8/16 jean luc pmps 404;+2 356 1st lantus dose, +4 365

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Member Since 2012
Ok..here we go!!) 1st lantus night. Gave him 1.5u. I know more than 1.25u but could not determine how to dose 1.25 on these syringes. I was also running a liitle bit late. Register problems at Wally World. Got Relion 31g 3/20cc 5/16. Syringes feel a lot different than the u40 from ulticare. Should I do a full curve tonight or wait until tomorrow am? I just love it when you get looks like are you nuts from the clerks.. Do you realize this $$$$$ for a cat? I say yes, he is a very special member of my family.
 
Re: jean luc pmps 404

Hello.
If you are able to do a curve right away, I am certain you will have a very happy audience here.
Especially since the dose was a little up from what they said.

Someone will post the pictures of in between dose amounts in the syringes.
 
Re: jean luc pmps 404

Hi Shannan, congrats on the switch to Lantus - it's scary to change something like that. But worse to see Jean Luc stay in lousy numbers. Those cashiers should be glad you are willing to spend money on your cat. :lol:

Here is the link to your previous condo.

Here is a sticky with pictures of 0.25u dose.

Could you also do a profile? Here are the instructions.

I would suggest a +2 test but the wise ones may have other ideas.
Liz
 
Re: jean luc pmps 404

Hi Shannan,

You may not see this immediately, but this is from one of the "sticky" threads on the index page and describes a "typical lantus curve". It may help you in the future to evaluate the numbers you are seeing, and where they are in Jean Luc's cycle.
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139
Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

If you can test again, (I think you're already past +3?), a test at +4 would be a good one to try for.

Carl
 
Re: jean luc pmps 404

Hi Shannan!
I was in this same spot on 6 months ago tonight. You'll get the hang of it pretty quickly.

Good luck!
 
Re: jean luc pmps 404

Nice! It's best if there aren't big dramatic drops so that's a great +2. It is lower than the preshot so you could see some action even on this first cycle. Could you update your subject line of the very first post to
8/16 jean luc pmps 404;+2 356 1st lantus dose

That lets everyone know how jean luc is doing. Great job!
Liz
 
Re: jean luc pmps 404

Thank you to everyone. No problem testing at +4. I hope one day I can say. C)OTJ. Right now I want 24 hours under 300. Crossing paws. ~O) ~O)
 
Re: jean luc pmps 404

I hope you can say OTJ too! Paws crossed.

One more thing - on the spreadsheet, you can put the time of the test if you want but then the colors don't work. The colors help people quickly see what's going on with a kitty, especially over multiple days and even weeks. We think in terms of time relative (+1, +2 and so on) to the shot since everyone is in different time zones. So maybe just put 356 in the +2 box so it will be pink and easier to read. If you put multiple tests in a box, use the + notation.
Liz
 
Re: jean luc pmps 404

OK, good. That +4 reading is going to be a little high because of the food at +3.5. Generally, we try to test and then feed. I like to have at least an hour between feeding and testing but every cat is different (ECID). You'll have to see how jean luc responds.

Could you please edit the subject line of the very first post to this
8/16 jean luc pmps 404;+2 356;+4 365 1st lantus dose

Looking good!
Liz
 
Congrats on getting started. You don't need to do a full curve. A mini-curve (testing at +3, +6, and +9) will be fine. If you are able to get a mini-curve several times during the initial 5 days when the Lantus depot is forming, that would be great! (Just please get some sleep!! You've got to take care of yourself, too.)

With regard to the syringes, did you get syringes that are in half unit increments? It's much easier to approximate the quarter unit doses if you have syringes that are marked in half units.

If you want to see an example of what Liz was describing, take a look at Gabby's SS. I keep all of the tests in +time and will stack multiple test in the cell where I test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top