8/14 Rufus PMPS 96... +4.5 46, +5.25 41, +6.33 67

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuBee

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

171 Preshot! I fed him, and tried to shoot, but he wasn't having that. I'll be trotting upstairs in a moment to do that.

One concern I have is the amount of blood for the sample - my meter claims it won't do the test if it isn't given a large enough drop, and I've had that happen plenty of times to prove it, but it seems like he had JUST enough to be sucked up by the strip - I wonder if that could influence the results. I'll be testing periodically today to ensure he's doin' fine.

WCR: He's acting normal for early morning - it's too early to tell how much energy he'll have throughout the day, although one improvement did manifest: he behaved himself this morning, even though it was BREKFIST TIME! :-D
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171

It is looking like a good day, isn't it? (Kinda hard to go about your day with your fingers crossed, though.) Hoping we can all share in Rufus' good fortune this morning! :-D
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171

Nice AMPS!
If you can catch a +3, that would be a great addition to your spreadsheet.

I do think the more kitty struggles for that BG test, the more the number could go up. Like vet stress, you know?
It helps too if we keep our cool and are as calm as we can be, or they will sense our own nerves too, lol!

Are you offering treats at test time?
That can help enforce good behaviour, if he doesn't bite your finger off :lol:

Have a good day Bee!
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75

A +6 of 75! He looks awesome, but I'm still going to keep an eye on him. Tried to get numbers earlier, but I know how to pick my battles, lol. I hope he doesn't do anything weird and has shootable numbers at +12. I can't imagine that he wouldn't. Will be trying for a +9, +11 just to get a good sense of his rise. For now, I watch him with my eyeballs and give my hands a chance to stop shaking (not an anxiety thing, possibly a neurological thing, but you never know when it's going to act up - I could barely hold the strip to the blood long enough for it to suck it up. Funny when you're trying to sign for packages and such - but not convenient in the least).

Updated WCR: He's been asleep in an upstairs closet for a few hours - probably trying to escape me after the testing blip - but he was wide awake when I came in the room (I had been calling him from the stairs), and is alert and now actively observing the neighborhood from HIS window seat. He didn't become upset when the Mailman just came up the walkway! Big improvement in anxiety levels! :-D
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171

Ronnie & Luna said:
Nice AMPS!
If you can catch a +3, that would be a great addition to your spreadsheet.

Yeah, I thought so, too - he didn't, though. We'll be working on our cooperative skills in the future (could be interpreted as "finding a treat that he'll do anything for").

I do think the more kitty struggles for that BG test, the more the number could go up. Like vet stress, you know?
It helps too if we keep our cool and are as calm as we can be, or they will sense our own nerves too, lol!

I definitely agree on that. Rufus has been an anxious cat for a long time to begin with, but just around the two-week mark of our starting testing he's finally acting like it's no big deal... provided Grammuder isn't around to save him!

Are you offering treats at test time?
That can help enforce good behaviour, if he doesn't bite your finger off :lol:

Have a good day Bee!
You bet we are. He gets at least one little treat for coming to me, and a couple more for being a "good boy" (... even when I get snapped at, lol). It's hard to leave the treats in the vicinity, though; Rufus is intensely food-driven and will make as many escape attempts as he has to to get to them. :lol:

It has been a great day so far, I hope everyone else is able to enjoy it, too.
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75, +11 96 - Dose?

beautiful day. :smile:

will you be home tonight to monitor? And do you have high carb wet food on hand, in case we need it later to steer the cycle?
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75, +11 96 - Dose?

Ok - at +11 we have 96. I'm concerned about dosing at feeding/shooting time - 7pm (give or take a few minutes). Yesterday, when I did a +11-+12 check, he went up by 34. Would that be an acceptable preshot shooting number? (I know, I know, I'm still hugging my PZI dosing security blanket).

I'll check again at 7:15 or thereabouts. It was difficult to get blood from him today/tonight (you might notice that by the lack of color in today's line). Maybe because he was feeling so good?
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75, +11 96 - Dose?

Will do. I just have to keep an eye on the clock now. (Wait too long near dinner time and you can FORGET about having a pleasant testing experience, lol.)
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75, +11 96 - Dose?

Oy vey. I looked at my hard copy sheet and I this morning's Preshot came at 7:10. From about from the +11 (96) to now - what should be the PMPS: 90. Whaa? Meter blip? Or does this kind of thing occasionally happen? :?
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75, +11 96 - Dose?

Edit: Have coffee. Will poke until dawn if I have to.

We don't have the HC food, but we have honey and karo. We can run out and get some, though (nice having a grocery store just about a mile down the road). And Lol, I have a newish bottle of 25, and unopened bottles of 50 and, oddly enough, 10 - sent with my order. Go fig'. We should be good there.
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75, +11 96 - Dose?

Reading back at 96 again. (He dug his claws into my legs when he hopped off my lap, lol. What a passive aggressive cat!)
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75, +11 96 - Dose?

if you're comfortable with 96, yes and then feed hungry kitty
+1 for sure
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75, +11 96 - Dose?

