Shawna & Davidson (GA)
Member Since 2014
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-15-davidson-pmps-119-2-71-4-60-6-50-7-61.201163/
Ok, so now that my emotional day is over, I'm good with the RKD and have read up on it and just going to change a bit of the FF types to those that have less phosphorous. I didn't take a picture (cuz I do it all the time) but Davidson's face was covered in my pink lipstick from all the kisses I gave him, lol. He likes it! His limp is just about gone and my new supply of MSM/Glucosimine is here tomorrow and I have a wee bit left of the old hardened bits to give him.
In spite of his 113 this amps, I shaved a bit off his 3u dose as he's had a great week primarily in the greens with last night reaching 50. I can't increase him as he's gone too low over the past week and it will drop him into hypo territory. The VET said to reducing him to 1u as he looked at his SS and with the lab results there is no glucose in his blood <0.6 compared to last March of 13.3...........I told him I'd reduce him gradually as I've got him this far on the TR that I don't want to rush. He too said that Davidson could be a cat that just happens to be in the "blue" when the insulin is wearing off.
I'll see how this skinny dose of 3u does (okay 2.9u) and go from there.
what's interesting about the Dx of RKD is that is hit me as a REALITY..........I've already been preparing myself for down the road when they decide to visit the Rainbow, got info on where to take them to put them to sleep, urns, etc. and even paw prints in plaster.........nothing lives for ever so I was educating myself. Yes, although they take after me and are young in mind and sole, even the strongest succumb in the end and with this new DX it hit me in the face that changes are upon us. then as you know one thing leads to another and our mind goes crazy, LOL...............at least I now know what to expect in the event Harley has something!!
THANKS for all you kind words and encouragement..............Today is a golf day, but I'm not going as opted to stay home with my guys for a bit and read about RKD. Besides with as much that's in my head I couldn't hit the ball if it was the size of a basketball - so best enjoy the day and go out and ride my HD, which is about as close to being with my Guys as I can get since Harley and Davidson are right under my ass!
Ok, so now that my emotional day is over, I'm good with the RKD and have read up on it and just going to change a bit of the FF types to those that have less phosphorous. I didn't take a picture (cuz I do it all the time) but Davidson's face was covered in my pink lipstick from all the kisses I gave him, lol. He likes it! His limp is just about gone and my new supply of MSM/Glucosimine is here tomorrow and I have a wee bit left of the old hardened bits to give him.
In spite of his 113 this amps, I shaved a bit off his 3u dose as he's had a great week primarily in the greens with last night reaching 50. I can't increase him as he's gone too low over the past week and it will drop him into hypo territory. The VET said to reducing him to 1u as he looked at his SS and with the lab results there is no glucose in his blood <0.6 compared to last March of 13.3...........I told him I'd reduce him gradually as I've got him this far on the TR that I don't want to rush. He too said that Davidson could be a cat that just happens to be in the "blue" when the insulin is wearing off.
I'll see how this skinny dose of 3u does (okay 2.9u) and go from there.
what's interesting about the Dx of RKD is that is hit me as a REALITY..........I've already been preparing myself for down the road when they decide to visit the Rainbow, got info on where to take them to put them to sleep, urns, etc. and even paw prints in plaster.........nothing lives for ever so I was educating myself. Yes, although they take after me and are young in mind and sole, even the strongest succumb in the end and with this new DX it hit me in the face that changes are upon us. then as you know one thing leads to another and our mind goes crazy, LOL...............at least I now know what to expect in the event Harley has something!!
THANKS for all you kind words and encouragement..............Today is a golf day, but I'm not going as opted to stay home with my guys for a bit and read about RKD. Besides with as much that's in my head I couldn't hit the ball if it was the size of a basketball - so best enjoy the day and go out and ride my HD, which is about as close to being with my Guys as I can get since Harley and Davidson are right under my ass!



. I have enough pot supplements to keep a track team in shape for years