8-16-19 Bear Update

Bear & Lora

Member Since 2018
Bear has been doing well on Levemir with less large BG number fluctuations.

I have been trying to follow TR to the best of my ability through an awful upper respiratory virus and my mother having to be hospitalized before I was over my virus.

Yuck, no fun at all.

I am going to continue to follow TR but I am considering SLGS if life throws out a lot more complications.

I believe today is Bear's one year anniversary -diagnosed Diabetic.
I know TR procedures are a bit different for long term diabetic Kittys and I would appreciate any input or info.

I have really missed being on the board and all the wonderful people here.
 
I hope your virus has cleared up and your mom is doing well.
My virus is gone with just a little tweak in my voice at times.
I had full laryngitis for about a week.
Lol, it was kind of funny trying to talk to multiple Doctors with that problem and at the hospital all the staff's eyes got larger when i tried to communicate.
I am sure there was some concern I would infect others.
My mother is doing so much better after 2 blood and an iron transfusion.
Once she is fully diagnosed after a GI Camera capsule Procedure she will be able to get blood transfusions on a regular basis.
 
Glad to see you and Bear back. I'm sorry you and Mom have been so sick. No, not fun at all. Healing energies for Bear's Granny and some for you just to wipe out any residual effect.
 
Bear is doing good?
Bear is definitely doing the best on Levemir out of the three different insulins he has been on.
He doesn't even seem to be the same cat that he was.
He is happier, more playful, more loving, etc.
Fingers and paws crossed but so far Bear hasn't had a pancreatitis flare since he has been on Levemir either.

Hopefully I will hear from Wendy soon and get her opinion on Bear's progress.
God certainly blessed her with amazing powers of deduction.
 
Fingers and paws crossed but so far Bear hasn't had a pancreatitis flare since he has been on Levemir either.
Chut emoji.png
So nice you're back with Bear ! :bighug:
Happy for you that Bear feels better and hopefully you'll get over all this soon!
 
Bear really does look like a black bear! :) hello, I'm a newbie as of this summer. Sorry to hear you have been having a rough time lately, but glad Bear is doing better.
 
With a long term diabetic, the reduction point goes to 40 from 50. That 36 a couple nights ago earned a reducie. Some people with cats that don’t hold reductions well use three between 40 and 49 on separate days, or once below 40.

Scritches and low carb annifursary cake for Bear. These for you :bighug::bighug:
 
With a long term diabetic, the reduction point goes to 40 from 50. That 36 a couple nights ago earned a reducie. Some people with cats that don’t hold reductions well use three between 40 and 49 on separate days, or once below 40.

Scritches and low carb annifursary cake for Bear. These for you :bighug::bighug:
So at this point two days after a 36 BG would you reduce?
Testing has been pretty sporadic but my eyes see so much room to go lower.
With Bear we have never gotten him leveled out to blue or green for any length of time though.
Is this a reduce and be patient for Bear to adjust more to Levemir?
 
I would reduce. Curious to see what follows today’s flat yellow cycle. Some cats take a few months to learn how to really work Levemir, so you may yet see improvements. Or not, up to Bear really.
 
I would reduce. Curious to see what follows today’s flat yellow cycle. Some cats take a few months to learn how to really work Levemir, so you may yet see improvements. Or not, up to Bear really.
Sounds good.
I got a +3.5 and he was going down.
I will go test him now he is a little past +5.
 
I would reduce. Curious to see what follows today’s flat yellow cycle. Some cats take a few months to learn how to really work Levemir, so you may yet see improvements. Or not, up to Bear really.
Looks like food at +3.5 stalled his drop +3.5 251BG, +5 283BG.
I will test one more time before bed at +7, he might surprise me.
I'll reduce tomorrow morning.
Thanks again Wendy.
Have a good night.
 
My virus is gone with just a little tweak in my voice at times.
I had full laryngitis for about a week.
Lol, it was kind of funny trying to talk to multiple Doctors with that problem and at the hospital all the staff's eyes got larger when i tried to communicate.
I am sure there was some concern I would infect others.
My mother is doing so much better after 2 blood and an iron transfusion.
Once she is fully diagnosed after a GI Camera capsule Procedure she will be able to get blood transfusions on a regular basis.

it was never determined where my father is bleeding from. He needed transfusions every couple of months. He was sent to a hematologist and it was decided not to put him through anymore colonoscopy, gi scoping. He now gets iron infusions every couple of months instead of blood. In fact he gets one on Monday. This has been working for him.
 
Hi Debra! Good to see you and Bear and that Lev seems to be agreeing with him! I’m glad you are feeling better and that your mom is doing okay too.
 
Last edited:
it was never determined where my father is bleeding from. He needed transfusions every couple of months. He was sent to a hematologist and it was decided not to put him through anymore colonoscopy, gi scoping. He now gets iron infusions every couple of months instead of blood. In fact he gets one on Monday. This has been working for him.
They found an AVM-Arterial Venous Malformation in her lower stomach and cauterized it while she was in the hospital. The GI Dr thinks she has multiple in the 26 feet of intestine they couldn't see with the two scopes.
It has become more difficult to make decisions on what is necessary and her quality of life for what time she may have left. Thanks for sharing what your father is going through. PM me if you have anymore possible insights.
 
Hi Debra! Good to see you and Bear and that Lev seems to be agreeing with him! I’m glad you are feeling better and that your mom is doing okay too.
Hi Bobbie! Debra and Lora think Caregiver responsibility has become very heavy for Bobbie too. I am fantasizing about Caribbean Cruises quite frequently. :banghead:
Thank you for the well wishes. :)
 
OMG! I’m so sorry Lora! Can we book a cruise together???
No worries Bobbie. :bighug:
If I could possibly go on a Cruise at this point I would in a New York minute. Lol!
I hope things aren't too heavy and your Uncle is faring better than my mom recently.
Thank God Bear behaved well during all the life drama.
 
Bear is definitely doing the best on Levemir out of the three different insulins he has been on.
He doesn't even seem to be the same cat that he was.
He is happier, more playful, more loving, etc.
Fingers and paws crossed but so far Bear hasn't had a pancreatitis flare since he has been on Levemir either.

Hopefully I will hear from Wendy soon and get her opinion on Bear's progress.
God certainly blessed her with amazing powers of deduction.
That is excellent! I’m soooo happy to hear :). A blessing to be aware of? :bighug:
 
Back
Top