Ok, just to be clear - shoot at 96? If I have the HC on hand, I think I can manage that. I just really want to keep him on at 7/7. He needs to have a regular day.
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75, +11 96 - Dose?

That little booger moved as I was giving him his shot. ohmygod_smile I ran my hands through his fur but, no scent of Lantus detected. He should be ok. I'll test again at around +1 (or within a few minutes of it anyway. I might wait until 9pm to get back to making sense.)
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75, +11 96 - Dose?

How's Rufus doing?

oh by the way, spreadsheet says:

1.5u given at +12.9, 7:55pm

did the stall make you an hour late?

you shoot on a 7am/7pm schedule

can you confirm how much time passed from when you shot and when the 90 was taken?
at what + time?
it's easier if you give us + times instead of your actual clock time (different time zones)
is it going to be difficult to get back to schedule for you?
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75, +11 96 - Dose?

Hi there. Just tested Rufus at about +1 (9pm), he was 82. What to do?

And to answer questions. I should be able to work back to regular easily enough. Would adjusting between the 30min. be acceptable, or should I go smaller than that? I can delay tomorrow's AMshot by however long I need to and just wiggle my way back into place like that day by day.

The latter half of my chart reads like this:
+12.4: 90 (7:15)
+12.8: 96 (7: 48)
+12.9: food+shot (7:55)

I don't know if that clears things up for you - but if you have a clearer way of displaying that on my SS I'd like to hear it, those asterisks are a little confusing to me, too.
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75, +11 96 - Dose?

I would feed a couple tsp of low carb food and test again in 30 minutes. Let's try to get Rufus up onto his surfboard. :mrgreen:

What I would do about schedule is test at +11.5 tomorrow, and if he's high, go ahead and shoot. Most likely he'll bounce from today's green and will be high enough to shoot early. Then you can make up the other 1/2 hour fifteen minutes at a time.
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75, +11 96 - Dose?

oh, and your spreadsheet looks fine to me. I did mine a different way, which some other people do. Click on Lucy's spreadsheet to see. Pick whatever works for you.
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75, +11 96 - Dose?

Rufus would probably be happy to eat a little more of his regular food.

And by 11.5 you mean AM right? (I'm a rather fastidious creature when you give me room to wiggle, lol) That schedule sounds pretty easy to stick to. (Must. Get. New. Alarm clock... or find the one I lost.)
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus AMPS 171, +6 75, +11 96 - Dose?

Tch. I wouldn't put it past him. He's a puckish little (*cough*) thing. But if anything he probably would have put it back... set to an earlier waking time so he could shorten the wait between feedings. Pig. :roll:
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus PMPS 96, +1 82, +2 54

Will test again at +2.5. Rufus is handling the holding/poking very well. Big stuff for a cat that doesn't like being held.
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus PMPS 96, +1 82, +2 54

now you can HC. Give him 2 tsp of gravy and retest in 15 minutes. Congrats, Rufus earned a dose reduction!
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus PMPS 96, +1 82, +2 54, +2.6 40

We certainly don't have any appetite problems here! 2 tsps of FF with Gravy very eagerly downed (in fact, I was spoon feeding him and he nearly tried to eat that with the food!) Testing again at +3.
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus PMPS 96, +1 82, +2 54, +2.6 40

LOL, they always LOVE the gravy. That's one reason why it's such a great thing to have around.
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus PMPS 96, +1 82, +2 54, +2.6 40

good. :smile: I would give a couple more tsp of the HC food here and check in 1/2 hour. His numbers might bobble up and down for a few hours so we need to keep an eye on him for a little longer.
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus PMPS 96, +1 82, +2 54, +2.6 40

That shouldn't be a problem. Mr. Cooperative is eyeballing the FF at the very moment. Might as well indulge his fantasies. :lol: +3.5 will do.

Edit: Make that a +3.75 test.
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus PMPS 96, +1 82, +2 54, +2.6 40

yay! How about a couple tsp of low carb now, or if he's used to getting a bedtime snack go ahead and give it now. It would be good to get at least one more rising test before bed. As I said before, his numbers could wobble around until nadir, so we want to get him high enough that it will be ok if he decides to drop a little more.
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus PMPS 96, +1 82, +2 54, +2.6 40

Ok! He just took off at a gallop and began running around the house. I bet I can draw him out with the promise of food, though. Do you have a recommended testing time? +4.5 maybe? That seems good. And for the morning - even if he's bouncy - we try out 1.25, if I've been paying attention, right?
 
Re: 8/14 Rufus PMPS 96, +1 82, +2 54, +2.6 40

+4.5 sounds good. Great that he's running around!

In the morning, yes, reduce to 1.25. Remember that if you want to move his shot time earlier to make up for the delay tonight, test at +11.5 and if he's already bouncing, you can shoot early.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top