8/15 Cheeto AMPS 236

SaraW1983

Member Since 2020
Previous Condo: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-6-cheeto-amps-153-1-2-hr-189.233287/
Hi all!
Well, it’s been non eventful for Miss Cheeto. I noticed midweek my Basaglar pen had gone bad, it had floaties and was cloudy, so I called in and got a new pen. Now I know I’ve read somewhere (and was told by the vet) that I need to hold the current dose for another week since the new pen could potentially act as a dose change, but good gravy I feel Cheeto needs an increase. I’ll hold out. Waiting isn’t a strong suit of mine. :banghead:
Hope everyone is doing well!
 
Now I know I’ve read somewhere (and was told by the vet) that I need to hold the current dose for another week since the new pen could potentially act as a dose change, but good gravy I feel Cheeto needs an increase.
That is an excellent question. Re-start the cycle count or not. I see movement in Cheeto's #s before opening the new pen. The insulin was doing smthg. I'm gonna tag someone that knows more than me:p
@Sue and Luci thoughts on re-starting cycle due to opening new pen
 
It looks like Cheeto is bouncing...I would not restart the cycle count...but count from the last time you got a number under 200...which was 4 cycles ago...if you don't see a good number in 2 more cycles it looks like an increase would be in order. With these numbers I would not wait - follow your TR protocol and go up to .5 :)
 
It looks like Cheeto is bouncing...I would not restart the cycle count...but count from the last time you got a number under 200...which was 4 cycles ago...if you don't see a good number in 2 more cycles it looks like an increase would be in order. With these numbers I would not wait - follow your TR protocol and go up to .5 :)

Thank you!! I’m glad I posted. Waiting another full week would have been torture. :D
 
.would you wait two more cycles or go ahead now with the increase? Tonight?

Cheeto isn't exactly "new to numbers under 200" and has been on the .25 for well over 7 days already.

What I do find interesting is the "old" pen got her to 183 so maybe it wasn't so bad after all?
 
Last edited:
Cheeto isn't exactly "new to numbers under 200" and has been on the .25 for well over 7 days already.

What I do find interesting is the "old" pen got him to 183 so maybe it wasn't so bad after all?

I found it strange myself, but since it went cloudy and had floaties I thought I shouldn’t use it. Hmmm... maybe those two things don’t affect the insulin after all?
 
I was wondering the same...but I've not ever seen a pen with actual floaties...so I can't offer my opinion on that. My rule of thumb generally is if it's clear and hasn't been too hot or frozen, then it's usually my reluctant cat and not the juice to blame...but she says there were visible floaties and cloudiness...so perhaps it was sorta kinda going bad??? I dunno...regardless, she has a new pen now...and those numbers aren't doing him any favors...it's just a matter of two cycles or going ahead with the increase now - Cheeto looks like quite the bouncie girl too! Ooopss
 
I was wondering the same...but I've not ever seen a pen with actual floaties...so I can't offer my opinion on that. My rule of thumb generally is if it's clear and hasn't been too hot or frozen, then it's usually my reluctant cat and not the juice to blame...but she says there were visible floaties and cloudiness...so perhaps it was sorta kinda going bad??? I dunno...regardless, she has a new pen now...and those numbers aren't doing him any favors...it's just a matter of two cycles or going ahead with the increase now - Cheeto looks like quite the bouncie boy too...

She’s bouncy alright.
 
Just for the record, you probably could have increased back on the 11th. She got green after the reduction (probably from the 0.5 unit depot), bounced again and then cleared the bounce night of the 10th, but didn't get down to green again. Which meant a failed reduction.

Sometimes I would wait 1 cycle after starting a new cartridge/pen, if I had any doubt about it, just to make sure it wasn't impacting the numbers. In 5 years, I had one go bad, and that's after a 2 sets of 3 day long car trips in temperatures over 90. Even with cooling it wasn't enough to save it.
 
Oh
Just for the record, you probably could have increased back on the 11th. She got green after the reduction (probably from the 0.5 unit depot), bounced again and then cleared the bounce night of the 10th, but didn't get down to green again. Which meant a failed reduction.

Sometimes I would wait 1 cycle after starting a new cartridge/pen, if I had any doubt about it, just to make sure it wasn't impacting the numbers. In 5 years, I had one go bad, and that's after a 2 sets of 3 day long car trips in temperatures over 90. Even with cooling it wasn't enough to save it.

Oh wow! That’s good info. I will remember that for the next time. I had a feeling it was a failed reduction. I’ll get the hang of this, hopefully. :p
 
Back
Top