8-14 OREO AMPS-117 53 +5, 63 6+ , 93 8+ PMPS 121 dose .5 +3 70, +4 66, +5 89, +6 102, +9 141

I just fed him I little more FF gravy lovers. What’s MC? I just stocked up on FF pate for the week and have FF gravy lovers as needed.
Have some honey on hand also


med and high carb food on hand in case he drops too low and you need to bring his BG up to safe numbers

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs




Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good to mark the cans with magic marker
 
Have some honey on hand also


med and high carb food on hand in case he drops too low and you need to bring his BG up to safe numbers

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs




Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good to mark the cans with magic marker

I have karo syrup. Is that ok? I can ge honey if I need too marking the cans good ideas
 
Hi Steven. When Susie gets into the 50s I always try to give medium carb. A fat teaspoon is good. If she falls below 50 :arghh: I will feed some high carb. I desperately try to not let her drop below 50 (on the TR protocol) for a few reasons. First of all, it is not always safeand it can sometimes be hard to bring the glucose numbers up with higher carbs. Also, under 50 requires a reduction in dose which is not always beneficial but will need to be done for safety sake. Also, the really lower glucose readings can cause a kitty to bounce up in glucose numbers. For instance, on 8/10 you got a 46. The next day Oreo saw yellows. We try to level the kitty out so she/he does not experience those bounces. You are getting some good numbers. I look forward to the pros stepping in to help advise you. @Diane Tyler's Mom you are doing a great job trying to help.
I am trying Summer, thank you
 
My
I'm in Florida, too. Merritt Island. There is a chart that can be very helpful in picking the low carb (LC or l/c), medium carb (MC or m/c) and high carb (HC or h/c). I always have a hard time attaching it. I'll look to provide it to you. It will help you to pick the l/c, m/c and h/c Fancy Feast foods to have on hand. Low carb is 0 - 10%, medium carb is 11 - 15% and high carb is 16% and above (I hope I am correct). I'll try to figure out how to send you the link.
I’ll Print this
My mom and sister live there. Moms over by the barge canal and sisters south banana river. I took our RV to jetty park recently. I grew up in port St. John.
 
My

I’ll Print this
My mom and sister live there. Moms over by the barge canal and sisters south banana river. I took our RV to jetty park recently. I grew up in port St. John.
Well, your Mom and sister are right here with me! It is a small world now, isn't it? :D

I grew up in Cocoa Beach but have lived there, in Cocoa and Merritt Island, too. Only about 5 years of my life were outside Brevard County. I went to FSU and lived in Miami, briefly, in the late 70s.
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Hi Sienne I have been trying to help out Steven, he's going to follow SLGS
On Levemir
He reduced already to 0.75 night cycle on 8-12 ,today he's below 90 again , I told him to reduce to 0.5 for the night cycle, is this correct
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
I think you are right, Diane. If Steven is following SLGS he needs to reduce to .50. @Steven Policano did you see this? Can you reduce to .50 tonight? Please let us know when you get this message.
 
Lots of good help today for you Steven, from @Diane Tyler's Mom. I agree with Diane, and I think Bhooma also confirmed in post #44, if you have settled on SLGS then you reduce to 0.5u next shot. I always like drawing up the insulin to a line too :)

For what it is worth, I didn't often find the +2 to be that helpful with Levemir, since as I mentioned before onset tends to be later than Lantus, whereas for Lantus the +2 really does give a good idea of how the cycle will go. I might be inclined to say +4 would be better, but no harm in giving +2 a try and see if there is any significant drop, since Oreo has already shown his numbers are lower by +5. I would say even if the +2 is the same or slightly higher than preshot, I'd still check once more if you can, perhaps a +5 so you can give him a snack if you need to then. My thinking here is that you are still feeding him only meals at am and pm, so once those carbs wear off, he doesn't have anything in his system when the Levemir does kick in.

Nice little cycle today :D, you are doing very well.
 
