8/14 Harley PMPS 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Harley is starting a sunny day in the yellow...yeah. Hope it stays. Have to leave for a couple of hours but leaving a bit of food for him.

Pattie

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=49871
 
Re: 8/14 Harley AMPS 235

That's a very nice yellow this morning! Keep up the excellent work, Harley! There's plenty of room for you in the blue room. :) Have a great day, guys!
 
Re: 8/14 Harley AMPS 235, 46/+4.5 - question

Harley has dropped nicely - I have fed 0.5 oz FF as snack. Do I use a bit of MC to have him coast or let him fall to the 40 for a dose reduction tonight?

pattie
 
Re: 8/14 Harley AMPS 235, 46/+4.5 - question

I would feed a bit and see if that stops the drop. You really should always feed the 40s this early in the cycle, especially because Harley likes to nadir late.
 
Re: 8/14 Harley AMPS 235, 46/+4.5 - question

ok, makes sense. Will feed when he comes back. He is sitting in the flower garden watching a chipmunk. I told him - no friends in the house today.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/14 Harley is surfin greens - question

Harley is surfin greens today. 45-56 over last couple hours. Question - I have not let him fall to exactly 40 because then he might go too far into the 30's. Would someone look at his ss and let me know, does he still get a dose decrease tonight. If not, then maybe I should not let him surf but fall.

pattie
 
Re: 8/14 Harley is surfin greens - question

not sure, pattie, but just wanted to stop by and cheer harley's great numbers!

is harley considered long-term diabetic? if not, then less than 50 usually causes the dose decrease. or there's the second option in the protocol that's 3 times under 50, if you want to go that route.
 
Re: 8/14 Harley is surfin greens - question

Harley is long term - almost 3 years but he is IAA positive. Because of that, 40 is considered the dose change number.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/14 Harley +8/43

Waiting for the lovely number 40 so I can do a dose decrease tonight. He is surfing nicely today - green. Test in 30 minutes to see if he earns it.

pattie
 
Re: 8/14 Harley +8/43

it's not as if 40 is some magic number that means "reduce." It's not that if he's 41 you can't reduce but 39 you can, the 40 is just a signal that he may be ready for a reduction. 43 can be the same signal, if the spreadsheet overall looks like it is time for a reduction. Look at Harley's spreadsheet and see what you think. Does he usually hold reductions if you reduce in the mid-40s? Or do his reductions often fail? That will tell you whether he is ready for a reduction rather than artificially trying to get some magic number. I don't recommend withholding food from a cat in the 40s unless it is the very end of his cycle and you are waiting for him to rise to shoot.

Incidentally, the opposite often applies here too. We have several people here who feed their cats' curves so aggressively that it is almost impossible for their cats to ever get to 40-50. In those cases, people might have to decide to reduce based on how hard they are having to work to keep the numbers up.

One thing I've been thinking about with Harley is that maybe, because he bounces so hard and so long, you might want to try shooting into the bounce a little bit. Sometimes you have shot the old/higher dose in the next cycle after a low number because you know he'll be bouncing and that extra juice might help hold the bounce a bit lower. Since Harley's bounces are usually more than one cycle, you might even be able to shoot two cycles of the old dose. You would have to be able to monitor that second cycle just in case he does start to clear the bounce early and start to drop. Shooting into bounces isn't a beginner technique for sure, but you have lots of data on Harley and he is a hard bouncer. Just a thought.
 
Re: 8/14 Harley +8/43

OHHH - I though 40 was THE number. Today, I think Harley deserves a dose decrease. I definately want him above the 40 mark - dipping lower produces too hard of a bounce.

Libby, I have wondered the same thing about shooting into the bounce. I think I have asked that question but no one has a concrete answer. To me it makes sense. Keep the old dose until he clears to bounce and then reduce. I have only 5 minutes left until test time. If he is closer to 40 - he gets the reduction.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/14 Harley +8.5/38

Harley will definitely get his decrease tonight unless he bounces. MC food given now. Will retest and see what he does.

Pattie
 
Harley is slowly going up and I did shoot the full 3.25 (dose decrease) I have made up some MC food for tonight just in case. Yeah! My baby is going down in units...you cannot imagine how excited I am tonight. He very definitely earned this decrease.

Fed him .4oz LC FF & 0.7oz raw chix. I will test often tonight to make sure he does not fall too much.

Pattie
 
Pattie:

I think you need to read Libby's post carefully.
Libby & Lucy said:
Since Harley's bounces are usually more than one cycle, you might even be able to shoot two cycles of the old dose. You would have to be able to monitor that second cycle just in case he does start to clear the bounce early and start to drop. Shooting into bounces isn't a beginner technique for sure, but you have lots of data on Harley and he is a hard bouncer. Just a thought.
And you replied:
Pattie & Harley said:
Keep the old dose until he clears to bounce and then reduce.
Libby didn't say shoot until he clears the bounce.

It makes sense to shoot through the bounce for more than one cycle. BUT, you need to be able to monitor carefully due to the cumulative nature of how Lantus works. If you're continuing to shoot the "old" dose and the bounce breaks, Harley's numbers could plummet. You'll also need to figure in whether you'll be home to monitor. If it's been more than one cycle and you can't monitor, I'd err on the side of safety.
 
Ok Sienne..I understand now. I guess I read it wrong. That does make more sense. Thank you. Tonight Harley is doing well. I did do a reduction to the 3.25 and he is holding pretty steady - +1/74. Will test again and if he falls, I might do a bit of MC to hold him.

Pattie
 
Well well, I see Mr.. Harley has waved goodbye to 3.5! ! ! How cool is that! :mrgreen:

What a fabulous cycle today! And some serious shooting tonight...I wonder how long he will go before his next bounce...

I think with Harley right now , if he gets into the mid forties it's a pretty sure thing he's headed for the 30's... It's probably better not to let him go any lower, it may help soften the bounce.
 
Congratulations on another dosecrease Harley, and Patti!
You are doing so well with him :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top