Thanks for being here @tiffmaxee ! Do you agree with 0.5 for this morning?Please don’t be upset. He’s reacting to the skipped shot. The depot needs to fill again. You get a pokie break. I’d get a +3. Let’s see if he comes down.
Okay good!Absolutely I agree!
Thank you @Sue and Luci ! I think we were operating under an assumption that Simon might just slide quickly into remission since his diabetes was steroid induced and he is no longer taking steroids. Oh well. I guess we aren’t getting a free pass out of here after allHi Kyle! It's very early in the game for you guys...try to take a deep breath...you're going to see a whole lotta ups and downs.
So the other thing I notice looking at your SS, is that dose is different too often. And then there's a skip...I know you were on the forum and there was some discussion - so at that point unless you're looking at a low BG level that you're uncomfortable with, please try to maintain the same dose consistently - of course you don't want to shoot a number that's too low - please stall at that time and post - ask for help.
I presume there are previous conversations that indicate a .5 is a better early dose for Simon - so for now, please try to stick with that dose. Lantus is a depot drug - a hormone actually - and by being consistent you'll get better numbers. Also please try to get another test at night if at all possible.
Hang on for the ride...let's get Simon back into those lovely greens![]()
Thank you @Sue and Luci ! I think we were operating under an assumption that Simon might just slide quickly into remission since his diabetes was steroid induced and he is no longer taking steroids. Oh well. I guess we aren’t getting a feee pass out of here after allHoping we can get some better numbers in the days ahead. Thanks for your help!
That’s why with each illness my cats get I learn more about feline health. I’ve had an education in lymphoma, CKD, pancreatitis, CHF, diabetes, and currently allergies.Kyle, if this was answered I just don’t remember. How long was Simon on prednisolone?
I was working on it, but he reached his limit. I don't know why last night and this morning went so easily and now its back to square one! Im going to give him an hour to recover and then try again.Did you try to get another test?

I really feel like my inability to reliably test him is a major factor in managing this disease right now.I hope the internist puts him in budesonide and gets rid of the nausea making one or puts him on pulsed. Do they suspect small cell or IBD?
Good thing he didn’t start low. Not cooperating with tests means we need to be cautious with dosing. That will improve.![]()
I also think that Simon's nausea has also been a factor as managing him with food could be difficult when he won't eat. Maybe I should shift his pm dose to an earlier time so that I can do a few pm post tests without having to set alarms or ask someone else to stay up late with me?Actually there were several reasons why I thought it wise to skip that shot. The first one was the difficulty drawing blood to test. It was already after 8:30 and I was concerned you would possibly need to be up all night and I couldn’t stay with you past +3. Another factor was how new Simon was to to Lantus and lack of data to know how he would respond. Possible quick remission was not the reason to skip quite yet. My vet made that mistake early on with Max when his nadir was 60 and I wasn’t home testing yet. He though he was in remission and stopped insulin for three weeks. Max wasn’t. That’s when I came back and started testing myself.
Yes this is such good advice. So sorry that we have to learn some of this the hard way!! So glad to hear that she is doing well!Kyle - I have a strong hunch that Tina's diabetes was also steroid induced. That's part of why I feel I was able to get her into remission, but it took about 5 months of insulin. And that was after 5 months of needing insulin and not getting it.
I learned to always, always request blood work - was told over the phone her bloodwork was fine five months before diagnosis, then I later learned her BG was almost 600 back then; vet chalked it up to stress and didn't mention it. Sorry, OT. Later apologized - he thought her arthritis was crippling her when it was worsening neuropathy. She's pretty great now.
Love to Simon!
Oh my @tiffmaxee I am so sorry you and your cats have been through so much! I guess every cat develops some issues at some point, but you have really been through a lot.The problem is steroids work for lots of things. I had a cat that vets couldn’t figure what was wrong. She was on pred on and off for feline acne and then the mystery illness. She are well but was losing weight until the night before I lost her. She had lung cancer that was then throughout her body. Three vets couldn’t figure it out.That’s why with each illness my cats get I learn more about feline health. I’ve had an education in lymphoma, CKD, pancreatitis, CHF, diabetes, and currently allergies.

Oh sweet Max! I honestly cried when I looked at your spreadsheet for him. It was just obvious what great care you took of him.The good news is only one passed young. Max was 19.

Really? This seems like a big drop to me from amps. He has been sort of nibbling throughout the day. I did try 8 mg of Cerenia and I think he is less nauseous, but he hasn't had a full meal yet. Should I try to give hime something extra yummy? Is it time for Gravy Lover's?No surprise. When did he last eat?
Yes, of course. Just amazed at how dynamic this whole thing can be! He won't eat. I will test again at +7 and see where he is at. Sorry if I am being as jumpy as his BG right now!He didn’t jump from 346 to 68 in an hour. It took ( hours to get there. A test at +2-3 will let you know if he’s going to have an active cycle. I bet he was in 200’s by then.


