? 8/16/19 AMPS 126,+1=133 ,2+ = 94,+2.5=94 ;+3 =71;4+=74,+5=82,+6=80,7+=78,PMPS=576

Great start to the day. Your plan sounds good! Way to go LT. I look forward to checking how all went, later.

Got a laugh out of the rodeo LT put on, just to get a blood sample! Glad you have help testing today.
 
I just did his 1 hour and I forgot to warm the ear. I loved on him, rubbed his ear, and gave him a 3 niblets of chicken before the stick'. He is so cooperative once he's had his morning food. I"m going to keep checking his BG to make sure he doesn't go too low.
 
Where do I go from here? Guess he decided not to bounce again and this sugarmom is getting a tad nervous. Looks like I'm doing a curve after all:nailbiting:.
 
Give him little snacks when you test (a niblet of chicken if the numbers stay as they are, a a tsp or of LC if the numbers continue to slowly drop) to keep the high green surf going. This is where healing takes place. At some point, he will most likely bounce to the moon because his body is not used to these lovely numbers. Do not fill him up in case he drops below 68 and you need to give a higher calorie food.

I would test again in an hour. Less if you are nervous about it.
 
Thanks Red and Rover for your response. I got nervous and tested at 2.5 which was also 94. I'm going to test at +3 to see what's going on. I'll continue to give him 3 niblets of boiled chicken at each stick. I've got a HC food in the pantry if needed and will follow what you've said if he drops below 68.
 
Since it would be your first time dealing with numbers below the cut-off of 68, put up a 911 and add "newbie" or "first time low" to your title and someone will help guide you through the process. I'm going out soon but there will be people around.
Right now, LT is looking good. These are the numbers you want to see.
 
Perfect type numbers! You could feed a spoon of food to keep him propped up, and then more again, in a couple hours or sooner. His lowest point could be from AMPS +4 to +8 (commonly the lowest point is +6). ECID Every Cat is Different. Food when used properly, helps keep things level. It's easy to over feed, like too much high carb, when dealing with low numbers or hypos.

You have experts - not talking about myself, here to help. You are doing great!
 
Put Alpha Trak in your title so people know that you are close to the 68 cut-off and not the human glucometer cut-off of 50.
71 is perfectly safe but that was a steep drop.
Test again in 20 minutes.
 
Back to a 94; will continue to follow protocol and check again at +4 .Thanks everyone for the help! I didn't want to wait until he got to <68 because of the quick drop from 94 to 71. I'm a learning as time goes on.
 
The high car gravy will wear off.
For the time being, you can go back to snacks low carb and chicken nibbles when you test.
Not to much, though. It is important to keep LT hungry in case you need to pull out the big guns again and need him to eat.
 
Well, actually, he got a teaspoon of the entire food - boy he feels special these days (about like my sugarpup feels when he's low and gets a dog biscuit). I'll continue to check his BG on the hour and 1/2 hour for a bit to make sure he doesn't drop too much again. Boy, am I glad you folks are here to help me and LT - he gives everyone a big purr.
 
I’m glad @Red & Rover (GA) was here to help you.

I’d like to just toss out a few comments to also help.
—without any tests at night, you are missing half your data; since cats often go low at night, you could miss a BG that might give us experienced folks a little clue as to the entire picture. We usually suggest you always try and grab a +2 and/or before bed test.

—he was very likely headed down last night and, from the looks of his SS, he’s likely been dropping at night and bouncing back up.

—his +1 today was a food spike and then he onset at +2, which is normal; he may very well come back down again later in the cycle so please don’t stop testing just because he came up. I’d test again in two hours at most and then go from there.

Hope that helps :)
 
Read that you are off on a big trip somewhere. Enjoy.
Yep...headed to Scotland for three weeks on Monday! Thanks!!!

@Suzanne Burton I know this is the first low numbers you’ve dealt with and a 74 is close to the 68 reduction point for the AT (he’s not eating dry anymore, correct? He just pilfered some? Because if he’s eating any dry at all, then reduction point is 90 as we don’t do tight regulation with dry fed kitties...even if it’s just one meal a day).

The goal is to teach the liver to surf green and so as you get a little more data under your belt, you want to use the HC only when it’s really needed......fast dropping numbers to slow things down and low numbers below 68 (AT). But we all use HC on those first greens:rolleyes:

We teach the liver to “surf” normal numbers by using LC when the numbers are relatively flat. You’ll also learn here that using HC after nadir is typically not recommended (although there are some experts exceptions when kitty is clearing a bounce and drops lower later in the cycle). We teach, here, how to manage the curve with different foods at different times.

That’s just for you to keep in the back of your head for now. As you get more used to the lower (not low) numbers, you’ll also start experimenting with different foods to see which ones work best with the insulin.
 
