8/14 Clare AMPS 389 Increased dose to 0.5 u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123193

Another condo posted later today: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123551

Clare's been in the pinks since: (1) we switched to the ReliOn Confirm glucometer from the Freestyle Lite, (2) we got her on regular small meals during the night with a timed feeder (which momma bean still has to wake up and show her to make sure she eats what's in it cat(2)_steam ), and (3) she's been gaining back weight.

So we increased her dose today to 0.5. Hoping this is the one. We'll be following the protocol more closely from here on out.

Hoping for a nice gentle slide, Clare!
 
Hi Georgette, i'd encourage you to hold off on dose increases unless you have at least 6 consecutive cycles with both a preshot test and a minimum of 1 test midcycle in each of those 6 prior cycles. Life can make that hard sometimes, so just hold off increasing until you have at least 6 in a row. That way you can be confident that she actually needs more.

I don't know how to copy and paste from my Nook, which is what I'm using tonight., but if you look at the protocol page, you will see it says when your cat begins to see green numbers (50-100) you should hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing. Claire had 7 cycles since the 77 on 8/10 before you increased tonight. If she were mine, I'd go back to the 0.25u and keep it there for 10 cycles, starting counting consecutive cycles after you reduce it back to 0.25u. I think it is possible she had some lower numbers since 8/10.

Lantus dosing is based upon how low the dose gets the cat to, so to some extent you ignore the highs. Remember the preshots are typically the highest points during the cycle.

Are you feeding her much after +5?

Did you look at punkin's ss when we changed from the freestyle to the relion? I think it was Jan 20ish 2012. Suddenly you have high numbers that are really disconcerting. That's part of what you are seeing.

There is so much to learn with this. Hang in there! I promise it really does get easier. Keep asking questions! :-D
 
Julie,

I will need help tonight, to see Clare through safely, and will go back to 0.25 tomorrow. In an earlier email I thought that I was hearing an okay to go ahead with the higher dose. We've been at 0.25 for awhile with some pretty high numbers; but I guess it's the low numbers that count most.

I hope I haven't made a bad mistake.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top