? 8/15 Ember PMPS 154

Kara & Ember

Member Since 2024
So, Ember has been recovering from her pancreatitis flareup, she's doing much much better, but now I'm running in to a (great) problem - her BG is low. With her pancreas healing up, and having swapped her to Fancy Feast Chicken Feast (Senior), she took a rapid decrease from 1.5u to .5u over a couple days because the dose was dropping her into the 70s.

She's currently at 154 and about 10-ish mins from her meds/dinner. It looks like she's starting to climb a bit, but the vet tech advised me today to not shoot if she's under 200. I don't know that that's the way to go, but should she get the full .5 dose or a reduced .25u because of the low PMPS? Her AMPS was 244 and her low point was about 100.
 
update; talked to the vet and she said to switch to the .5u once per day (i.e., skipping this dose and then shooting again tomorrow morning regardless of numbers). I don't know that I agree with this once per day at the higher dose thing? thoughts? shouldn't i be pushing her down to a lower dose twice per day?

they mentioned wanting to do this because if she is heading towards remission, then it's important to not overwhelm her system by stopping it entirely, but it feels like the vets don't believe in units other than .5 so they're just like 'this is the lowest it can go, so just move to once per day as a way to reduce it'?

and they also said to keep that up for a week because they are on vacation next week, but like... if her numbers aren't going well, then I don't want to do that?

I need to read back through the dosing protocols on here but if anyone has any advice on this please let me know. I am skipping tonight since her eating dinner did not raise her BG, but if she's still under 150 tomorrow morning, I am not going to feel comfortable shooting the full .5u
 
Back
Top