshot)#s...they're taking a huge risk.
Don't let our SSs intimidate you BTW. I and tiff(hope's ok I'm speaking for you tiff) were very data driven. Wanted to see every change during the cycle. Don't let it dissuade you. A lot of peeps do the SLGS method because they can't test as often. Peeps do work full time jobs and manage to do TR believe it or not. Craziness right!?! It's not though. Once you get to know your cat and their cycles, it becomes easier and doable.

OMG!!! I just looked at your spreadsheets! Does that mean you had to poke them all those times you were checking levels or did you have a tracking meter like the libre? Also, what does the % sign mean after some of your feeding info? Is that carb % of the good you’re feeding?
 
Look at mine. They are colorful but not like hers. You won’t need to test nearly as much as we did. We were testaholics. The only times you would need more than 3-4 a cycle is if you saw dropping close to too low. Have a look at jojiand Kit. A timed feeder set to go off intermittently when you aren’t around eliminates the need as well Max became death so I didn’t think he would do well with one.
 
Look at mine. They are colorful but not like hers. You won’t need to test nearly as much as we did. We were testaholics. The only times you would need more than 3-4 a cycle is if you saw dropping close to too low. Have a look at jojiand Kit. A timed feeder set to go off intermittently when you aren’t around eliminates the need as well Max became death so I didn’t think he would do well with one.
I looked at yours earlier too. I was wondering what the green boxes with no info on them meant?
 
Thanks Elise...having a hard time seeing it:blackeye:
You're prolly gonna hate hearing this....but I'd get syringes with 1/2 unit markings. that way you're consistently giving the same dose.
I’m totally fine with getting different syringes. I just didn’t know they made them with 1/2 markings. I will have to look into that. And calipers too. I haven’t heard about those either.
 
I looked at yours earlier too. I was wondering what the green boxes with no info on them meant?
There were no tests when it was green with a number. I colored them in at one point to see how much of the time Max was green and never got around to getting rid of that.
 
Hello and welcome to the LB&L forum! Nice job posting your title, signature and SS links today!

I remember the first few days after I found this forum and my head was spinning from all the information here! There's a lot and it takes time to read and absorb it all.

The most important parts are to select a dosing method (looks like you've chosen SLGS) best for beginners, and be sure to test before every injection of insulin. It's the most critical part of your day. Also important is to get a mid-cycle test -especially at night - yes, you'll need to at least get a test or two before going to bed - kitties tend to like to do their best work at night!:D

Here are the calipers I use: https://www.harborfreight.com/hand-...rs-micrometer/4-in-digital-caliper-63710.html

They've made such a difference in my ability to get consistent dosing. Lantus loves consistency...same time of day 12 hours apart and same amount of insulin until you 1)Earn a reduction or 2)need to increase...

We can talk more about that as you become more accustomed to all of this new stuff..

I got a giggle out of your signature...'Owner of KittenCat'...ya think so huh? I learned a long time ago..that I am simply here to serve Luci's needs...more like she's the owner and I'm just the worker bee...cute :p:joyful::rolleyes:
 
Hello and welcome to the LB&L forum! Nice job posting your title, signature and SS links today!

I remember the first few days after I found this forum and my head was spinning from all the information here! There's a lot and it takes time to read and absorb it all.

The most important parts are to select a dosing method (looks like you've chosen SLGS) best for beginners, and be sure to test before every injection of insulin. It's the most critical part of your day. Also important is to get a mid-cycle test -especially at night - yes, you'll need to at least get a test or two before going to bed - kitties tend to like to do their best work at night!:D

Here are the calipers I use: https://www.harborfreight.com/hand-...rs-micrometer/4-in-digital-caliper-63710.html

They've made such a difference in my ability to get consistent dosing. Lantus loves consistency...same time of day 12 hours apart and same amount of insulin until you 1)Earn a reduction or 2)need to increase...

We can talk more about that as you become more accustomed to all of this new stuff..

I got a giggle out of your signature...'Owner of KittenCat'...ya think so huh? I learned a long time ago..that I am simply here to serve Luci's needs...more like she's the owner and I'm just the worker bee...cute :p:joyful::rolleyes:
Thanks for the info! Up until today I was doing her injections at night not long before bed so I would’ve had to set an alarm to wake me up in the middle of the night to check her BG levels. Today is the first day of twice daily injections and I’ve changed her dosing time a little bit too so I should be able to get a reading or two before bed tonight. And I guess really, I’m owned by all my animals. Up until Kittens autoimmune fiasco earlier this year, she was the the easiest animal to care for that I’ve ever had. She doesn’t demand attention, she minds her own business, doesn’t scratch the furniture and always goes in the letter box. She was a dream! We’ve always joked that she’s the best animal we have. Lol!
 
That’s good that you moved the time. A +2 or 3 will give you a clue at what to expect overnight. If less or the same as the PMPS you would leave out food as it could be an active cycle and possibly set an alarm. Many use timed feeders to go off overnight.
 
That’s good that you moved the time. A +2 or 3 will give you a clue at what to expect overnight. If less or the same as the PMPS you would leave out food as it could be an active cycle and possibly set an alarm. Many use timed feeders to go off overnight.
I’m slowly learning about the food. Kitten and my other devil cat have always just been free fed so it’s a bit of an adjustment.......
 
There’s a huge learning curve with FD. I was in a fog when I started and my vet was advising me. Gradually I started reading. I didn’t picked a method at first. Once I started testing and doing a condo people started telling me about increases. Then I became a testaholic. Take it in a little at a time or you might get overwhelmed. I did at first and I had treated my cats for many diseases. I was slow to trust strangers with my cat but honestly this place is the best Nathan’s why I’m still here paying it forward.
 
Back
Top