8/14 Clare PMPS282;+3-93;+4-60;+4.5-54;+5-46;+5.5-43;+6-57

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Earlier post today: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123544

This is the second shot at the higher dose. Summary of today:

AMPS 389

+5 469

+ 10 307

PMPS 282

+ 3 93

+4 60

+4.5 54

+5 46

+5.5 43

+6 57

+6.5 69

+7 100

+8 107

Laura and Marje, thanks so much for your help! We won't feed her again until after we test her in an hour. Tomorrow morning we'll go back to the lower 0.25 dose.

Thank you!
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS 282 +3 93

Hi Georgette, when did you last feed Claire - how much and what % carb?
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS 282 +3 93

Clare has been free-feeding since her last shot. From what we can tell she has eaten about half a small can. We have another cat in the house so it's hard to tell. She gets 5% or less carb food and she has just now had a bit more of that (1/8 can or so) and some small pieces of plain grilled chicken.
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS 282 +3 93

I would test in 30 minutes. 93 is not too low but that's quite a drop @ +3. Do you have a higher carb food, something with gravy (JIC)? We don't want to fill her up too early. Gravy is a great way to get her up if we need to (without filling her up).

ETA: Because of the huge drop, you'll need to keep monitoring her until she's stopped dropping and is safely above 50. Have you seen the sticky on dealing with low numbers (viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147)?
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS 282 +3 93 +4 60

For easy reference, here's an excerpt from the sticky:

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.


DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS 282 +3 93 +4 60

We have Gravy Lovers and she had about 1/2 tsp but doesn't much like it anymore. Our good girl has taken to a low-carb diet. Could I give her a few shavings of aged Parmesan? She really likes that.
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS 282 +3 93 +4 60

Georgette and Clare said:
We have Gravy Lovers and she had about 1/2 tsp but doesn't much like it anymore. Our good girl has taken to a low-carb diet. Could I give her a few shavings of aged Parmesan? She really likes that.

I think the Parmesan is used more like an enticement, so if you mean on top of the gravy from the Gravy Lovers, yes that would be fine. Remember, we don't want to fill her up too early in case we need her to eat later to get her BG up.
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS 282 +3 93 +4 60

Could you test her 30 minutes after her last meal to see where she's at?

BTW - I see you already had a condo started for today. It's best to just keep adding to your AM post as opposed to starting a new one at night. We want to keep it to one condo per day. Additionally, it's helpful to those giving advice to see what has happened throughout the day.
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS 282; +3 93; +4 60; +4.5 54

Laura,
Thanks for helping us and for the advice about the messages. Is there anything that I should be doing now to combine the messages?

As far as feeding Clare some food now, she doesn't seem to be very interested in the gravy from the Gravy Lovers. Can I try a small piece of chicken with some corn syrup on it?

Am I overreacting now, since she hasn't gone below 50? I'm new to the low numbers and they make me nervous, but from reading the posts on the Board I know I need to et comfortable with them.

Am I wrong in thinking that we should try to keep Clare on a regular day/night feeding schedule? The time in the last few days that Clare went to low numbers it was when she hadn't eaten her usual amount of food.

So to follow Julie's advice, should We go back to the 0.25 dose and keep Clare's feeding schedule, and monitor those numbers for 10 cycles before considering increasing the dose? I want to get it right.

Thanks for your help.
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS 282; +3 93; +4 60; +4.5 54; +5 46

We're testing each half hour and then giving her a little food after each test. Is that okay?
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS 282; +3 93; +4 60; +4.5 54; +5 46

I'd give her a good 2 tsp of the gravy lovers food and retest in 30 mins. She's getting close to mid cycle and hopefully just the food will bring her up.

PS. It's ok to take the 911 down. You've got eyes here. We won't leave you :-D
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS 282; +3 93; +4 60; +4.5 54

Georgette and Clare said:
Laura,
Thanks for helping us and for the advice about the messages. Is there anything that I should be doing now to combine the messages? You could add a link from the other condo to this one, and vice versa. In tomorrow's condo, you should include the link to this condo (and also today's AM condo if you like). Going forward, just adopt the "1 condo a day" practice.

As far as feeding Clare some food now, she doesn't seem to be very interested in the gravy from the Gravy Lovers. Can I try a small piece of chicken with some corn syrup on it? Follow Marje's advice. Remember, you'll want to see 2 rising numbers, and steady numbers 2 hours after her last meal before you can be assured she's safe.

