8/15 Emma AMPS=160 +3=40, +3.3=58, +3.70=58, +4=59

Manuel

Member Since 2022
I spot-tested Emma at +3 and she's hypo again! The only change I've made is to trying to give her Fromm food the last few days. Maybe it's too low-carb for Emma. She was okay when I was doing the Koha Duck food.

I applied honey as soon as I tested. She had a HC dry snack at +2, which apparently didn't keep her from going up? And I gave her more HC dry food just now. Should I give her a teaspoon of Fancy Feast turkey in gravy? Last time it seemed not to be as effective as the hydrolyzed protein dry food I normally give her, but I'm not sure.
 
59 again at 3.66. Summary:
+3: 40
+3.33: 59
+3.66: 59

Thank you, @Bandit's Mom and @tiffmaxee . Do I understand correctly that the previous reduction (from 1.50 to 1.25) means the cat's body is trying to refill (or create) a higher insulin depot? I had thought that a reduction meant the body is trying to save some insulin for the reserve, and so less would be available for usage, thus raising the blood glucose. Could someone clarify?

I will reduce to 1.00! I am surprised at the pretty drastic change with the Fromm. I was trying out different flavours but it seems once I switched to Fromm (lamb 2 cans, then turkey) that's when things dove. I've been doing 55g per meal, so about 50% of the carbs.
 
Should I pick up some Koha duck again today, seeing as that gave me some low numbers but nothing hypo? Or stick with Fromm?

Update: 59 at +4.00. We'll test again in an hour to confirm it's still going up.
 
Last edited:
59 again at 3.66. Summary:
+3: 40
+3.33: 59
+3.66: 59

Thank you, @Bandit's Mom and @tiffmaxee . Do I understand correctly that the previous reduction (from 1.50 to 1.25) means the cat's body is trying to refill (or create) a higher insulin depot? I had thought that a reduction meant the body is trying to save some insulin for the reserve, and so less would be available for usage, thus raising the blood glucose. Could someone clarify?

I will reduce to 1.00! I am surprised at the pretty drastic change with the Fromm. I was trying out different flavours but it seems once I switched to Fromm (lamb 2 cans, then turkey) that's when things dove. I've been doing 55g per meal, so about 50% of the carbs.
Lantus naturally creates a 'reserve or depot' it does this at whatever dose you are at. So when you reduce from say 1.25 to 1. For up to 6 cycles the depot that was created at the 1.25 is still at play. It takes a little time for it to 'drain' to the new lower reserve of new lower dose. Does that make sense? I'm sure there is a better way to explain but best I could come up with LOL

It's amazing what a few little changes makes. Looking super good these days you're doing great! :bighug::bighug:
 
Lantus naturally creates a 'reserve or depot' it does this at whatever dose you are at. So when you reduce from say 1.25 to 1. For up to 6 cycles the depot that was created at the 1.25 is still at play. It takes a little time for it to 'drain' to the new lower reserve of new lower dose. Does that make sense? I'm sure there is a better way to explain but best I could come up with LOL

It's amazing what a few little changes makes. Looking super good these days you're doing great! :bighug::bighug:
Thank you for this clear explanation! I was overthinking it, based on a sticky I was reading earlier in the day. And thanks for the encouraging words. :)
 
I think Koha Duck is <10% carbs too, actually. But I guess Fromm is even lower. For HC I have the hydrolyzed protein dry food that still makes up 50% of her diet, as well as FF grilled turkey in gravy. I give the latter only in emergencies.

I’ve still done a fifty-fifty split between wet and dry, which I guess is a good thing given how much wet food alongside insulin is causing Emma to dive. The problem seems especially to happen on days when I didn’t give prednisolone the night before. I always give Pred every other day in the evening, and I notice the next day she tends not to start in the blue, or dip too low. It’s the day leading up to her getting Pred that is more tricky.
 
grilled turkey in gravy. I give the latter only in emergencies.
That's 13% carbs
You probably know this already
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
 
That's 13% carbs
You probably know this already
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
You're so faithful, Diane. Thank you. I seemed to think it wasn't quite high carbs, but it was the one listed in the sticky. I guess I can pick up the Beef Feast, though Emma tends to avoid beef.. I'll see what else I can find.

In my very first thread, you pointed out that the hydrolyzed protein dry food is 34.55%, based on the calculation of a previous member (and which you double-checked). So maybe that's the way to go.
 
Vet called me back. She didn't seem to want to prescribe budesonide, apparently because the effects of lower blood sugar compared to prednisolone are (she said) anecdotal. I'm not sure what to make of that.

However, she did say I could try to reduce the amount of pred, and that I can safely try to increase the amount of wet food. I suppose both of these things would lower her blood glucose, but I'm going to go with caution here and not make any changes in the next 3-5 days since I'm already reducing the insulin dosage to 1.00. I'll keep the wet/dry calories to 50-50.
 
Back
Top