No, LT is not getting any dry food any more (except when he pilfered some on Wednesday night - sugarmom learned a hard lesson). Since I'm so new and ECID, I don't exactly know when his nadir is. I do know he's much lower at +6. If I get him to a 94 on the +4.5 test, should I switch him to LC if he drops again at +5? BTW, all of the testing tips yesterday have really helped today.
 
No, LT is not getting any dry food any more (except when he pilfered some on Wednesday night - sugarmom learned a hard lesson). Since I'm so new and ECID, I don't exactly know when his nadir is. I do know he's much lower at +6. If I get him to a 94 on the +4.5 test, should I switch him to LC if he drops again at +5? BTW, all of the testing tips yesterday have really helped today.
Yes it will take time to see his nadir and it can be a challenging to understand the patterns when they are bouncing or get into forbidden foods.:smuggrin::rolleyes:

I’d switch to LC at +5 if he’s above 68. See how it goes. If he drops again after that, it’s ok to give him a large helping of LC or, because it looks like he’s potentially clearing a bounce (or all those dry food carbs are finally working their way out of his system), you might find he wants to keep dropping even after nadir. In that case, you feed what you need to to keep him safe if he wants to drop below 68. This is why a nighttime test or two is important....we would definitely know if he’s clearing carbs or clearing a bounce today.

As I said, it’s experimentation for you for a while and bounce clearing cycles are always a lot more active throughout the cycle than normal ones.

Edited to Add: one hint to help you here is that when you are responding to someone specific, hit “reply” that’s located in the lower right corner of the text to which you wish to respond. That way, that person will get tagged and know you responded or might have more questions :):bighug:
 
Last edited:
Looks like I'm going to need a bit of coffee:coffee: to help with tonight's middle-of-the-night testing. I'll go with LC if necessary and boost as you suggest. I suppose ya'll can help me later tonight when I have more numbers in order to determine his pm dose.
 
Ah, you have a clever thieve on your hands.
He is probably going to bounce anyway just from being in lovely numbers that his body is not used to. Maybe he didn't eat any of the rice.
 
Oh, it was a real thick soup, so he got some. I'll check at 1:30 that should be a rude awakening. Looks like I won't have to worry about tonight's dose afterall.
 
Always good to visit the home of your cats' ancestors. Bring them back something special.
Oh my word, they have every toy, cardboard houses and condo known to man :p We are going to try and find the town where the first Scottish Fold “appeared”.

So, he must not have gotten much of the rice after all. Giving a tsp. of LC. And the saga continues.
Good plan. Lather, rinse, repeat is what we say here. So test, take action if necessary, and do it again.:)
 
You have held LT in a wonderful place, and the chicken soup seemed to have helped, LOL!
There is a good chance he's about to start naturally rising. Sure, a half hour would be good, to hopefully see a little rise. An hour might be fine, but the more data the better :) And always safety first keeping our cats from going uncomfortably low.
 
What a disaster, husband left food on top of refrigerator "Didn't think he would find it." Thanks to all who helped today and I apologize for letting you down.
 
You did a fantastic job today keeping LT safe. Low numbers can be very scary the first time and there after :D
Try and keep good notes of what you fed and when you fed.
You are doing wonderful.
Surf safely LT :D :):bighug:
 
Nice day for him. You’ll need to manually color in the cells; I’d suggest you move all comments to the “remarks” section as that will keep your SS from getting gooned up. You can check out my Gracie’s SS to see how it’s done. You really just want to have the BG in the cell; if you test on the half hour, say +4.5, you’ll just need to put in there, for example, “70 @ 4.5” and then manually color the cell using the tools in the toolbar.

Excellent job today!
 
Yikes, 576 pmps. Guess that kibble caught up with us. I'm getting better at the shot. I'll try to hang out with him and catch a urine, but he's sneaky. Up until the kibble, it was going well. At least I know the numbers can go lower.
 
Last edited:
Boing.
He was going to bounce anyway from the greens.
I'd suggest getting some tests in tonight to see what the cycle is going to look like after the kibble wears off.
I doubt I will be online but there will be others if need be.
 
Just a note: for SLGS, the reduction point is 90 on a human meter. I'm not sure how that translates on a pet meter. For TR, the reduction point is 68 on a pet meter.

I doubt that it matters much tonight because LT is bouncing and on a kibble high. It might matter in the morning if you get a low shot number. I'm hoping someone who uses a pet meter will chime in.
 
Will do! It was a roller coaster - reminds me of my first days when the dog was diagnosed - never had lows at that time because you always go SLGS with a dog- but there was still a lot of drama.
 
Back
Top