8/16 Gus PMPS 383

Status
Not open for further replies.

bev5477

Member Since 2011
I'm calling Gus' vet in the AM but wanted some input from those of you out there who are welcome to add their 2 cents. Gus is acting like a young cat again because I started him back on his Dasuquin, twice/day on 8/12. I see that today he is much higher than usual. My question would be: Since Gus will always be on insulin, is it OK to keep him on the Das. and increase his dose of Lantus as the BGs dictate? Or should I stop giving him the Dasuquin. I'm thinking of the quality of Gus' life. I would rather him be active and relatively free of pain and have fewer years than to have him alive longer, but suffer. Any help?
 
Absolutely do not stop the Dasuquin--To my understanding there is no side effects to the Dasuquin. Moonie has been on it for months & months now & has never had her numbers affected by that..It's just Chondroitin, Glucosamine, and avocado/soybean...nothing that could hurt him..I looked it up everywhere..
If it helps why give it up?
Moonie will always be on insulin too, and Dasuquin-It helps her too!

It's Just One Number One day!!Tomorrow will be better--OK?
Hugs from us!
 
Bev --

You do what is best for your cat. If Dasequin makes him feel better, that's what you do. There are any number of cats here who need to be on steroids. We know that steroids will raise BG levels. We work the insulin around the steroids. While Gus' numbers coming up may be coincidental with the supplement, if he's acting like a kitten, I think you have your answer. It's all about quality of life.
 
I completely agree with Sienne. I would much rather Champ feel great til the end rather than have him hurt for even one day. Besides, Gus' numbers aren't bad so I don't think his life is being negatively effected. I was thinking about starting Champ on the Dasuquin instead of Cosequin because I've heard good things about it. You're doing a great job with Gus and anything you decide to do with him will be to his benefit because you have his best interests at heart. You're a great bean!!
 
i'm voting with everyone else to continue too. it might be a coincidence about the high pmps - it's not like he's never been there before (Gus, didn't we talk about you staying down out of the rafters, little buddy?) and he'll come down again.

i wouldn't hesitate to increase his insulin if it needs it. and if gus is acting like a kitty, WAHOO! you go gus! AWESOME!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top