? 8/15 Herman amps 110 +2 76 Q re: +9/10 snack pmps 5

Curious how the +9 or +10 snack works to help bring down pre-shots and why that might be important…is this something I should officially schedule in to our early morning routine?
…., I am trying to understand if this is something we do because it helps heal the pancreas and increases the chance of remission or getting to lower doses? Does it provide such a benefit? If it can help with those things then I guess setting my alarm for around 3am every morning might be worth it (and as mentioned above Herman sometimes also tries to wake me up for that time, but in all honesty, he often has food remaining. He just wants something fresh plus the extra attention)…

I should note that I did do the +9/10 snacks with Herman first time around but we were on a slightly different schedule and I was much more manic about everything than this time around. I’m trying to keep things more manageable for the long term given that he may never get into a second remission. Feels like every alarm I set is a new long-term lifestyle decision I’m setting, so I’m just wanna be reasonable and smart about it all.
 
Yesterday

Bad mama didn’t wake up for his +10 snack despite him trying to crush my larynx, biting my lip and styling my eyebrows with his sandpaper tongue…thusly, scarf n barf for brekky…but actually looked more like hairball. He had another meal right after thankfully….…:rolleyes:…. he’s a bit of a grump this morning because, you know, bad mama. :oops:
Hi Amy that is too funny , He was determined to wake you up.
He's looking so good , have a nice day Amy :bighug::bighug::cat:
 
I should note that I did do the +9/10 snacks with Herman first time around but we were on a slightly different schedule and I was much more manic about everything than this time around. I’m trying to keep things more manageable for the long term given that he may never get into a second remission. Feels like every alarm I set is a new long-term lifestyle decision I’m setting, so I’m just wanna be reasonable and smart about it all.

Man, this just hits. I was also way more manic about it Kit's first go round, and this second go round isn't going as easily as her first did. And I have that thought every time I schedule a new alarm - is this just how it is now? That figuring out the sustainable thing is hard. Last time we also went into lockdown 2 months into her diagnosis, so that made it easier to hyper focus on her schedule. Now I have things I actually have to do.

:bighug:
 
Curious how the +9 or +10 snack works to help bring down pre-shots and why that might be important…is this something I should officially schedule in to our early morning routine?
…., I am trying to understand if this is something we do because it helps heal the pancreas and increases the chance of remission or getting to lower doses? Does it provide such a benefit? If it can help with those things then I guess setting my alarm for around 3am every morning might be worth it (and as mentioned above Herman sometimes also tries to wake me up for that time, but in all honesty, he often has food remaining. He just wants something fresh plus the extra attention)…

I should note that I did do the +9/10 snacks with Herman first time around but we were on a slightly different schedule and I was much more manic about everything than this time around. I’m trying to keep things more manageable for the long term given that he may never get into a second remission. Feels like every alarm I set is a new long-term lifestyle decision I’m setting, so I’m just wanna be reasonable and smart about it all.
I have been told this also, but I forgot the reason
I did a search on our group and found this posted by one of our members @Bandit's Mom maybe she can tell you .
One member told me you would do this when your dose is 0.10 , but I would keep doing it for both cycles ,that's what I did
Hopefully some will come along and tell you
You could try feeding a snack at +8 or +9 and see if that gets rid of the blue preshots. With cats on very low doses, food can bring numbers down because the pancreas produces insulin in response to food.
 
Last edited:
Man, this just hits. I was also way more manic about it Kit's first go round, and this second go round isn't going as easily as her first did. And I have that thought every time I schedule a new alarm - is this just how it is now? That figuring out the sustainable thing is hard. Last time we also went into lockdown 2 months into her diagnosis, so that made it easier to hyper focus on her schedule. Now I have things I actually have to do.

:bighug:
Luckily Herman got nicely regulated quickly this time and I didn't have the huge bouncing and scary drops like when he was first diagnosed. It was all-consuming and I missed out on a lot of life - fortunately though, I did then, and still now, can mostly work from home. But yes, I am looking at sustainability of practices! BUT if certain things greatly increase the chance of remission then I would be willing to give it that effort. If remission is unlikely (which since he fell out of remission so quickly I tend to worry its not in the cards for him) then setting myself up with a safe dose that keeps him mostly in the high greens meaning testing at all hours isn't always necessary so I can get out and do stuff with fair certainty that I wont have to constantly bail to make sure he doesn't hypo..... has to be the priority.
 
I have been told this also, but I forgot the reason
I did a search on our group and found this posted by one of our members @Bandit's Mom maybe she can tell you .
One member told me you would do this when your dose is 0.10 , but I would keep doing it for both cycles ,that's what I did
Hopefully some will come along and tell you
You could try feeding a snack at +8 or +9 and see if that gets rid of the blue preshots. With cats on very low doses, food can bring numbers down because the pancreas produces insulin in response to food.
Thanks - I see that when its happened organically (ie herman wakes me up and insists), feeding him at +10 (and even +10.5) has sometimes nicely dropped his numbers before his shot. I just dont know if this provides a healing benefit to to the pancreas making it a worthwhile daily effort. Setting an auto feeder for him doesn't work.... He needs it served fresh and placed directly under his snout. Even when he tortures me awake for food I often succumb and feed him in bed because he can't actually be bothered to go to one of his (many) "designated feeding stations". :confused:
 
Curious how the +9 or +10 snack works to help bring down pre-shots and why that might be important…is this something I should officially schedule in to our early morning routine?
Too early to start that yet. We only suggest the +8 or +9 snack when a cat is very close to remission. The food can help trigger the sputtering pancreas to create some of it's own insulin, to bring down the preshots. If his pancreas has not healed enough, then the late snack risks his numbers going higher for PS.
 
Back
Top