8/14 Copernicus AMPS=410 +6=436

Krista & Copernicus

Member Since 2026
PP

His BGs literally go up after I give him insulin. Huh? My boy's little body isn't going to be able to take much more of these high numbers and swings. Did you know we are going on 5 months of him being high. The damage it's doing to his organs. He seems so depressed and just acts dumpy. This was the exact dose he went hypo on not one, but two hospitals. Still one of life's mysteries. The vets want me to hold doses for 5-7 days. I feel like I'm failing him. No dose has been right. The 255 he had on 8/13 was after subq fluids. I scroll this group and see all the cats have good numbers and I feel happy for everyone else, but sad for Copernicus.
 
((hugs)) to you and Copernicus. I keep you both in my thoughts and prayers. I wish there was a handbook, “to achieve this, do this…” it’s the hardest part about FD I think, all the ups and downs and gray areas and not always knowing the best move or decision to make. I admire the lengths you go to for your sweet boy, I know he feels just how much you love him. ❤️‍🩹🍃🍃
 
I’m so sorry, Krista 🫂 You’re doing everything you can for your sweet boy. Like Elizabeth said, I wish there were some predictable methods and ways to manage this finicky FD. It plays with your emotions so much, especially with a hard to regulate kitty and then when you layer on multiple other conditions, like you and Copernicus are dealing with. Keep going and remember to take care of yourself too 💕🍃🤗
 
No way I would hold this dose 5-7 days. You test enough to know he's not hiding any lows. You could increase right away, and by 2 units. You want to get him closer to 18/19 units where he really started to move last time.

Right now the poor boy is bouncing from the 255 he saw yesterday, hence the wobbly numbers today.
I scroll this group and see all the cats have good numbers and I feel happy for everyone else, but sad for Copernicus.
:bighug: :bighug: That was me years ago, but I was sad for Neko until I found the dose that moved her.
 
No way I would hold this dose 5-7 days. You test enough to know he's not hiding any lows. You could increase right away, and by 2 units. You want to get him closer to 18/19 units where he really started to move last time.

Right now the poor boy is bouncing from the 255 he saw yesterday, hence the wobbly numbers today.

:bighug: :bighug: That was me years ago, but I was sad for Neko until I found the dose that moved her.
So you don't thinks it's possible he is going low during a period I am not testing him and then his cortisol is making him bounce back up to high?. That is what the vets suggested could be happening.
 
So you don't thinks it's possible he is going low during a period I am not testing him and then his cortisol is making him bounce back up to high?
Nope, not with the testing I see. You have some 3 hours gaps during the cycle, but that's not long enough for him to dive down then back up again. You have some longer testing gaps in the last half of the cycle, but insulin effect is typically fading then, so he's be going up, not down. You can see later nadirs if he's breaking a bounce, but then you'd see lower preshots.
 
Did the increased numbers in any way correlate to ending the antibiotics?

I fought the kidney battle with Tubby as well as stubbornly high BG numbers. One of the theories was that he was harboring a kidney infection which can take an extra long course of antibiotics to clear, so the IM vet put him on a long course of broad spectrum AB’s just in case. I know most vets don’t want to prescribe AB’s without a confirmed diagnisis (and for good reason) but given the totality of the circumstances, Tubby’s vet was willing to give it a try. Sometimes it’s not clear based solely on bloodwork that there is an infection.

The low numbers while hospitalized are interesting. Assuming then didn’t accidentally use u-40 syringes (which it sounds is unlikely), then I wonder about lack of food or the impact of IV fluids and resolving dehydration. The only other thing I can think of is the impact of stress — for some cats (Tubby included), stress seemed to lower his BG. Weird, right?

Are stools still normal consistency and frequency? Constipation can sometimes impact BG.
 
Did the increased numbers in any way correlate to ending the antibiotics?

I fought the kidney battle with Tubby as well as stubbornly high BG numbers. One of the theories was that he was harboring a kidney infection which can take an extra long course of antibiotics to clear, so the IM vet put him on a long course of broad spectrum AB’s just in case. I know most vets don’t want to prescribe AB’s without a confirmed diagnisis (and for good reason) but given the totality of the circumstances, Tubby’s vet was willing to give it a try. Sometimes it’s not clear based solely on bloodwork that there is an infection.

The low numbers while hospitalized are interesting. Assuming then didn’t accidentally use u-40 syringes (which it sounds is unlikely), then I wonder about lack of food or the impact of IV fluids and resolving dehydration. The only other thing I can think of is the impact of stress — for some cats (Tubby included), stress seemed to lower his BG. Weird, right?

Are stools still normal consistency and frequency? Constipation can sometimes impact BG.
They do feed him less frequently in the ER. They want me to feed him every 6 hours. But I don't because his ketones start to go up. And I know fluids dilute his BGs because I've seen it at home with subq but only a little. He's had previous hospital stays when the stress has increased his BGs. This all happened before his antibiotics.
 
Back
Top