8/15 Harley AMPS 196

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob & Harley (GA)

Very Active Member
Morning

I hope this means we/re back on track. The 1.2 brought him back so I'm shaving a drop off of it to 1.1 since I'll be home to test today. I think we agreed that 1.2 was a little bit too much unless his #'s started getting feisty again like last night.

We'll see what happens today.


Yesterdays News
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=22365
 
Better PS, but bummer on the mid-cycle #s. :( Oh well. Sometimes they need a little more to get back to the good stuff. With Bix I always found if I shaved a little off the dose too soon the #s would be bad, but sometimes it was just one more cycle or two til he actually did want the slightly lower dose (once I raised it back up that is).

I'd probably go back to 1.2 or even a fat 1.2 to try to see some greens again, and then if you get PSs below maybe 160 or nadirs below 60, then shave off the dose again. If this dose isn't enough (which it doesn't look to be) it seems unlikely that he'd actually hypo on 0.1 or 0.2 more than that. I wouldn't shoot 1.5 or anything, no need for it, but I wouldn't be scared of going back to a fat 1.2 either.

It may be that he never needed a reduction anyhow. Those earlier #s were like 80 or 90 I think, so still some room for better #s. I may have gotten overly excited about the greens :mrgreen: so sorry if I contributed to reducing too much too fast.
 
You know I don't think it's the insulin dose.

I've spent all afternoon going over my notes because this just didn't make sense and what I'm finding is that when I started experimenting with the food to lower the carbs he started getting better #'s. I was trying Sophisticat, Special Kitty, Wellness & Evo. But over the last 3 or 4 days I've tried some FF new label and his bg's started going all over the place. It finally occured to me that today's menu was EVO Turkey and FF. Could it be the FF? I know it's not on the new food chart because they won't cough up the as fed values.

Besides, my experiment was flawed by using two types of food at the same time, duh, I'm going to start over and keep the food the same for the whole day.

I'm going to cut out the FF and see what happens tonight.
 
Interesting!!! There has been some controversy over the FFs since they changed their formulas. You might search here & on Health if you are curious - I'm pretty sure I've seen some other people report wonky #s on the FF when it used to work great.
 
Hi Joanna, I have been doing some searches and can only find a few threads here and there that say certain flavors raise their kitties bg's. But I know there was a big long discussion on it but I wasn't feeding it at the time so I didn't pay much attention and I don't know if there was any conclusions at the end.

What I have discovered with the food experiment is that they all love Evo & FF. Every day I threw away some of the left over food until they got Evo & FF, then the bowls were licked clean which worries me that they aren't getting enough to eat because they don't care for it.

But I've done the math and until I'm adopted by Daddy Warbucks I can't affort to feed Evo to the whole crew and since Harley needs to free feed I'm having a hard time trying to figure out how to feed it to just him. ACK!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top