Lots of good help today for you Steven, from @Diane Tyler's Mom. I agree with Diane, and I think Bhooma also confirmed in post #44, if you have settled on SLGS then you reduce to 0.5u next shot. I always like drawing up the insulin to a line too :)

For what it is worth, I didn't often find the +2 to be that helpful with Levemir, since as I mentioned before onset tends to be later than Lantus, whereas for Lantus the +2 really does give a good idea of how the cycle will go. I might be inclined to say +4 would be better, but no harm in giving +2 a try and see if there is any significant drop, since Oreo has already shown his numbers are lower by +5. I would say even if the +2 is the same or slightly higher than preshot, I'd still check once more if you can, perhaps a +5 so you can give him a snack if you need to then. My thinking here is that you are still feeding him only meals at am and pm, so once those carbs wear off, he doesn't have anything in his system when the Levemir does kick in.

Nice little cycle today :D, you are doing very well.
Thank you so much Christie I was just a little confused when Bhooma said in post #44 to reduce in the morning and not tonight
I told Steven to feed him small meals during each cycle , hopefully he will
Thanks again Christie
@Christie & Maverick
 
Yes, I see, perhaps because Bhooma's morning is our evening? ;)

As you know, Diane, but worth reiterating for Steven, with SLGS when you get a number under 90, you immediately reduce next cycle.
 
Hopefully, you will reduce his dose to .50 tonight. You will need to hold that dose for 7 days unless he drops again below 90. So glad Mr. Oreo hopped on the couch next to you. We will do everything to help you keep him safe and you sane. Good night, Steven. If you have any major questions or concerns you can change your thread title to add the "?" or the "911" if you have an emergency.
 
Did Oreo block? Max did but only once so he didn’t have surgery. A wet diet helped him after I stopped Hills CD. Then when he became diabetic I switched tge higher carb wet to fancy feast pates. The food change is having a big impact for Oreo. He just might become food controlled. Since you so recently switched food I think SLGS is a very good idea.
 
Did Oreo block? Max did but only once so he didn’t have surgery. A wet diet helped him after I stopped Hills CD. Then when he became diabetic I switched tge higher carb wet to fancy feast pates. The food change is having a big impact for Oreo. He just might become food controlled. Since you so recently switched food I think SLGS is a very good idea.
Yes real bad when he was a kitten. Two or more times. He was critical. We have a Max also :). Oh and a blossom, Peanut, pancake and a cockapoo. Instagram @fivecatsandacockapoo
 
Getb a +2 please.

I nearly lost Max. He was about 5 years old. My vet was booked. Am associate pierced his bladder and didn’t tell me. It was a Friday night so she just sent me to the ER. He had emergency surgery the next morning and was hosputalized for a week.
 
Getb a +2 please.

I nearly lost Max. He was about 5 years old. My vet was booked. Am associate pierced his bladder and didn’t tell me. It was a Friday night so she just sent me to the ER. He had emergency surgery the next morning and was hosputalized for a week.

poor guy. My sister just had an emergency with hers. Tried to avoid the surgery and ended up hospitalized too.
 
You want to get him up to around 80 -85
When you get him up to around 80 -85 don't feed test him again in an hour
If he stays up don't feed and test again in an hour to make sure he's safe

Ladies Steven is new at this , am I giving him the correct information
Can you look at his SS and posts, he linked yesterday's to today's
Can you tell him how many carbs to feed and when, and when it's safe to stop testing?
I don't want to give him the wrong info
Thank you

Diane, I tend to find the sticky on handling low numbers the best starting point. https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/

When a kitty is new and the caregiver hasn't got a great feel yet for how the insulin is working and how carb sensitive the kitty is, catching him at 53 at +5 on Lev and giving two teaspoons of MC or gravy was a good plan. While still in safe numbers, there could have been still some time before nadir, so a follow-up test to see what the MC did or didn't do also made sense.

Beyond that, it's not clear to me where your suggestion to get him to 80-85 don't feed and get a test in an hour, then test again in another hour comes from?
 
Diane, I tend to find the sticky on handling low numbers the best starting point. https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/

When a kitty is new and the caregiver hasn't got a great feel yet for how the insulin is working and how carb sensitive the kitty is, catching him at 53 at +5 on Lev and giving two teaspoons of MC or gravy was a good plan. While still in safe numbers, there could have been still some time before nadir, so a follow-up test to see what the MC did or didn't do also made sense.

