8/16 Beenie AMPS 139, 232 +2, 239 +7, 202 +10

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beenie (GA)

Member Since 2017
Yesterday Condo:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-15-beenie-amps-150-pmps-136-88-9.182314/

Snagged a green early this morning! Lowest number to date :D

Will Beenie bounce again? C'mon Beenie enjoy the greens, they're good for you!

Scritches to all the kitties :cat:
chin scrtiches.jpeg
 
Levemir seems to suit Beenie very nicely (anti-jinx) So far you are getting a "typical" Levemir curve..later onset and late nadir.

upload_2017-8-16_9-18-48.jpeg
for more good cycles.
 
I know!! When she hit 166 at +4 I had to set the alarm to try and catch a green. One day I'll get some sleep :rolleyes:

Had an awkward vet visit yesterday. Brought in my civvie but we did discuss Beenie. I had emailed my vet that I didn't start Beenie at his recommended dose of 1U and that I had opted to start her at 12 U based on how she was doing on 14 U of ProZinc. In the email, sent two days after Lev start, I noted I didn't want him to be upset but I absolutely wanted him in the loop. I couldn't fathom her going back up in to high numbers after months or trying to get her down a bit. He never responded to that email and when we saw each other yesterday I asked if he got the email. He did but he was completely taken back and upset that I would start at 12 U and knowing that I was home testing is the only reason he didn't call and yell at me that I was going to OD my cat on insulin. I showed him Beenie's SS. He just couldn't believe it and said she has to have a insulin resistance condition.:facepalm: He just has never had a cat on such a high dose of insulin He also made mention of listening to people on the internet:smuggrin:

I get it, it sounds a little crazy but unless your here most probably just don't get it. Even my friends, I think, are starting to question what the hell I'm doing. I've canceled my plans this past weekend so I can keep a close eye on her. We are going to be away just overnight this weekend and I'm going to force myself to let go. I have a vet tech pet sitter so Beenie will be in good hands, have the automatic feeder set. I do have to keep my life somewhat in motion too.
 
Your spreadsheet tells the story!!! Most vets are not used to people home testing. Funny how he is "finally" starting to think Beenie has a high dose condition :banghead::banghead:

Being a "crazy cat Momma" is a much different world. When I started I had some friends ( who I have since lost touch with) who told me I was stupid and should just put my kitty down. No..no..and no. I have one friend (who understands) that I meet for lunch once a month. We set up a date and then she calls me in the morning to see if it is still a go. She understands that if the readings are wonky I will cancel in an instant. I plan any appointments I have to work with shot times and prime testing time. But we truly love our furbabies and this is what we choose to do for them....wouldn't have it any other way. :smuggrin:
 
I hope your vet now decides to look into high dose conditions, and how it is handled :) It is funny how different vets react, as soon as we thought Marvin maybe high dose, I mentioned IAA and Acromegaly to my vet. She didn't know anything about them, but immediately researched it, and also thought that Marvin may have Acromegaly based on some of his symptoms. My only problem after that is the Internist I went too, but that ok, my vet jumped in and we tested for the High dose conditions.
 
I hope your vet now decides to look into high dose conditions, and how it is handled :) It is funny how different vets react, as soon as we thought Marvin maybe high dose, I mentioned IAA and Acromegaly to my vet. She didn't know anything about them, but immediately researched it, and also thought that Marvin may have Acromegaly based on some of his symptoms. My only problem after that is the Internist I went too, but that ok, my vet jumped in and we tested for the High dose conditions.
Oh we are getting blood drawn this Monday. He ordered mailers from MSU and they came in yesterday and saw it myself. I had requested this about three weeks ago and I think someone in his office dropped the ball on ordering the shipping supplies from MSU because it shouldn't take weeks to get. I called MSU and they said anywhere form 2-10 days but closer to 2-3.
We should have results next Friday on Acro/IAA tests.
based on some of his symptoms
What symptoms was Marvin showing?
 
I hope your vet now decides to look into high dose conditions, and how it is handled :) It is funny how different vets react, as soon as we thought Marvin maybe high dose, I mentioned IAA and Acromegaly to my vet. She didn't know anything about them, but immediately researched it, and also thought that Marvin may have Acromegaly based on some of his symptoms. My only problem after that is the Internist I went too, but that ok, my vet jumped in and we tested for the High dose conditions.

As pet parents we end up having to be so proactive. My Tuxie (GA) had Cushing's which is another condition considered very rare, but I feel is just under diagnosed. When I approached having testing done my vet thought I was nuts, but went along with my demands. After numerous tests and U/Ss he was diagnosed as early Cushing's. My vet no longer questions any tests I request.

Nat..your dedication and persistence with Marvin is awe-inspiring and the wonderful response to Cabergoline is an inspiration for all Acro kitties. :bighug:
 
Nat..your dedication and persistence with Marvin is awe-inspiring and the wonderful response to Cabergoline is an inspiration for all Acro kitties. :bighug:
So inspirational!!!
Nat- I've looked at Marvin's SS countless times and the impact Cabergoline had was amazing and in such a short amount of time. What does the drug actually do, help shrink the tumor? Or does it somehow combat the growth hormone?
 
What symptoms was Marvin showing?
First most Acros don't show any symptoms, however Marvin did. Heart murmur, I found his face had changed, paws seemed a bit bigger, naturally big cat(long) of course FD, and insulin resistant. I am sure some where in my head (or maybe not). Marvin has always been a naturally long cat, who would go crazy for dry food, it just made sense to me. His appy changed of course when dx, but before it was crazy, tried once to put on diet and Ex said we put him back on regular food or else.... Marvin was begging and crying all day and night for food.... it was nuts...
 
