8/14 Michelangelo AMBG 135, +11/224 PMPS 262 - Dose restart?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

Well, I'd say Michelangelo is going on Day 4 of his otj_icon trial, if it weren't for the fact that the reason why his numbers are so low is because he's not eating enough just yet but his numbers are slowly creeping up as he starts eating more. I know not to get my hopes up because he's most likely a "Type 1," but since not many of feline Type 1s exist, perhaps cats can also achieve remission from Type 1 and not just the "adult-onset" type? I know I said it yesterday that I was expecting his PMPS to be high, but now I have no idea when I'll see his full "recovery" and he gets back to his regular dose.

He's definitely back to beyond his normal self and was even affectionate with me last night! :o He actually climbed on top of me for all of two whole seconds before jumping over me to the back of the couch. (He's never been one for "touching.") This is actually making me consider switching him to Levemir because I wonder if it's the Lantus that makes him his usual grumpy, grouchy self and without it in his system, he's now much more personable.

Any suggestions on what his starting dose should be and when I should start shooting him? At the moment, I've been holding out till he tops 150 and I was planning on staring with .5u if he's under 200 and 1u if he's over. Should I be more conservative and just start over at .5u and hold it at that for 3-6 cycles? His depot has completely drained by this point. I know hypos can often prompt remission, but perhaps does any medical crisis?

Chris & China said:
Did something you tried finally spark his appetite or did he just finally decide you weren't going to leave him alone so it would be easier for him to just eat it himself? :-D (I love that you guys grow your own ...cat grass that is...lol)

All I did was not syringe feed him when he got back from the vet's because the vet said to hold off on food till the next morning. Literally overnight, he just decided he felt well enough to eat again. :-D No pepcid, no clavamox, no fortiflora (which the vet gave me a bunch of free samples of), no roasted chicken, no cat grass, nothing.
 
Re: 8/14 Michelangelo AMBG 135 - Dose restart?

Seems like something *big* must be going on after 3 days without a shot? :shock:

Almost has to be more than lingering depot and lack of food driving these numbers?

KPassa said:
Any suggestions on what his starting dose should be and when I should start shooting him? At the moment, I've been holding out till he tops 150 and I was planning on staring with .5u if he's under 200 and 1u if he's over. Should I be more conservative and just start over at .5u and hold it at that for 3-6 cycles? His depot has completely drained by this point. I know hypos can often prompt remission, but perhaps does any medical crisis?
I think I'd want to run that by Jill and Libby before jumping back in? As long as he is still surfing blue or green. Of course testing for ketones daily or more often whenever you reduce the dose or skip shots like this.

Wonder if food brings the numbers down?

The big crisis is certainly keeping him eating.
 
Re: 8/14 Michelangelo AMBG 135 - Dose restart?

I think he's past the worst of it. I'm still thinking it was a bout of colitis. I'm at work today, so I won't know how much he's eaten today until I get home and test him again in a few hours. He usually doesn't eat much during the day, so I'm not too worried if he doesn't eat much today, especially because I didn't give him a shot this morning. As long as he's eating more tonight, I'll be happy.

All ketone tests have been negative. That was my biggest worry and why I took him into the vet on Saturday instead of waiting to see if it'd pass naturally on its own. But thanks for reminding me that I still haven't gotten a call back about the stool sample they took on Monday. I wonder if they found anything out from it....

Dale 'n' Chip said:
Wonder if food brings the numbers down?

I wish! Then I'd know we might be heading for remission! :-D Unfortunately, his numbers just start creeping higher and higher and higher.
 
Re: 8/14 Michelangelo AMBG 135, +11/224 - Dose restart?

I called the vet and they said his fecal was all clear of anything, so it wasn't parasites or whatever else they test the stool for. :roll:

Should I give him his regular 2.5u or restart from scratch at 1u? Not sure if he's fully up to his usual appetite yet, but these numbers make me think he's there (or nearly there).
 
Re: 8/14 Michelangelo AMBG 135, +11/224 - Dose restart?

Starting from yellow, maybe there is no wrong answer?

If you do shoot more than 1U, monitor even more closely and make sure he eats.

Of course he needs to eat no matter what.
 
Re: 8/14 Michelangelo AMBG 135, +11/224 - Dose restart?

I was reviewing his spreadsheet and on 8/11, I gave him 2u with a 230 pre-shot and even with him not eating, he seemed to maintain that pretty well (with an already reduced depot). I think I'll split the difference and give him 1.5u tonight, but am not sure how long I should wait before raising it further? 3 days or the full 6?
 
Re: 8/14 Michelangelo AMBG 135, +11/224 - Dose restart?

1.5U sounds reasonable for the circumstances.

Then depending on how it goes, you could hold that dose until you can get in the full guru consult. ;-)
 
Re: 8/14 Michelangelo AMBG 135, +11/224 PMPS 262 - Dose rest

Well, he's certainly climbed high in an hour. 1.5u it is!
 
Re: 8/14 Michelangelo AMBG 135, +11/224 PMPS 262 - Dose rest

in response to kay's PM:

i agree with dale. 1.5u does sound reasonable under the circumstances. if i were in your shoes, i'd hold the dose while collecting as much data as you possibly can... unless michelangelo's numbers tell you otherwise. if necessary, you could always fast-track him back up the dosing scale as his appetite returns to normal.

see how things go...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top