8/14 Oscar PMPS 63, +1 61, +2 48, +3 54

Sam & Oscar

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

@Bron and Sheba (GA) thanks for checking in on us, even though our timing is off! To answer your question, I have indeed had a hard time getting him to come back up the last few times it happened and have to give him a lot of high carb +a lil honey. Last night at that 44 I did give him hc, no honey to bring him up before bed.

Since he was 59 this morning I skipped as I knew I needed to be at work for most of the day. Assuming he isn't throwing me 50s at PMPS, I plan to give him some insulin, but I'm not sure if I feel comfortable with the next intended reduction to .75 since I've been having to work to keep him safe.

I guess I'm trying really hard to follow the protocol and take the small reductions but I want him to be safe. Please, lend me your wisdom?
 
I am so far from the expert someone like @Bron and Sheba (GA) is! But here is something I am wondering.... and someone else could correct/clarify/expound..... you’ve had three NS cycles now? Would the depot be drained by now? Once I drained Alice’s depot when she was doing something similar to me, it was kind of normal again and back to her usual small increment decreases.
 
I thought it would have been drained after not having anything Monday, and he went back into blue so I thought we were all set. Then the 1u reduction pulled him right back down and kept him down for 24hrs?? I mean, I'm happy for progress but I also want to do what's best for him and keep him safe.
 
I understand happy fornprogress plus wanting safety. Alice chased over 50% reductions in about one month ish, after her surgery, and that was pretty scary.

I don’t know all your history past and just took a quick look. Hopefully someone else who knows better than I will come by with more advice!

Sometimes some underlying conditions can cause rapid decreases in insulin needs......
 
He is really racing down the dosing ladder!

I think in lieu of no BW in 1.5 years , it’s time. Something is going on for this sudden change .
 
From what I have seen here, the longer a cat can safely stay on insulin and work their way down dose, the better the pancreas heals and the stronger the remission. Of course, there are some reasons a cat suddenly goes off insulin. I remember one really long couple days when Linda’s Scooter went from 5.5 units to zero. He had just had a recent dental and dry food, which Linda thought he wasn’t getting to, got removed from the house. That is one example.

How comfortable are you with shooting low? Note, I cannot stay with you tonight.
 
@Wendy&Neko thanks, that's the same as everything I've read too. I am fully stocked. Just looking at my lowest PS, but also keep telling myself its a lower dose. I'm a lil nervous. o_O
 
He ate all his food and went out to use the bathroom. Went for the .5u and will be getting a +1 as he is now happily chasing a mouse around the house.
 
Start with a test at +1. I’ll will try and circle back in about 29 minutes or so to check on y’all. ( I think that will be around + 1 )
 
The *1 is basically the same number as pre shot. The +2 will be more telling.

Sorry, I was brief before, I’m getting my mom ready for bed. I have my timer on for an hour since the next test. Hope it’s a nice flat green cycle!
 
Gave the rest of his hc+honey at 2.5 so well see if he stays up for the night or we keep on boosting!

So just in case, unless he throws me a high number for his AMPS, I'm going to skip or should I still work down to .25? I do have to be at work tomorrow for an event. And will be going out of town Saturday so thinking I have tomorrow night +Friday for another reducie...but does he even need it?
 
That’s I very good question- I am inclined to say drop .25 in am but with work tomorrow and oot Saturday o_O
Mayby @Sienne and Gabby (GA) will bearound before your shot time in AM :), to give advice.
Hope all goes well for both of you tonight :bighug:... Nelli and I are hittin the rack now :cat: :)
 
Last edited:
It looks to me like his pancreas is trying to take over, and may not need anything at all. I am watching closely for more thoughts. Safety first always stays in my mind. Lows just can't feel good.
My vet talked about going down to one shot in the AM only, to give the pancreas some incentive to take over. But Oscar probably doesn't want any insulin in the morning!

Something I also wonder, is if his younger age could give him a better chance of quicker remission.
 
Something I also wonder, is if his younger age could give him a better chance of quicker remission.

Yeah, I've thought this too, which is why I decided to be aggressive with treatment off the bat. The idea that hes so young and also that he had absolutely no other health issues and all bw was good. I'm not planning to shoot in the am unless I get some strange high number which I don't anticipate. Oscar is super playful and active right now. And I'm heading to bed soon with the thunderstorm and some food out for him to snack on.
 
Either reduce to 0.25u like Wendy suggested or if the numbers are uncomfortable for you to shoot, I'd skip. I'm a bit inclined to suggest skipping so you can empty the depot a bit more. I think Oscar's on a mission -- the good kind!
 
I agree to skip if he’s still a green AM number especially since you won’t be home all day.

This boy is on the fast track train!
 
Back
Top