Hi
My Rico also had steroid induce diabetes from pred- he was 19 (if memory is working) and although it cleared up his IBD I now had another diabetic! But because I knew all the signs I caught it very quickly and started insulin that night We also switched to budesonide.
For us I knew his pancreas worked so I was extremely cautious with dosing and trusted my gut-
I (again this is just what I did) did not shoot under 200-
At his age I was not looking for him to be in the 80s or 90s I just wanted him to feel good and get the IBD under control and it is true that the budesonide can raise the numbers and it did for him but I was fine with that and he felt good. I started shaving the budesonide 1mg to about .75 - this lowered his bg and it worked for the IBD.
For the record I use the alpha track meter.
Rico was not diabetic for very long he went into remission in about a month and I would spot test if I was suspicious.
It was mentioned in your thread about supporting the pancreas and that was pretty much my mind set and it worked out quickly for us. I did give him zofran 2-4mg....cerenia 8 mg..and cipro the appetite stimulant ...I combined them all into 1 gel cap and he got 2x a day, more if needed ( cerenia 1x a day and often injectable given only after fluids in the fluid bubble so it wouldn't burn and kept it in fridge) Rico was about 11 pounds.
You have great people watching over you so take a deep breath -- I also used (and use on Dre) a terumo needle and barely graze the ear for blood.
Sadly my Rico passed at 21 about 8 months ago....we miss him terribly.
![]()

We live about 2 hrs north of Lake Tahoe- both Chico, CA and Reno, NV are within 2 hrs driving distance for us. The internist I found is in Chico, as well as my current vet at Chico Cat Hospital. I could get to Davis where there is a very good veterinary school in about 3.5 hrs- but this would be a 7 hr drive round trip and potentially too stressful for Simon. Even driving to Chico is a lot for him, which is why I try to get as much done locally (labs, etc.) as I can. I know there are good vets in the bay area, but this is not really feasible for me.Some vets treat senior cats like doctors write off seniors. You just haven’t found the right one. About where in California do you live?
Simon’s numbers are good today. You don’t need to feed him any more.
Yes @tiffmaxee has been helping me through every single dose so far! I am hoping we can give budesonide a try at some point soon. Thank you for sharing your insights!Hi,
Yes may vets do just write them off I was lucky that I found good clinic that got the hint I knew enough to hold them accountable. I really believe just like people when they are ill need a advocate for them. Before the steroids we tried the "poo pills" it is experimental but it uses the poop of healthy cats in a gel cap to help cats with IBD and other conditions rebuild good flora in the gut which he did but at his age it was not as effective especially during a flare up.
The budesonide did control his IBD which was amazing ! it is also tasteless (I tasted it) and can be mixed with just a teaspoon of baby food or the churro treats that have baby food texture. It mixes easily if pilling is hard or if you have to go away and have a sitter.
I was very supported by @tiffmaxee and don't know how I would have done without her.... Rico also got other things for arthritis etc... (adequan and such)
Speaking of which, will you be around this evening @tiffmaxee ? I am nervous about tonights dose, and will need your advice as usualYes @tiffmaxee has been helping me through every single dose so far! I am hoping we can give budesonide a try at some point soon. Thank you for sharing your insights!
Thank you so much! I don't want to send him into a roller coaster again, but if his numbers are low I am going to be hesitant to shootI’ll be here at 8:30.

Thank you @Wendy&Neko! We will look forward to your insights and advice! I would do anything for Simon, so if I have to stay up all night for him I will. I am still learning to get BG readings, and it his hard sometimes, but I will do whatever it takes to keep him safe and healthy. So glad to hear Budenoside helped your sweet girl!Elise asked me to look in too. My girl had either IBD or small cell, though the IM vet was leaning to small cell lymphoma. She had plenty of ultrasounds, but could not have a biopsy or endoscopy (needed for proper diagnosis) due to her heart. She went on budesonide - again cause her heart couldn't do prednisolone - and it really helped. Ultrasounds showed it reduced bowel wall inflammation by 35%. It also did not impact her blood sugars. She was reasonably well regulated at the time, so I could tell the impacts of meds. Neko also went on chlorambucil (Leukeran). She started with the every other day dosing, and it did horrible things for her appetite. I did manage to convince my IM vet so switch her to the every other week protocol, and it gave us over a week of happy appy in between chlorambucil doses. I found she needed both Cerenia and onsdansetron at the same time though.
Deciding on a Lantus dosing method is really important. It has to suit your lifestyle not ours. Today, he might have eared a dose reduction, might not have - depending on which dosing method you are following. Simon is seeing some nice numbers - healing greens.
Struggling but finally got it at 88!Hi. D you have a PMPS?
Oh poor you! I know you have been helping so many people. My dosing method so far has been to ask you what to do. Except for day 2 when I went ahead and shot @96 and triggered a huge bounce. I am very uncomfortable shooting anything with him at 88 and not eating honestly. I know my last NS triggered a roller coaster, but he has been at 88 for 5 hours, so how much will he come up from here? Maybe I could stomach a 0.1, although even that makes me super nervous.So Wendy raised a good point. We haven’t decided which method you want to follow or did we discuss that? I’ve been on so many condos I can’t remember. With SLGS you reduce under 90. With TR it’s under 50.
I want to do what is best for Simon, not what is convenient for me. Since I am struggling with testing, don't feel able to handle a hypo situation in the middle of the night tonight by myself, and he is not eating, I think that skipping is probably more prudent.I think his pancreas is kicking into gear. I’m supposed to tell you to shoot but given his poor appetite and being hard to get results I’m thinking skipping is fine. This also gives you the option to change his shot time to any time you want. Is this the most convenient for you?
I am female btwWendy he’s worried because he’s not eating. I meant reduction number.