8/15 Clare PMPS 213;+3.5-88 Can we get some sleep tonight?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Last night's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123551

Today's test scores:
AMPS 222

+4 73

+5 60

+5.5 78

+6 78

+7 134

+10 178

PMPS 213

+3.5 88

Clare's headed down again and we're pretty worn out. Is there a way that we can get some sleep tonight without setting her too far back? We'd appreciate your advice, even if it's a. "No, no way."

Thanks as always.
 
Re: 8/15 Clare AMPS 222 decreasing dose to 0.25

Good Morning Georgette, hope you and Clare weren't up too late last night. Glad I could help. Hopefully, Clare won't bounce too high and that she'll clear it quickly. As you soon as you get a chance, could you please update Clare's ss? I'm curious to see what she did after the +6.

Hope you have a great day.

ETA: I see you linked the two condos from yesterday to each other - very good. Now, you can add the link to last night's post to today's condo and everyone can easily get to your posts to see how Clare's been doing.
 
Re: 8/15 Clare AMPS 222 decreasing dose to 0.25

well i see you had quite a night last night! nothing like the first round of low numbers! it can be kinda nerve-wracking, although you were in great hands with laura and marje. how are you doing this morning?

you're doing just fine georgette. don't worry about making mistakes along the way - you will, we all did until we learned a little more. fortunately, you were testing and you caught her heading down and did everything right to keep her safe. that's the most important thing.

you can stay with the 0.25u now and continue getting mid-cycle tests. Often people like to get a +2 because it can act as an indicator of what might be coming next. There's a description of the typical active lantus cycle on the New to the Group sticky. Anytime the +2 is the same or less than the preshot, you definitely want to continue testing to make sure she's not headed into low numbers again.

She may bounce from the low numbers last night. If she does, you want to still continue getting at least one mid-cycle test (i like somewhere between +3 and +6/7) in every cycle so we can see when she begins to come down. we call that "clearing" a bounce.
 
Re: 8/15 Clare AMPS 222 decreasing dose to 0.25 +4 73

Georgette and Clare said:
Here we go again: does the 73 mean that we need to watch her carefully again and test each 1/2 hour?

Thanks.
YES. Just follow the instructions Marje provided last night. Are you home to monitor?

ETA: She's still 2 hours away from mid cycle and could continue to drop below 50. Test every 30 minutes, feeding or giving gravy/syrup/MC as necessary, to make sure she doesn't drop below 50. If so goes way below 50, will need to test more often.
 
Re: 8/15 Clare AMPS 222 decr dose to 0.25;+4-73;+6-60

Sorry, I'm back to monitor Clare for the rest of the day. Don had to sleep some. After we went to bed at 3 he woke up early to cook breakfast at our local hospice and then needed to sleep for an hour. I was delivering a meal to a friend who just had back surgery. Things seemed to all be happening at once! :o So now we're home, and awake and able to track her through the nadir time.

Clare seems to be resting but not unresponsive. She didn't get much sleep last night either! I tried a couple of Temptations on Clare (they used to be a favorite treat) and she still likes them. So she's had those plus a very little of her LC food and seems most interested in the plain grilled chicken. So we've given her about a tablespoon's worth of that.

Once again, our gratitude goes out to our friends on the Board and especially Laura, Marje and Julie. This is a scary process but would be absolutely terrifying without your help. :shock:

P.S. I updated Clare's spreadsheet through this morning's AMPS and will continue to update her test scores on today's initial message like I did last night. I can't seem to get them all in the Subject heading using my cell phone.
 
Re: 8/15 Clare AMPS 222 dec dose to 0.25;+4-73;+5-60;+5.5-78

Okay, so to make sure we've got it:

Continue with the 0.25 BID dose

Take tests in each cycle, ideally Pre-shot, +2 and sometime mid-cycle.

After 10 cycles with good data, consider whether or not to change the dose based upon the nadir numbers.

Follow the protocol rules for changing the dose, checking first with the Board advisors.

Update the SS frequently.

Try to get some sleep. ;-)

That about it? :smile:
 
Re: 8/15 Clare AMPS 222 dec dose to 0.25;+4-73;+5-60;+5.5-78

Sort of :-D :-D

When we reduce the dose, we don't necessarily hold it ten cycles. For example, if in four cycles after any bounce is cleared, she's not coming back down to green, we'd increase the dose back to the last good dose. Conversely, if after five or six cycles (just an example), she drops below 50 again, she would earn another reduction. And the last scenario is that if she comes back into green on the 0.25u dose and doesn't earn a reduction by dropping under 50. In that scenario, if she's in normal numbers for a week on the 0.25u dose, then you would reduce the dose. Does that help??

Holding ten cycles usually applies to increases once you start to see nadirs below 200.
 
Re: 8/15 Clare AMPS 222;+4-73;+5-60;+5.5-78;+6-78

Wow! I must be getting old. How do you remember all of this? I'll need to reread that post a few times. I'll get it eventually, though! :?
 
Re: 8/15 Clare AMPS 222;+4-73;+5-60;+5.5-78;+6-78

Cause it seems I've been doing it furever :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/15 Clare AMPS 222;+4-73;+5-60;+5.5-78;+6-78

Thanks for updating her ss. It's nice to not have to log in to FDMB but still be able to view her ss to see how she's doing. 78 is a great number. I would just keep following the advice Marje provided yesterday. You're doing great Georgette. Hope Clare will surf the green for awhile but don't be discouraged if she bounces - often times it's part of the process of getting to regulation. ECID, some bounce more than others and some clear their bounces sooner than others. Just stick with the protocol and things will improve.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top