8/15 Tink AMPS232, +1=359, +10=313. Still increase tonight?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
He's trying to kill me. Definitely trying to kill me. @-)

Last night's cycle was lovely (compared to what we've been seeing) - all yellow. This morning's preshot was the lowest yet on Lantus... but then he did the same thing he did the other day and skyrocketed at +1 by over 100pts. UGH. I was considering running home to get a test at +6 or +7 (to make sure he didn't go TOO low off that lowest-yet preshot)... but I REALLY need to go get dog food on my lunch break - and I can't do both. I guess now it's probably not likely he'll go that low... right??

When I saw the AMPS, I immediately wondered if I should go forward with my plan to INCREASE TO 2U tonight or not. I'm still not sure and would appreciate thoughts on that. I took Monday off again, anticipating the increase... so I can monitor him closely for the first 3 full days. He was on such a nice downward trend... till this morning's +1.


I know last time (8/13) that he did this +1 jump, someone mentioned it could be a bounce - but I dont see anything this time that would have made him bounce. He had lower than his normal numbers last night... but in a VERY gentle decline - no drastic drops like we used to see with the ProZinc. That's what I'm really liking about Lantus, I feel like it just slowly trends downward in a nice trickle effect, from one dose to the next. I always felt like the ups and downs with ProZinc had to be unhealthy.

Anyway... appreciate any insight/input.
 
Re: 8/15 Tink AMPS 232 (YAY), but +1= 359 (UGH)

Hi there :cool:

Good strategy on taking Monday off.

JenM said:
This morning's preshot was the lowest yet on Lantus... but then he did the same thing he did the other day and skyrocketed at +1 by over 100pts. UGH.
Time to work in a few PM +10 and PM+11 tests into the mix as well as some AM mid cycle tests anytime you are able. It's likely he is in a bounce however since it's so early in the game all patterns have not yet emerged.

JenM said:
When I saw the AMPS, I immediately wondered if I should go forward with my plan to INCREASE TO 2U tonight or not. I'm still not sure and would appreciate thoughts on that. I took Monday off again, anticipating the increase... so I can monitor him closely for the first 3 full days.
Are your doubts based on shooting your lowest PS so far? Remember, with Lantus it's the nadir you want to focus on.
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

That said, although he meets the TR protocol criteria for an increase, if your kitty is in a bounce it's best to wait for it to clear before increasing. Bounces are temporary and the length and severity is ever changing. That being the case bounce cycles are generally not cycles to use for determining an increase.
JenM said:
I know last time (8/13) that he did this +1 jump, someone mentioned it could be a bounce - but I dont see anything this time that would have made him bounce. He had lower than his normal numbers last night... but in a VERY gentle decline - no drastic drops like we used to see with the ProZinc.
That may be all it takes right now to set his liver off - lower than the current normal. In time you will have enough data to know if/when he bounces, how long it takes to clear, how the severity and what he is bouncing from. Keep in mind the nature of a kittys bounces change over time.
JenM said:
I feel like it just slowly trends downward in a nice trickle effect, from one dose to the next. I always felt like the ups and downs with ProZinc had to be unhealthy.
In another week or so you will like Lantus even more. :cool:
 
Re: 8/15 Tink AMPS 232 (YAY), but +1= 359 (UGH)

Thanks. My reason for wondering if I should still increase isn't based on the preshot itself... just that we were seeing lower and lower numbers (which makes me think they could continue to trend downward on the current dose)... but since we're still well above ideal... perhaps an increase is in order. The one 2u dose I gave him had a very nice effect, showing us blue for the first time in awhile. I guess since he's been so high for so long now, I forget that he IS still very high, and get excited if I see anything under 200. :roll:

I'll see where he is here in another half hour (headed home now) and probably post for advice before his PM shot in 2.5hrs.
 
Re: 8/15 Tink AMPS 232 (YAY), but +1= 359 (UGH)

Ok, +10 this PM is 313.

Imagine it'll be a bit higher by PMPS. Not sure if I should go ahead with the increase to 2u, or wait for the bounce to clear - though it looked like the last bounce had cleared last night... so not sure why we're bouncing to begin with...

I'm now home through Monday... but then back to work Tuesday. So if I'm going to increase, I'd really like to do so tonight.
 
Re: 8/15 Tink AMPS232, +1=359, +10=313. Still increase toni

It looks like you increased tonight. Good luck with the dosecrease.

Sandy mentioned not increasing during a bounce, and that's especially true if you increase on a cycle where they are clearing a bounce. An increase on top of bounce clearing can mean a lot of downward momentum and an exciting cycle so it's good you can monitor Tink.
 
Re: 8/15 Tink AMPS232, +1=359, +10=313. Still increase toni

I did. I tried to wait for a reply, but hadn't gotten any in awhile. :( I thought it was interesting that his PMPS was lower than his +10... thought perhaps that meant the bounce had already cleared? But I'm not sure. I'll definitely be testing regularly and have some Evo dry (I'd call it medium carb) on hand as well as lots of his regular LC wet and some karo too. Doubt I'll need it as he hasn't been anywhere close even to green... but better safe than sorry.
 
Re: 8/15 Tink AMPS232, +1=359, +10=313. Still increase toni

Some Lantus kitties will do what is called a double dip, where they drop down at end of cycle, but higher than their nadir. Or he could have started clearing a bounce.

Do you have any high carb wet? Dry food takes a while to clear out of the system so we suggest stocking up on higher carb wet foods.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top