8/15 larry amps 329 pmps 293

Status
Not open for further replies.

IloveLarry

Member Since 2014
mommy sorry larry :( i tried to do my best last night? guess i made the wrong decision. high again. waited 2 and a half hrs. last night (as long as i could) and tested him, he was 128.
good morning ladies, and kitties. have a great day!


tonight i had a real hard time on the blood test, bc i dnt hv much feeling in my arms/hands. i butchered his ear, pricking ovr and ovr to get blood. if eel guilty. i wonder if it hurt? it looks bad. :(
 
Re: 8/15 larry amps 329

Pam you could have shot a full dose on that 128 or even that 86.. I realize that shooting low to stay low is scary as hell the first few times you do it but eventually we all have to get use to it, because it is what we're working towards a dose that holds them in normal range as much of the time as possible. As long as you confirm they are rising, you can shoot. Remember they are going to rise for 2-3 hours after you shoot. Plus you're feeding right as you shoot so food is going to bring them up as well. With both Autumn and Cassanova I'll shoot as low as 50. If I'm concerned I'll set an alarm to check on them at about +6, I just take the cat, the test kit and a flashlight to bed with me. As I found turning on the lights keeps me up but a flashlight gives me enough light to test by but not so much I'm either blind or wide awake. Heck there's been more times than I can count where I've gotten up the next morning and had to check the meter to make sure I actually tested and didn't just dream it lol.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 8/15 larry amps 329

oh ok ty mel. i didnt realize. how low do u NOT shoot? so i will know, and i will do it next time. thx :)
 
Re: 8/15 larry amps 329

First you have to remember my cats are on Levemir so they rise for the first 3-4 hours after I shoot. But with Cassanova I'll shoot anything above 75, with Autumn I'll shoot just about anything except obviously below 40.

With Larry I would think you're safe to shoot anything above 75 as long as he's rising..never shoot a still falling number. If its like last night and you know you're too tired to stay with him and need to shoot a BCS, Since his current dose is 1.75 you'd drop back to 1.5 or 1.25 or roughly 75% of the current dose. But when in doubt always err on the side of caution. High numbers can be overcome. Better too high for a day than too low for a minute.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 8/15 larry amps 329

ohhh ok! good2 know! ty!! above 75=normal, or drop back to 1.25 or so. its so unusual to have a green ps, that i forgot the directions i guess. ty mel! :)
 
Re: 8/15 larry amps 329

Up to you. Depending on your comfort level and when it happens. During the a.m. cycle I'd shoot normal since you're up to monitor, p.m. cycle I'd probably drop back just because I know you have sleep problems. I'll shoot normally on a p.m. cycle but I know I'll wake up at the drop of a dime and can go right back to sleep.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 8/15 larry amps 329

That I would skip if at night but probably shoot the BCS if during the day.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top