8/15 Musette amps 354..Still too much insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Well after a nice day yesterday, with a beautiful green 85 at +6 she jumped up to 299 by her pmps and then this morning 354. The only other factor is that I had to go to my backup meter yesterday, as her test strips for her meter aren't here yet, according to the tracking on the shipment they left Omaha saturday at 3:45am, so they should be in the mail this morning by somewhere between 10am - noon, they were sent USPS so gotta love the postal service for speed <sigh>.

My backup meter is the one I normally use for Maxwell, but I don't always trust it to be the most spot on, it is good enough to spot check Maxwell, since he varies so little, but not sure how well it does on Musette, as it has been known to give me a couple of wacky readings because it will count down and display a reading when I know it doesn't have either enough blood, or too much blood.

So she either just bounced off that .4u or it was a faulty reading. At this point I'm planning on holding her at the .4 until I can get a few more readings off her own meter. As wednesday will be her 5th day on the lowered dose, and I will have all day then to run a full curve on her.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Well better this morning, but still higher than she would be with no insulin...Amps this morning is 331, but at least this is a meter I trust, since her test strips arrived yesterday at about noon. So everything on her SS from +6 on yesterday is off her meter. So I'm thinking she is still getting just a hair too much.

On the upside I talked to my mom yesterday, who is also diabetic, and she was asking me if I used syringes or the pens for Musette. When I told her that while I use the pens I draw up her dose with a syringe. Then she tells me she has a magnifying glass that fits on a insulin syringe that if I want it I can have it. So going to go get that from her this evening, that ought to make drawing up these tiny doses so much easier.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Oh, you'll have to let us know it it helps. I have seen those, just didn't think they would be much help. Someone on lev (sorry, don't remember who), got one of those magnifying lights that stand on a table and said that helped.
 
Got it last night, and it does help at least to double check to make sure that I'm right at the .5 line, before starting to adjust the dose. It would probably help more if I was using a vial rather than a pen cartridge. As it is made to snap on the metal ring on the top of the vial, but I made it work for me last night, and it was really helpful this morning when I'm working with not the greatest light and am still about half asleep.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top