I’ll go back. I didn’t even think to look but i see them in the siteWelcome to LLB. I see you mentioned Harbor Freight. While there I would also suggest getting digital calipers. They make dosing stop much more accurate.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/#post-862835
Can't see photo days web page not availableI zoomed in with my smart phone this morning. Here’s the dose he received see the link below
https://photos.app.goo.gl/nynHi8pSJZxCWARM6
I think I made it publicCan't see photo days web page not available
Still can't see it
I would give him 1 teaspoon of the gravy and test in 20-30 minutes againOreo is 53 +5 I will recheck in an hour
I can give him a snack of pate or gravy.
Here’s drop box link. Maybe that will work.Still can't see it
Kind of dark but it looks OKHere’s drop box link. Maybe that will work.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/979f5e224b4n90v/Photo Aug 14, 7 53 01 AM.jpg?dl=0
Ok that’s to me is were i was with the dose.Kind of dark but it looks OK
Here is what Chris showed you yesterday
This is what .75 looks like in a syringe with half unit marks.
![]()
Ok he’s not hungry be he’s interested. I’ll check him in 30 mins either wayI would give him 1 teaspoon of the gravy and test in 20-30 minutes again
@Chris & China (GA)
@Christie & Maverick
Should he reduce again tonight
anytime Oreo drops below 50 (or 90 on SLGS) he should have his dose reduced by .25
See if he will just lick the gravy then , push down on the lid and just get the gravy outOk he’s not hungry be he’s interested. I’ll check him in 30 mins either way
Ok I’ll try that. Stores close running to get other flavors just incase.See if he will just lick the gravy then , push down on the lid and just get the gravy out
You want to get him up to around 80 -85Ok I’ll try that. Stores close running to get other flavors just incase.
So if this is Oreos lowest during the day and it goes back up this is good?
Done. He just ate. I’ll test in a fewSteven when you can add that 53 +5 to your title above
It will say thread tools to the right tap that and hit edit title add the 53 then hit save
You want to get him up to around 80 -85
When you get him up to around 80 -85 don't feed test him again in an hour
If he stays up don't feed and test again in an hour to make sure he's safe
@Marje and Gracie
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Chris & China (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee
Ladies Steven is new at this , am I giving him the correct information
Can you look at his SS and posts, he linked yesterday's to today's
Can you tell him how many carbs to feed and when, and when it's safe to stop testing?
I don't want to give him the wrong info
Thank you
You want to get him up to around 80 -85
When you get him up to around 80 -85 don't feed test him again in an hour
If he stays up don't feed and test again in an hour to make sure he's safe
@Marje and Gracie
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Chris & China (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee
Ladies Steven is new at this , am I giving him the correct information
Can you look at his SS and posts, he linked yesterday's to today's
Can you tell him how many carbs to feed and when, and when it's safe to stop testing?
I don't want to give him the wrong info
Thank you
Looks like 0.75U to me. Is that what he got last night as well? Or you aren't sure?I zoomed in with my smart phone this morning. Here’s the dose he received see the link below
https://photos.app.goo.gl/nynHi8pSJZxCWARM6
Yes that’s I have him last night and the am.Looks like 0.75U to me. Is that what he got last night as well? Or you aren't sure?
Have you picked a dosing protocol to follow between TR and SLGS?
Hi Bhooma, Steven notes on his SS for last nightLooks like 0.75U to me. Is that what he got last night as well? Or you aren't sure?
Have you picked a dosing protocol to follow between TR and SLGS?
Steven I would feed him a little more MC gravy again and check in an hourOreo is 63 6+
@Bandit's MomYes that’s I have him last night and the am.
I don’t really understand the protocols I did see a comment or one was more aggressive than the other. What I am hoping at least start is one of them we can lower dose to keep him from going to low. The weekends are much easier but the weekdays are where I have a problem where I may not have an opportunity to be able to check his blood every 20 and 30 minutes at a low so I want to do something to keep them from getting to that low even if the whole process is gradual. If that makes sense
Yes that’s I have him last night and the am.
I don’t really understand the protocols I did see a comment or one was more aggressive than the other. What I am hoping at least start is one of them we can lower dose to keep him from going to low. The weekends are much easier but the weekdays are where I have a problem where I may not have an opportunity to be able to check his blood every 20 and 30 minutes at a low so I want to do something to keep them from getting to that low even if the whole process is gradual. If that makes sense
@Bandit's MomSLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.
TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.
You could try TR if you are feeding LC wet (and no dry) and if you think that's more testing than you can manage, you can switch to SLGS.
Btw, was there a food change done recently from a higher carb diet to a lower carb one? I haven't been through your first thread on the Main/Health forum. Oreo seems to be doing really well!
Steven you said you are going back to work in the office in JanuaryYes that’s I have him last night and the am.
I don’t really understand the protocols I did see a comment or one was more aggressive than the other. What I am hoping at least start is one of them we can lower dose to keep him from going to low. The weekends are much easier but the weekdays are where I have a problem where I may not have an opportunity to be able to check his blood every 20 and 30 minutes at a low so I want to do something to keep them from getting to that low even if the whole process is gradual. If that makes sense
I will feed some high carb. I desperately try to not let her drop below 50 (on the TR protocol) for a few reasons. First of all, it is not always safeand it can sometimes be hard to bring the glucose numbers up with higher carbs. Also, under 50 requires a reduction in dose which is not always beneficial but will need to be done for safety sake. Also, the really lower glucose readings can cause a kitty to bounce up in glucose numbers. For instance, on 8/10 you got a 46. The next day Oreo saw yellows. We try to level the kitty out so she/he does not experience those bounces. You are getting some good numbers. I look forward to the pros stepping in to help advise you. @Diane Tyler's Mom you are doing a great job trying to help.OK SLGS it is, just add it to your signature and top of your SSI think SLGS will be more manageable for me. At die the food. Up until 8/5 Oreo was getting into the hard food the other cats get Royal Canin SO. I’m sure its high carb. Actually we fed that food do to Oreos history and having perineal urethrostomy surgery.
Since 8/5 after I seeing those high AMs we started the FF pâtés.
Steven you said you are going back to work in the office in January
when you go back to work you can always get an automatic feeder and set times for it to open, we can talk about that down the road
Steven when you read what
@Bandit's Mom explained about the protocols and you pick one please add it to your signature and SS
Thank you Steven, just remember to do a curve after 7 daysok we’re going to do SLGS and I have updated my signature and ss.
Steven I would feed him a little more MC gravy again and check in an hour
Is there a shortcut or a link to the acronyms and the terms that are being used I want to print it as a reference if it’s available
ok. 80-85 being his low end? Am I thinking correctly we would keep his doses as is for a few days and or even maybe slightly decrease.
If you are going with SLGS you will need to reduce with numbers under 90. This might not be best for Oreo if you are able to monitor and test often now. If you are not going back to work until January, and you can test often until then, you might want to pick TR. Oreo is doing very well and the dose is not very high. I would stay with TR because he may be in remission by January when you return to work. I'm looking forward to following your progress.
Ok. Please reduce his dose to 0.50U tomorrow.ok we’re going to do SLGS and I have updated my signature and ss.
Ok. Please reduce his dose to 0.50U tomorrow.
LC - low carb < 10% carbs
MC - medium carb - 10-15% carbs
HC - high carb > 15% carbs
I don't know what you mean by 80-85 being his low end
He fell below 90 again today , so I would reduce his dose again by 0.25
I would shoot 0.5 tonight
I'll tag members to be sure
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
I'm in Florida, too. Merritt Island. There is a chart that can be very helpful in picking the low carb (LC or l/c), medium carb (MC or m/c) and high carb (HC or h/c). I always have a hard time attaching it. I'll look to provide it to you. It will help you to pick the l/c, m/c and h/c Fancy Feast foods to have on hand. Low carb is 0 - 10%, medium carb is 11 - 15% and high carb is 16% and above (I hope I am correct). I'll try to figure out how to send you the link.I am working, but from home. I just have to be very careful managing of “offline time” because our computers shut down after a few minutes. January will be back in the office if Florida can get it together.
Ok don't feed anything now but test him in an hour and postWe’re at 93 now![]()
You are correctI'm in Florida, too. Merritt Island. There is a chart that can be very helpful in picking the low carb (LC or l/c), medium carb (MC or m/c) and high carb (HC or h/c). I always have a hard time attaching it. I'll look to provide it to you. It will help you to pick the l/c, m/c and h/c Fancy Feast foods to have on hand. Low carb is 0 - 10%, medium carb is 11 - 15% and high carb is 16% and above (I hope I am correct). I'll try to figure out how to send you the link.