So inspirational!!!
Nat- I've looked at Marvin's SS countless times and the impact Cabergoline had was amazing and in such a short amount of time. What does the drug actually do, help shrink the tumor? Or does it somehow combat the growth hormone?
To be honest I am not sure what it does exactly, it inhibits the growth hormones, however there is no change that we know of yet to the IGF1 levels, so I think that it does not shrink the tumor. However I think I read on human results it did, so am a bit confused. I am hoping that the RVC trial results will clear some of that up. Based on my understanding to date, for some cats it helps with insulin levels, however not sure it does anything for the other issues, cat will still continue to grow.
 
After we hit 3u, my 1st vet gave up and referred me to an internal medicine vet who was very familiar with Acromegly, IAA & even the TR Protocol. He is the one who allowed us to try Cabergoline and allowed the switch from Lantus to Lev
 
I am so glad you didn't start back at 1 unit. Enough people, including me, have made that mistake. At some point, you may want to consider a tiny increase. There is room to bring the numbers down a touch more. At this point we don't know how sensitive Beenie is to dose changes, so I would start small, maybe 0.25 or 0.5 units. At your convenience of course, and to fit into whatever else you have going on.

I had a similar experience to Mary Ann, practically had to beg for tests and gave the vet all the info on how to do it. The clinic owner called them exotic tests. :rolleyes: But I earned a lot of respect when I was right. Apparently only 35% or so acros have symptoms on diagnosis. Neko's was hunger and eating inappropriate foods- banana bread, muffins, etc. I later found out her eye tearing in one eye was a symptom. It started 6 months before her FD diagnosis. Vetty dismissed it at the time as not a sign of anything. Not long after I noticed she avoided bright light. All pretty subtle signs unless you know to look for them. She never got big paws and always weighed less than she did at age five when I put her on a diet. At the end there were facial differences and definite changes in the mouth.

Even after SRT, the IGF-1 may not change. Julie had punkin tested after and his actually went up! They told me not to bother testing. The growth hormone output went down because the dose went down.
 
After we hit 3u, my 1st vet gave up and referred me to an internal medicine vet who was very familiar with Acromegly, IAA & even the TR Protocol. He is the one who allowed us to try Cabergoline and allowed the switch from Lantus to Lev
Good to know. If need be I could always be seen in Yonkers , they have a few internist there.
 
I am so glad you didn't start back at 1 unit. Enough people, including me, have made that mistake. At some point, you may want to consider a tiny increase. There is room to bring the numbers down a touch more. At this point we don't know how sensitive Beenie is to dose changes, so I would start small, maybe 0.25 or 0.5 units. At your convenience of course, and to fit into whatever else you have going on.
Ok will do a small increase but I will wait until after the weekend when I can monitor more. Perhaps by then I will have a little more data and will help me decide on .25 or .5
Thanks
 
I am so glad you didn't start back at 1 unit. Enough people, including me, have made that mistake. At some point, you may want to consider a tiny increase. There is room to bring the numbers down a touch more. At this point we don't know how sensitive Beenie is to dose changes, so I would start small, maybe 0.25 or 0.5 units. At your convenience of course, and to fit into whatever else you have going on.

I had a similar experience to Mary Ann, practically had to beg for tests and gave the vet all the info on how to do it. The clinic owner called them exotic tests. :rolleyes: But I earned a lot of respect when I was right. Apparently only 35% or so acros have symptoms on diagnosis. Neko's was hunger and eating inappropriate foods- banana bread, muffins, etc. I later found out her eye tearing in one eye was a symptom. It started 6 months before her FD diagnosis. Vetty dismissed it at the time as not a sign of anything. Not long after I noticed she avoided bright light. All pretty subtle signs unless you know to look for them. She never got big paws and always weighed less than she did at age five when I put her on a diet. At the end there were facial differences and definite changes in the mouth.

Even after SRT, the IGF-1 may not change. Julie had punkin tested after and his actually went up! They told me not to bother testing. The growth hormone output went down because the dose went down.
Wendy I'm rethinking the dose increase. I'm able to monitor all day tomorrow and Friday. Would you advise increasing tomorrow am .5 u knowing that I won't be able to monitor much of Saturday and Sunday? Is four cycles enough to know what Beenie will do on an increase? Or just wait until after the weekend? OR do we have to wait for this bounce to settle? OMG so many variables:arghh:
 
lol, I know that feeling:confused:, that is when I throw my hands up in the air and called for Wendy on my post :rolleyes: the refresh... hmm... refresh...hmm refresh... is she out racing... refresh... d'oh ... refresh :oops: .... refresh... :woot: someone posted... yup it's Wendy ;)..... yell "Marvin, we are all good now :smuggrin:
I know I'm leaning hard on her. Hope to be comfortable enough to make these decisions on my own in the near future:nailbiting:
 
With the depot insulins, it can take until the 5th or 6th cycles to see the impact of an increase. Or not, these are cats after all!:cat: There is no harm in waiting a bit if you will be out. She is getting to green, an increase just might get her to stay there a bit longer and lower the bounce height.

@Marvin's Mom - Nat No more races until end of September, just 5:30 AM practices. :blackeye:
 
With the depot insulins, it can take until the 5th or 6th cycles to see the impact of an increase. Or not, these are cats after all!:cat: There is no harm in waiting a bit if you will be out. She is getting to green, an increase just might get her to stay there a bit longer and lower the bounce height.

@Marvin's Mom - Nat No more races until end of September, just 5:30 AM practices. :blackeye:
Thanks Wendy! I'll wait until Sunday night then when I know I'll be around most of the week. Appreciate your help:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top