Am I overreacting now, since she hasn't gone below 50? I'm new to the low numbers and they make me nervous, but from reading the posts on the Board I know I need to et comfortable with them. No, you are not overreacting. Gravy and syrup wear off quickly and Lantus typically peaks at +6 (but ECID, so it could be later than that). You need to be diligent (please study the sticky I referred you to).

Am I wrong in thinking that we should try to keep Clare on a regular day/night feeding schedule? The time in the last few days that Clare went to low numbers it was when she hadn't eaten her usual amount of food. Regular schedules are best actually. Of course, if BG's need to be brought up, you feed off schedule if needed.

So to follow Julie's advice, should We go back to the 0.25 dose and keep Clare's feeding schedule, and monitor those numbers for 10 cycles before considering increasing the dose? I want to get it right. I don't typically give dosing advice but I agree with Julie that you should go back to the 0.25. How long you hold it will depend on how she does. I'd recommend you post for advice before making adjustments.

Thanks for your help.
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS 282;+3 93;+4 60;+4.5 54;+5 46;+5.5 4

Good...she's slowed down. Did you give her two tsp of the gravy lovers food? If so, I'd give her two more and retest in 30 mins.
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS 282;+3 93;+4 60;+4.5 54;+5 46;+5.5 4

Hi Marje,

Yes, we gave her the two teaspoons, with some pieces of old cheese in them and a small piece of grilled chicken for interest. We gave them just after the last test. We'll be testing again in a few minutes and we'll give her some more of the same. I'm remembering that it's mainly the gravy that we want to give her, right? We're giving mostly the gravy with the cheese and chicken mixed in, to help her like it.
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS 282;+3 93;+4 60;+4.5 54;+5 46;+5.5 4

I like to alternate gravy and then food. Giving food will help to keep the numbers up instead of them coming back down after the gravy wears off. We don't want her to get too full and that's the other reason we alternate instead of feeding food time after time.

Doing ok? I'll be looking for the next number.
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS282;+3-93;+4-60;+4.5-54;+5-46;+5.5-43;+6-

Hi Laura and Marje,

Thanks to you both -- so much -- for hanging in there with us tonight. I'm glad that the last number was up but I know it's not time to go to bed. Clare didn't eat much of the last food we put out for her. We didn't realize that she'd gone off of liking Gravy Lover's. What else can we try? We have some more pieces of plain chicken and beef (cooked) but not much else that's high carb. Temptations treats?
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS282;+3-93;+4-60;+4.5-54;+5-46;+5.5-43;+6-

Glad to see Clare back up above 50. I'll be signing off now Georgette. You're in great hands with Marje - she's the best. Hope Clare stays safe for you.
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS282;+3-93;+4-60;+4.5-54;+5-46;+5.5-43;+6-

We used to have a member that would give her cat one or two temptations. Since she's earned a reduction you can do that. Or you can try her regular food. It would be nice to get one more test and see how much she is up...if she is still rising, you could take a break and test agin in an hour to see where she is.

Just to confirm, I'd take her back to 0.25u. If she bounces way back up, you can shoot through the bounce in the morning with 0.5u and then reduce tomorrow night or you can just take the reduction in the morning.
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS282;+3-93;+4-60;+4.5-54;+5-46;+5.5-43;+6-

Georgette

If you can, I'd love to see one more test 30 mins after the last food or treat. If she's up, you can give her a break for an hour. But you need two, non food influenced rising numbers before I'd recommend you stop testing for the night. We want to be sure she doesn't come back down.
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS282;+3-93;+4-60;+4.5-54;+5-46;+5.5-43;+6-

+6.5 is 69.

Marje, we really appreciate your being there to help us! We'll keep feeding and testing Clare each hour and will post the new numbers on the first message in this condo (I can't seem to fit them all in the title window.)

Tomorrow morning we'll go back to the 0.25 dose. I guess we didn't have all of our facts together before we did the increase. We'll ask first if in the future we think we should make a change in the dose.
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS282;+3-93;+4-60;+4.5-54;+5-46;+5.5-43;+6-

Hi Marje,
I just saw your last note about testing after her last food. She hasn't had anything to eat since just after the last test. So we'll test now at +7 and then again at +8 to make sure that her numbers (hopefully rising) aren't being influenced by the food.

Thank you, Guardian Angel!

Georgette
 
Re: 8/14 Clare PMPS282;+3-93;+4-60;+4.5-54;+5-46;+5.5-43;+6-

That's perfect!!! You did a great job :-D :-D I was very happy to help.

Good luck with the reduction and I hope you get some sleep tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top