8/14 Pumbaa AMPS/104 +1/113 +3/89 - Overlap Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Pumbaa is perplexing me, because lately, instead of having a nadir mid-cycle, he'll just keep dropping throughout the cycle, then his lowest number is actually the PS number of the next cycle.

He did that the AM cycle on 8/10, the PM cycle on 8/11, and the PM cycle last night.

Is this caused by overlap? If not, does that mean that his nadirs are frequently at +12? Does it mean his shed is too full? What would cause this continual drop in numbers throughout the cycle instead of having a mid-cycle nadir? I'm confused.

Suze
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
Looks like a nice *safe* green surf today. dancing_cat
Yes, and I'd love to see him break his own previous record of 17 hours straight in the *safe* greens. (Without me giving him a BCS dose in the process. Hahahaha!) And I'm absolutely tickled that he came back so quickly from that skipped shot.

As for the nadir...it's just weird when he goes straight down from a high to a low number.
 
He's clearing his bounces on those cycles. Gracie did this ALL the time on lantus. What will be interesting to see is his +12 tonight. He looks like he cleared last night and he's been flat
all day today (beautiful)!! If he has a lower +12 tonight, it could very well be a late nadir for this cycle.

But the other cycles you mentioned....he was bounce clearing and that can result in it looking like there is a late or no nadir.

He is doing SO much better!!!!
 
Marje:

Thank you! Here I am thinking of all of these weird reasons for the steady drops, and it was simply due to clearing a bounce. ohmygod_smile Hahahahaha! Can't see the forest for the trees sometimes.

I am just tickled that he's back to good steady low numbers so soon after the BCS and skipped shot! And I'm assuming that he's doing this without having the 2.50U dose in his shed.

I'm hoping for steady high greens again tonight, and then tomorrow during the day he has my permission to drop down to 49 and earn another dose reduction. ;) (As if he'll do what I want him to do at my convenience.) haha_smiley

Suze
 
Dale:
Thank you! Unfortunately, Pumbaa went up to the 200s and decided to cruise there for a while. I took advantage of it and actually got about 6 hours of sleep last night! :)
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
So the yellow surf was Pumbaa's idea.

Sad to say it's actually an improvement for Chip.

Pumbaa and Chip have GOT to stop texting each other! *LOL* And it must have been Chip's idea 'cause Pumbaa followed him.

Where did Chip's nice greens and blues go??????
 
Pumbaa said:
Where did Chip's nice greens and blues go??????
It's kind of like they never existed. Seriously they are apparently like a drive-by Doppler effect from a "confused" depot. Don't quote me on that one. But more likely to be a bad omen of some other things, than a real breakthrough.

I think the evidence is beginning to confirm there was nothing seriously wrong with the first pen.

Let's hope and pray Chip's biggest problem is only Pumbaa controlling his mind and/or whispering in his ear. ;-)


So Pumbaa's nice safe surf is almost perfect, but it looks to me like he's either earned an increase (since he drifted over 200 more than once) or the last reduction didn't hold?

Code:
If peak blood glucose concentration > 200mg/dL (11 mmol/L)    Immediately increase insulin dose to last effective dose

You probably have a few more days to decide since I don't think you are quite to "Phase out insulin slowly?" @-)
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
Let's hope and pray Chip's biggest problem is only Pumbaa controlling his mind and/or whispering in his ear. ;-))
*LOL* Don't forget, I think it was Chip who convinced Pumbaa to go yellow! But they do have to stop texting each other. The similarities in the BG numbers can be uncanny at times.

Dale 'n' Chip said:
So Pumbaa's nice safe surf is almost perfect, but it looks to me like he's either earned an increase (since he drifted over 200 more than once) or the last reduction didn't hold?

Code:
If peak blood glucose concentration > 200mg/dL (11 mmol/L)    Immediately increase insulin dose to last effective dose

You probably have a few more days to decide since I don't think you are quite to "Phase out insulin slowly?" @-)
Interesting, but that doesn't take bounces into consideration, and I am assuming that these >200 numbers are his bounce from yesterday's run of greens. Tonight's numbers will tell me a lot, since it looks like he's now on one of his "keep dropping" cycles, and his demeanor has been indicative of this as well. Little ****! *LOL*
 
Hey, here's the bright side -- he's below the average renal threshold almost all the time, and he's clearing this bounce, AND you got 6 solid hours! More than I have had in about 15 months. (And my baby slept through the night last night -- 8:30 p.m. to 6:30 a.m. I woke up in a panic when I realized she hadn't cried. I was afraid to go to her crib. So, I made my husband do it. ;-) )
 
Pumbaa said:
Interesting, but that doesn't take bounces into consideration, and I am assuming that these >200 numbers are his bounce from yesterday's run of greens. Tonight's numbers will tell me a lot, since it looks like he's now on one of his "keep dropping" cycles, and his demeanor has been indicative of this as well. Little ****! *LOL*
Isn't the peak usually always influenced by bounce at this stage? I think about the only time to wait on a bounce, is when you really don't know the nadir. Otherwise wouldn't we almost always be waiting, because it isn't always crystal clear?

