amps 125
+2 91
+3 LO (hc +karo)
+3.5 63
+4 91
thinking out loud...
--- it's very *possible* exercise (chasing the squirrel) plus 0.1u of insulin produced the "LO". you've been running brutus on the low side as it is (40s), so this seems very possible.
--- it's also *possible* the "LO" was a bad test. always retest surprises.
--- the AM preshot numbers are high, but the PMPS numbers aren't bad at all. i really am not too concerned with blue PS numbers less than 120.
--- i don't remember, are you feeding a snack at PM +7 or +8? if his pancreas is working, a snack *should* bring down the AMPS within about 4 hours. you could try using food (small meals/snacks) rather than insulin to bring the numbers down.
--- what meter are you using? some tend to run lower/higher than others.
an automatic reduction should be taken when any kitty throws a "LO". in this case, an exercised induced LO or a bad test *could* be responsible for the reading, but we can't take any chances. the dose has to be reduced to either something smaller than 0.1u or in this case, because of the tiny dose, an OTJ trial could be attempted.
personally, i don't think you have anything to lose in attempting an OTJ trial. if you see the numbers trending upwards, intervening with a little insulin isn't the end of the world. brutus is and has been so darn close to going OTJ that there's no doubt in my mind you'd get him back on track quickly if his numbers began trending upwards and you chose to attempt a trial. on the other hand, shooting a dose smaller than 0.1u may bring those AMPS numbers down.
i see merit in either one of these choices. however, you know brutus better than any of us. you also know the limits to your comfort zone, ability to monitor, etc.
what do you think?