8/14 howuch tonight? I increased .25 this AM now too low to shoot?

EarthyCarbonCookie

Member Since 2020
Carl has been on Lantus since July 10, 2021. We started out low and now he’s been at 3u and riding in the low to mid 200s. I bumped him this morning to 3.25U and now he's too low to shoot. Was 135 two hours pre-meal, i fed him and retested and now +2 he's at 149.

I know I need to give him some insulin, maybe .5u?

This wobbly numbers stuff is confusing. I don't know if I'm doing something wrong. He did have pancreatitis in June, could that still have an effect?

He eats friskies pate, freeze dried chicken on top and has access to zero young again but he hasn't eaten any in two weeks. I give it to the dogs at the end of the day. He takes spells where he will eat it, that's why I offer it.

Thanks
 
Hi there, here is your last post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/carl-spiked-to-576-new-to-lantus.249954/#post-2819530

With SLGS, any number above 90 is ok to shoot. 135 and 149 are perfectly safe numbers to shoot. If you skip shots, the cat will only go higher and it gets harder to get them back into lower numbers. A certain amount of glucose toxicity might have set in and you will need to keep increasing dosing and giving shots consistently to break through that.

When a cat sees lower numbers and then shoots up to higher ones, we call that bouncing. "Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."

The best way to prevent bouncing is to test often and feed the cat higher carb food when they are dropping really fast, say 100 points in 2 hours. That requires testing every two hours, particularly in the 6 hours after a shot, for you to know what is going on.
 
I don’t see any mid cycle tests to see how low he’s going. That’s how lantus is dosed, based upon how low it takes your cat. With SLGS a curve should be down every 7 days spot. Heck’s in between are helpful.
 
Hi there, here is your last post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/carl-spiked-to-576-new-to-lantus.249954/#post-2819530

With SLGS, any number above 90 is ok to shoot. 135 and 149 are perfectly safe numbers to shoot. If you skip shots, the cat will only go higher and it gets harder to get them back into lower numbers. A certain amount of glucose toxicity might have set in and you will need to keep increasing dosing and giving shots consistently to break through that.

When a cat sees lower numbers and then shoots up to higher ones, we call that bouncing. "Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."

The best way to prevent bouncing is to test often and feed the cat higher carb food when they are dropping really fast, say 100 points in 2 hours. That requires testing every two hours, particularly in the 6 hours after a shot, for you to know what is going on.

The normal 3.25 dose now is ok?

(I haven't been able to do a curve due to illness and trying to work enough to keep things running. I bumped him a litt
 
I don’t see any mid cycle tests to see how low he’s going. That’s how lantus is dosed, based upon how low it takes your cat. With SLGS a curve should be down every 7 days spot. Heck’s in between are helpful.
Hi there, here is your last post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/carl-spiked-to-576-new-to-lantus.249954/#post-2819530

With SLGS, any number above 90 is ok to shoot. 135 and 149 are perfectly safe numbers to shoot. If you skip shots, the cat will only go higher and it gets harder to get them back into lower numbers. A certain amount of glucose toxicity might have set in and you will need to keep increasing dosing and giving shots consistently to break through that.

When a cat sees lower numbers and then shoots up to higher ones, we call that bouncing. "Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."

The best way to prevent bouncing is to test often and feed the cat higher carb food when they are dropping really fast, say 100 points in 2 hours. That requires testing every two hours, particularly in the 6 hours after a shot, for you to know what is going on.


Will I have to reset the time of day I give insulin since it is now 2.5 hours beyond the time I normally dose?
 
Only if you are able to test a lot between now and +6, and have plenty of strips and medium and high carb food on hand. Sorry, didn't realize you were sick. If you can't handle a potential low number situation, skipping is probably prudent.
 
Only if you are able to test a lot between now and +6, and have plenty of strips and medium and high carb food on hand. Sorry, didn't realize you were sick. If you can't handle a potential low number situation, skipping is probably prudent.


Thank you. I'm perpetually unwell. This has all been very difficult to manage.

I have gravy food and Karo on hand but I need to rest tonight so I can test tomorrow. I will skip the dose. Thank you for your advice. I appreciate you all.
 
Back
Top