8/15 Taishi AMPS 257, +3 77, +4 84

Taishi_Ci

Member Since 2021
Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-14-taishi-amps-431-3-421-7-498-277.251404

As you can see by yesterday's thread, I've been panicking a bit re: the difference in readings from the meters. I received mixed info regarding whether or not the variance in the readings was normal and which reading to go by. Obviously both reading were high, but there is a big difference between 200 and 400. I feel it's critical we are getting accurate readings since we are trying to do TR. It feels like we've lost progress/have inaccurate data because of the confusing/switching with the meters. I know the best thing to do is to pick one meter and stick with it, but we want to know the meter we're using is accurate.

Taishi is only at 77 +3 on the human meter and +95 on the AlphaTrak.
I know these are "good" numbers (it puts him in the green regardless of meter), but they're also the lowest readings we've ever received, it was a huge drop from his AMPS, and he's *only* at +3. My anxiety is heightened due to all the meter mess over the last few days, so I could use some support/guidance.

I apologize that his spreadsheet is such a mess. Really hoping I can sort myself out (this entire mess is my fault) and get him on track.
 
we want to know the meter we're using is accurate.
I would say it's tough, but just keep getting readings with the human meter and some of the very experienced members here can look at your SS and know quickly if your meter is accurate.
That was a pretty big drop from 257 PS to 77 at +3. Is it exactly +3?

I think someone (more experienced than me) here may recommend a little medium carb food to slow down the drop. Can you tag users who have helped you in the past?
 
The AT will read higher than the Relion. That’s why the reduction number on the AT is under 68 and under 50 on human meters. Our TR method used a human meter so most of us are partial to human meters. Many have compared including Marje, one of our moderators. If I were you I would not worry and put the AT in a drawer.
 
I would say it's tough, but just keep getting readings with the human meter and some of the very experienced members here can look at your SS and know quickly if your meter is accurate.
That was a pretty big drop from 257 PS to 77 at +3. Is it exactly +3?

I think someone (more experienced than me) here may recommend a little medium carb food to slow down the drop. Can you tag users who have helped you in the past?
Since it’s early in the cycle a little mc is a good idea. Test in an hour.
 
Since it’s early in the cycle a little mc is a good idea. Test in an hour.

Thank you... My husband fed him some Friskies after the +3, but I guess that still qualifies as LC (5%). We do have Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers (15%). Would that technically be medium or high carb? We're already getting close to +4 (20 minutes), so should we hold off on more food, test, then assess? Thank you so much for replying! I'm way too stressed over this lol
 
Yes. Hold off for the next test. Mc is about 10-15%. Sometimes a teaspoon of 15% mixed with lc is enough. It depends on how carb sensitive he is. That’s trial and error and can change with regulation.
 
84 on human meter at +4 (resisted using the AlphaTrak to double check lol). Are we in good shape? Should we keep poking him every hour?
 
84 on human meter at +4 (resisted using the AlphaTrak to double check lol). Are we in good shape? Should we keep poking him every hour?
Give him another test at +5. You didn't end up giving MC, correct?
He flattened out, but nadir is still coming up, and with an 84 this early, I might even test at +4.75.
 
Congrats on your first green! :-)

On the dosing front, you would hold the dose 10 cycles starting with today's AM cycle - assuming no reduction is earned before then!
 
Sorry about the delay in editing my post. I gave my husband the login info for this site, pulled up the thread, and told him to keep an eye on it for any replies... but I don't think he did ;-) I should have noted that I did have to leave. Taishi was on his way up after the +5, so we felt good to go (and then he had a huge bounce).
 
Congrats on your first green! :)

On the dosing front, you would hold the dose 10 cycles starting with today's AM cycle - assuming no reduction is earned before then!

This was exactly going to be my question today. Thank you! I also think we are going to switch to the human meter after all the drama with the AlphaTrak. We're going to do spot checks with the AT to compare and have data for our vet, but we'll use the human meter for most testing :-/ Trying to brainstorm how to convert our spreadsheet...
 
Back
Top