You don't want to stall the progress.

But you do need to consider how close you can monitor. This dose seems to be pretty safe such a nailbiter. nailbite_smile

(need to use reverse psychology here or spoiler tag to avoid giving Pumbaa ideas...)
 
max&emmasmommie said:
Hey, here's the bright side -- he's below the average renal threshold almost all the time, and he's clearing this bounce, AND you got 6 solid hours! More than I have had in about 15 months. (And my baby slept through the night last night -- 8:30 p.m. to 6:30 a.m. I woke up in a panic when I realized she hadn't cried. I was afraid to go to her crib. So, I made my husband do it. ;-) )
Mommadale:

Yes, I am certainly counting my blessings!

I don't know how old you are, but I'm 55, and my days of being able to pull all-nighters for work/fun/responsibilities/whatever, ended a few years ago. I did way too much of that when I was younger and could just live on air and caffeine. *LOL* I don't bounce back from these all-nighters like I used to. Getting older sucks in some ways, and your body reminds you of it constantly, even when your brain doesn't!

That is EXCELLENT that Emma slept through the night last night!!!!! I understand your fear this morning, but, damn, that will be excellent for you if she continues to sleep through the night! Now if only Max goes OTJ and you don't have to stay up half the night testing him, that would be perfect!!!! My fingers are crossed for you, and that means everyone in your house!

SuZzzzzzze
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
You don't want to stall the progress.

But you do need to consider how close you can monitor. This dose seems to be pretty safe such a nailbiter. nailbite_smile

(need to use reverse psychology here or spoiler tag to avoid giving Pumbaa ideas...)
No, I don't want to stall progress, but I don't want to give dangerous levels of insulin, either.

I think all of the protocols could do a much better job of clarifying that dose increases should not be based on bounce numbers.

Okay, his +3 is 301. I knew I might have to take him back up to 2.50U, and this number tells me that his yellows weren't just his clearing a bounce. :(

We'll see what he does by the AMPS number, 'cause I don't want to lose momentum giving his pancreas time to heal.

SuZzzzzzze
 
I meant 2.5U SK since that worked so well.

In all that excitement the reduction may have been big?

The reductions and increases can be the same increments. That one was safe enough such a white knuckle ride you at least got that nap.
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
I meant 2.5U SK since that worked so well.

In all that excitement the reduction may have been big?

The reductions and increases can be the same increments. That one was safe enough such a white knuckle ride you at least got that nap.
I know you meant the 2.50U dose. :)

Yes, the reduction from 2.50U to 2.25U might have been too drastic, even thought the difference from 2.25U to a skinny 2.50U is like a drop!

I haven't taken into account that a bounce could take 72 hours to clear, and the shed can take 6 cycles to reduce. So many things came into play to affect Pumbaa's numbers today, I'm clueless. Is he now just showing the results of the reduced shed due to the skipped shot 7 cycles ago?

I was so happy yesterday, thinking that he had those greens based on the 2.25U dose, and not on anything previous.

*sigh*
 
No the skipped shot is ancient history now. He's just showing the newly settled shed for 2.25 which didn't hold.

2.5 SK might be just the right amount if he doesn't/didn't lose ground.

Or it might take the full 2.5, which you can try (if you are brave) to repeat the 17 hour surf.

But what you really want to do now is hold that green for as long as possible, not *try* for reductions too soon.
 
I thought I had dosed out a skinny 2.50U this morning, but when I looked again right before injecting, it looked more like 2.25U still, so I counted it as 2.25U. (Who can tell when it's really just a drop different?)

I may go back up to the full 2.50U tonight. I want Pumbaa to break his personal record of 17 hours in the greens. :)
 
Suze

I'd be tempted to take him back up....2.5u if you are able to stay on top of it because it did get him into the 40s not that long ago. You could also just fatten it and see how he does. Depends on how aggressive you want to be and how much testing and possible sleepless nights you want :-D

Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top