Beyond that, it's not clear to me where your suggestion to get him to 80-85 don't feed and get a test in an hour, then test again in another hour comes from?

I had tagged members a couple of times #17 and #35 and got no reply, I asked them what would a safe number would be so Steven could stop feeding, but continue to check
I was under the assumption that if you get to a safe number you don't feed , test in an hour, if the BG is still a safe number don't feed , so that would be 2 hours without food and you could stop testing

Can you let me know what the correct procedure is on when you can stop testing?
That's why I tagged others but I guess they were not on
@Christie & Maverick
 
I was under the assumption that if you get to a safe number you don't feed , test in an hour, if the BG is still a safe number don't feed , so that would be 2 hours without food and you could stop testing
[/USER]

Oreo was in safe numbers already, he never dropped under 50

Diane, there isn't really a set procedure it often just depends on how the numbers are trending - is the kitty surfing after a couple of teaspoons of LC food, great! People seem to have forgotten about the fine art of getting a kitty to surf, by feeding a little LC. Or are the numbers rising? and where that occurs in the cycle. Oreo is on Levemir, so the cycles can look a little different than kitties on Lantus. And, as I said, Steven is new to getting a feel for how Levemir is working and how carb sensitive Oreo is, so you have to take that into consideration.

If it were me, I'd rather not offer a generic statement like get him up to 80-85, don't feed, then test again in a hour and test again an hour. Just my 2 cents.
 
Last edited:
Diane, there isn't really a set procedure it often just depends on how the numbers are trending - is the kitty surfing after a couple of teaspoons of LC food, great! People seem to have forgotten about the fine art of getting a kitty to surf, by feeding a little LC. Or are the numbers rising? and where that occurs in the cycle. Oreo is on Levemir, so the cycles can look a little different than kitties on Lantus. And, as I said, Steven is new to getting a feel for how Levemir is working and how carb sensitive Oreo is, so you have to take that into consideration.

If it were me, I'd rather not offer a generic statement like get him up to 80-85, don't feed, then test again in a hour and test again an hour. Just my 2 cents.
OK I understand , I have to admit that even though I have been here a few years I really don't know how many carbs to tell members to feed and when, how long, when they can stop testing. Hopefully the link you posted about how to handle low numbers will help him
@Christie & Maverick
 
Hi Steve, 70 is a bit of a drop of PMPS and Oreo has probably not reached nadir yet. Which flavor of FF gravy lovers do you have? Is it the beef or another kind?
 
Which ever flavor of FF gravy you have, please feed him a small teaspoon of the juice from the can and test again at +4. Since you're on SLGS you need to reduce again by .25 units, so his next dose in the morning, if his preshot test is above 90, is .50 units.
 
Hi Steve, 70 is a bit of a drop of PMPS and Oreo has probably not reached nadir yet. Which flavor of FF gravy lovers do you have? Is it the beef or another kind?
That’s was I was thinking. I have only salmon feast and whitefish tuna lovers. I bought these before I knew of the beef being higher. I do have one can of liver and chicken in gravy it’s not the lovers kinds.
 
It’s not clear on how much of MC you fed earlier today, but that bumped him 10 points. I’d go with 2 teaspoons of MC or if you can squeeze out a tsp of the gravy from the MC to prop him up a little.

I'd also suggest getting a test at +4 to see where Oreo is at and what the MC is doing.

Katherine, he's already on 0.5u, I think you mean reduce to 0.25u
 
I forgot to look at th time when he finished the MC. I’ll test in 15 mins. I know it’s been that. Or should I wait a full hour
 
Lol it might be me and my glasses. Either way, it's a good amount of carbs :)

I see...Grilled in gravy will be 13%, Gravy lovers is 16%

just to make sure I read right. I gave him mostly gravy. Two teaspoons. Just pressed it out of the van with a spoon.
It would be considered HC since it is 16%,

I'd suggest 1 hour from the last test.

Ugh he went down a little more. +4 66
 
Back
Top