8/15 Ruby AMPS 170/+3 93/+5 130/+7 164/PMPS 193/+2 95/+3 83

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday.

We had a throw up yesterday after I gave Ruby some freeze-dried duck liver treats that she loves. Meatloafed and hid all evening even after I gave her Cerenia, but she ate all of her food overnight and she seems fine today. Increased Ruby's dose to 2.5 units this morning. We never had to go so high in doses when Ruby had DKA and was first diagnosed with diabetes as we were able to start controlling her sugars with a lower dose. It makes me a little sad though I know this is what we need to do right now.

DBF and I start a series of trips this week that will go on until mid-September. I leave for one trip, I come back and then he leaves, he comes back and then I leave, etc., so one of us will always be home to give Ruby her shots and pills. Hopefully 2.5 will keep her in blues for a while. We have a visit to the oncologist on Tuesday so we shall see what she says about Ruby's pred dose and if there's any progression of her symptoms via bloodwork. Overall she seems to be doing very well.

Hope everyone has a beautiful Sunday. :bighug:
 
Your series is trips is exactly what we had to do for Queso and Zen. You're doing the right thing, Katherine! Glad you and Ruby are doing well. :bighug:
 
Morning Katherine, I'm glad Ruby feels fine this morning
No more freeze dried duck liver treats says Ruby :p
I hope the new dose keeps her in blues , wishing Ruby all the best on Tuesday with the oncologist. Have a nice day Katherine ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good luck with the increase and hope you have good news from the oncology visit :bighug: remember not to compare two incomparable periods, Ruby is taking pred that is known for increasing BG, this is not her pancreas speaking :) i can relate to your sadness though, Ruby’s SS was exemplary for so long :bighug:
 
Good morning Katherine, nice numbers for Ruby today. So happy she is feeling better and eating. I hope the trips are fun trips, you all need a break and some me time. :)Looking forward to hearing what the Oncologist has to say about Ruby’s progress and continued plan of care on Tuesday. Hope Olive is doing well and playing nice with Ruby. :p Have a beautiful Sunday. Big hugs to all of you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I have only one cat, Marcus Jr., who will even eat the freeze dried duck liver treats - and he is a young cat with a cast iron stomach. I think they are super rich. They even smell strong in their freeze dried state.
 
I have only one cat, Marcus Jr., who will even eat the freeze dried duck liver treats - and he is a young cat with a cast iron stomach. I think they are super rich. They even smell strong in their freeze dried state.
I give the duck liver as treats every once in a while and she's eaten them without problem before. I have them to pulse into a powder and mix with Alnutrin for their raw food. I also have freeze dried beef and lamb liver, but the cats will gobble up anything with the duck liver mixed into it.
 
Emily! Your ears must have been burning because I was telling Jessie @Taishi_Ci to look at your SS as she was comparing AT meters to a Relion and you had done that amazing data compilation! How are you guys doing? How’s Mr. Zen?
Zenny's doing well! Occasional tummy issues that we just stay on top of with fortiflora and mirtazapine when they pop up, but otherwise, he's a very happy bub. Queso gave us a scare with a bout of serious pancreatitis from a major IBD flare-up when we tried to switch her to Young Again food. Totally our fault; we should have expected that to be too rich for her. She's eating Hill's i/d Biome now and doing much better.

I want to do some more extrapolation of that meter data...I think there's a pattern in there somewhere, but it's just really hard to see it in its current form... Probably want to turn it into a set of line graphs to see it... Good to chat with you, Katherine! Sending you and Ruby all the hugs and scritches!
 
I give the duck liver as treats every once in a while and she's eaten them without problem before. I have them to pulse into a powder and mix with Alnutrin for their raw food. I also have freeze dried beef and lamb liver, but the cats will gobble up anything with the duck liver mixed into it.
They love it! Sorry Ruby’s treat didn’t set well this time. It’s a relief that she perked up and got hungry. I bet you worry every time she doesn’t want to eat. I hope you have a great week, Katherine.
 
Sorry about the vomitus. :bighug: Ruby's dose increase due to pred is not unusual. It is what it is. As someone with a high dose cat, I learned to embrace giving a cat whatever insulin dose they need. The important numbers are the BG numbers, not the insulin dose.
and if there's any progression of her symptoms via bloodwork.
What sort of things are you expecting to see/not see? There is no way to identify progression of SCL via blood work. You might see some changes in liver numbers, but that'll be from the pred. Hopefully otherwise no changes.
 
I bet you worry every time she doesn’t want to eat.
Thanks, Suzanne! Ruby not eating is but a faint memory thanks to the pred. Ever since she's been on it all of her eating issues have gone away aside from very occasional vomits. She still only poop every 5 days but somehow I think that may be normal for Ruby as she doesn't seem to be in any distress.

It is what it is. As someone with a high dose cat, I learned to embrace giving a cat whatever insulin dose they need. The important numbers are the BG numbers, not the insulin dose.
Thanks, Wendy. Still learning to embrace, and happy to see some lower numbers today as a result of the increase.

What sort of things are you expecting to see/not see? There is no way to identify progression of SCL via blood work.
I know you can't measure of SCL via blood tests :oops:, I meant a progression in the sense of side effects from the pred, like liver values, possible anemia or infection. This reminds me that I have to enter her last set of labs into her spreadsheet. I haven't weighed her in a few weeks but she feels like she's filled out some more when I pick her up and she's eating like a champ. There was a lot of chasing up and down the stairs today so she must be feeling pretty good. :)
 
Back
Top