8/14 Huey AMPS 155 PMPS 145 +2 131, feeding time feedback?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy & Huey

Member Since 2014
Hi all, it's been a while since I last posted. I woke up a couple weeks ago at on Friday thinking it was Saturday and somehow haven't seemed to manage to catch up since...

I think Huey's been doing alright but I wanted to check in and get some feedback about some changes the last couple weeks. Also I think in not posting regularly, I've gotten laxer about skipping and shooting off schedule and testing, and I want to try to tighten things up again.

The two big things that happened are I switched Huey from the Evo Chicken/Turkey to Wellness Chicken & Herring and Turkey & Salmon, and I borrowed a cat feeder from a friend to try out. The +9 snacks to lower his PSs worked so well when I managed to be home/get up in time to do it I wanted to see if being fed more often would make a difference but I don't think I have the hang of timing his meals yet. The feeder can only be set in increments of two hours so it's usually a +8 snack instead of a +9, and on the occasions I try to set out a snack for the morning, I think he has been eating it too close to AMPS time. Is this why his numbers have been a bit higher the last few days? If anyone who uses a feeder during the day has any advise, I'd LOVE to hear it!

Thanks all!

Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122314
 
Re: 8/14 Huey AMPS 155 PMPS 145 +2 131, feeding time feedbac

Hi Nancy:

I'm not an expert, but looking at your spreadsheet, I think the biggest problem is the inconsistency of dosing. In order to get Huey regulated, you need to be shooting the same amount twice a day, 12 hours apart. I see a lot of skipped doses and blank PS test cells. His numbers are pretty good, but they would be a lot better if he was getting his insulin on a consistent schedule. I don't know what your own schedule is like, but if possible, you need to get his regimented. He's so close to being OTJ, it seems a shame not to make the effort and get him there.

In answer to your question, yes, getting his snack too close to his PS test can raise his BG. I don't know what kind of feeder you're using, but most modern ones will allow you to set whatever increments you need (I have some ancient ones that are less user friendly, so maybe that's what you're dealing with). If your choices are a +8 or a +10, I'd go with the +8.

As I said, I am not expert. Hopefully someone with more knowledge and experience will see your question and give you some better guidance. I wish you luck getting Huey regulated. I do think it's very doable, with the right plan.
 
Re: 8/14 Huey AMPS 155 PMPS 145 +2 131, feeding time feedbac

Tricia has a point but I look at it a little differently. I'm not recalling why you skip especially if you don't have a pre-test number -- unless, of course, you're not home. However, skipping had an effect on the insulin depot ant that may be what you're seeing when you're skipping more than once with only a few cycles between.

FWIW, the feeder I use doesn't have a digital timer and I can only set it in 2 hour increments. If you time when you set the timer (e.g., if you set the time at at +3, then you'll be able to set it for +9 vs. setting it at +2 when you'll only be able to set the timer for even numbered times.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top