8/15 Govie amps 364..pmps 315

Status
Not open for further replies.
It's possible she went lower overnight and is bouncing today. Many cats go lower at night, so getting some random night time tests are usually pretty informative.

Continuing on your conversation from yesterday, many people recommend Friskies or Fancy Feast because they are economical low carb food and you can get them most anywhere. However, they are not a good products for cats with kidney issues and not everyone realizes that when they suggest FF or Friskies. There are lots of other food options available that are low carb and lower phosphorus. I never fed Fancy Feast or Friskies.
 
It's possible she went lower overnight and is bouncing today. Many cats go lower at night, so getting some random night time tests are usually pretty informative.

Continuing on your conversation from yesterday, many people recommend Friskies or Fancy Feast because they are economical low carb food and you can get them most anywhere. However, they are not a good products for cats with kidney issues and not everyone realizes that when they suggest FF or Friskies. There are lots of other food options available that are low carb and lower phosphorus. I never fed Fancy Feast or Friskies.
Okay so what are some good recommendations that I can feed my diabetic cat and my two civvies?
 
The cat food list here has lots of options. Ideally you'd like phosphorus below 200 or as close as you can get. Or you can use the sortable version of the list that has filters. Some of the brands have larger size cans that make them more economical for multiple cats. I ended up feeding raw, which has quite a few low carb/low phosphorus options, either by making my own or finding some made with eggshell calcium instead of bone.
 
The cat food list here has lots of options. Ideally you'd like phosphorus below 200 or as close as you can get. Or you can use the sortable version of the list that has filters. Some of the brands have larger size cans that make them more economical for multiple cats. I ended up feeding raw, which has quite a few low carb/low phosphorus options, either by making my own or finding some made with eggshell calcium instead of bone.
Wow, thanks Wendy! Just did a +4 and got 142
 
Ok just tried 5x to grab a +8 but couldn't get enuf blood. I'm sure it because the lancets are 30 gague and too small. I have 2 larger ones left, so I'm gonna save them for 2nite's pmps and 2moro morning amps. I'll be getting new ones 2moro..28 gague I have been told to use
 
Hi! Have you gotten any more tests after that 142?
Funny just as I was texting..your message came through! Just tried to, and had trouble getting blood. Have to get new lancets tomorrow I've been using 30 it's just too small they said to use a 28 why have two bigger ones left but I'm going to save that for the amps tomorrow and the pmps tonight. But thanks for asking
 
Funny just as I was texting..your message came through! Just tried to, and had trouble getting blood. Have to get new lancets tomorrow I've been using 30 it's just too small they said to use a 28 why have two bigger ones left but I'm going to save that for the amps tomorrow and the pmps tonight. But thanks for asking
Are you warming up the ear? I had the same problem before I learned the difference between the different gauges. :bighug:
 
The cat food list here has lots of options. Ideally you'd like phosphorus below 200 or as close as you can get. Or you can use the sortable version of the list that has filters. Some of the brands have larger size cans that make them more economical for multiple cats. I ended up feeding raw, which has quite a few low carb/low phosphorus options, either by making my own or finding some made with eggshell calcium instead of bone.
Hey I checked those list turns out I had the first one already downloaded but the sortable one I'm going to go through again in a little bit. Also wanted to mention you know I'm pretty sure that that high reading I got this morning was because I'm having trouble getting blood and she's getting a little irritated and impatient. Which in and of itself will give you a higher reading. Now normally she's great for her tests, especially since I switched back to the Neosporin cream. That ointment really gave us a hard time all those little red bumps on her ears are now almost gone. Time will tell
 
Are you warming up the ear? I had the same problem before I learned the difference between the different gauges. :bighug:
Oh absolutely like I said these are 30 gauge and I just know they're too small I'm getting a drop of blood but it's not enough and I don't want to squeeze her ear too much.
 
Hi Karen, are you using SLGS dosing method? If yes it maybe time for an increase, looks like you have been on the same dose for over 7days. It would be good to add which dosing method you are using SLGS or TR in your signature as it will get frustrating that we ask all the time :smuggrin:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top