8/15 AMPS 334 +3 365

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
We've decided to hold Booger to her dose of 1unit for a few more cycles with her being so new to the insulin. She's currently in her 5th cycle and this morning at +3, her numbers were up by 31 on the Alphatrak. We're monitoring her pretty closely now and I think I've decided that (for now) I may have to go with the Alphatrak data. With our pretty much round the clock monitoring, my husband and I are testing in shifts. I am fortunate to be off for another 6 days (this was my vacation time) and can stay up well into the night right now and he's taking the early mornings. But he really likes the Alphatrak for the smallness of sample to collect. The Bayer has a significantly larger sample well. We're in the waiting period and hoping to see some progress soon.
 
If you find you are spending too much on the Alpha strips you might want to get a Relion Micro as it uses a very small sample as well and the test strips are much cheaper. When you have to monitor closely you can go through a ton of strips quickly. Even after 8 months of testing I still sometimes make mistakes with too much or too little blood or meter error and need to waste some. You might not be here long and it won't be an issue but I just thought I'd bring it up just in case.
 
I would highly recommend the Relion Micro. And if you decide to buy one, buy two. It's always good to have a backup meter. They are inexpensive and so are the strips and the sample size is tiny.

But...if you stay with the AT, or as long as you are using the AT, please put it in bold and large letters in your signature block. The reason is because we assume when we are looking at numbers, that a human glucometer is being used. We have so many members that it's sometimes difficult to remember who started with an AT, who switched, whose still using it, etc. If someone posts a 68 for their cat, we aren't too worried about that for a human glucometer. But if it's on an AT and it's a new member, we pay attention :-D

Thank you!
 
Thanks for the suggestion. I will probably end up switching to the Relion in the future. Currently I have a fair amount of strips to use. I would like to transition to the human meter in the future (for cost effectiveness and I believe that the glucose can be reliably measured this way through my reading here) but I think I will be switching brands and I have read previously the good reviews of the Relion.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top