8/14 China AMPS 237,+2.6 307,+7 192,PMPS 216,+3 221 Increase

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterdays condo

Well, after thinking on it most of yesterday, I went ahead and increased China back up to 1u...hopefully it'll work better for her and start bringing her down into some nice healing numbers for a change. The higher numbers don't bother me as much as the knowledge that to increase the possibility of healing in her pancreas, 200-400's just isn't going to do it

Had no intention of staying up all night, but was too tired to sleep so got a few later tests in..even though I know she wasn't going anywhere near the lagoon

Thanks to all my visitors to my condo yesterday. I needed the emotional support more than I can possibly tell you. It was one of those days. Going to really try and do nothing today and rest and eat....and then take a nap...and snack....and snooze.....Hoping China will do a nice gentle surf for mommabean, but I guess we'll just have to see

Hope everyone has a great Humpday! And enjoy Nikki's OTJ party!!! We'll be along later!!

8/13
AMPS 292
+3.5 161
+7.5 106

PMPS 397
+3 379
+6 332
+8 302

8/14

AMPS 237
+2.6 307
 
Re: 8/14 China AMPS 237,+2.6 307..increased to 1 unit

Come on, China! Let's hope this dose increase sends her pleasantly into greens for you. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/14 China AMPS 237,+2.6 307..increased to 1 unit

You're not going to see the effects of the increase to the 1U dose for a bit. China is doing her typical bouncing and needs time to recover from that.
 
Re: 8/14 China AMPS 237,+2.6 307..increased to 1 unit

If it's New Dose Wonkiness, it can even take around 3 days or so before you start seeing lower BGs. So put on a clean pair of those patience pants! :lol:
 
Re: 8/14 China AMPS 237,+2.6 307,+7 192..increased to 1 unit

Thanks Kay and Deb....I don't expect miracles today...or even tomorrow, but I do hope to start seeing some greens by Friday or Saturday...I'd rather she drop slowly but deliberately than to come down all at once anyway..of course if she did, she'd just bounce back up and we'd start all over again with the waiting game.

Hey China!! Just a hint....China isn't supposed to BOUNCE!! :-D

8/14

AMPS 237
+2.6 307
+7 192
 
Re: 8/14 China AMPS 237,+2.6 307,+7 192..increased to 1 unit

Hey Chris.

Looks like China and Onyx must be bouncing on the same jungle-gym today. I'm getting dizzy--how about you? lol

You want some of my wine?

:smile:
 
Re: 8/14 China AMPS 237,+2.6 307,+7 192..increased to 1 unit

Are we dizzy from bouncing or liquor?...LOL

WHEEEEEEE


hahaha...well it started out from the bounce, but perhaps it continues from the wine. :-D
 
Re: 8/14 China AMPS 237,+2.6 307,+7 192..increased to 1 unit

Chris & China said:
... I went ahead and increased China back up to 1u...hopefully it'll work better for her and start bringing her down into some nice healing numbers for a change. The higher numbers don't bother me as much as the knowledge that to increase the possibility of healing in her pancreas, 200-400's just isn't going to do it...
Hi Chris--for what it's worth, I believe I should of been more aggressive the first few months' of Gobbles dx--I was just a BCS and didn't want to find him dead in the morning if I gave him an increase :lol: Gobbles was the King of Bounce for a while. It seems to me that when I got a little more aggressive with dose increases and put him in those beautiful, healing numbers, he was on the OTJ Yellow Brick Road... I know you did the right thing giving China 1 unit....just keep testing and following the Protocol--you really are doing an amazing job! You are really working hard, keeping a thorough SS and I applaud you! The only thing I can think of asking: what was China's weight at dx? What is her ideal weight? I see that on 8/7 she weighed 10.6--unless I missed it (and I may have!), I don't see any other weights noted. At some point in time, I started to weigh Gobbles very regularly (I still do, in fact). It's not a big deal, just something I got into the habit of doing. I never owned a scale until I started weighing him :lol: I picked up a cheap digital scale at Wallyworld for about $20.
 
Re: 8/14 China AMPS 237,+2.6 307,+7 192..increased to 1 unit

First two lines on the SS...5/10/13...Dx and 8.8lbs....by the time I'd found a vet willing to listen and work with us on 6/5 she was down to 8.5lbs....Her idea weight is about 11-11.5, so when she'd gained a little over 2lbs in 2 months since starting on the Lantus (from 8.5 to 10.6 on 8/7) I was through the roof with delight!

When we started this adventure, her Body Condition Score was only a 2 out of 10....On 8/7 she was at about a 5 and looking so much better! At Dx, she looked and felt more like a breathing skeleton, her coat was awful and she was drinking and peeing like crazy. She'd stopped preening, and had really started acting like an "Old cat"...at first, that's what I had figured was going on..she was just getting old and slowing down.

Within a short time, I noticed her preening again (I remember noticing it and then realizing I hadn't seen her preen in forever so it was a big deal) and then the drinking/peeing really reduced. She began acting like her "old self" too....talking more (she had always been a big talker...the Siamese in her) but had gone quiet, and was spending more time playing...chasing imaginary bugs was always one of her favorites, so the first time in ages when she came tearing through the house, and leaped into the air to catch her "Prize", I knew we were definitely on the right track!

I'm trying to fit a scale into the budget, but my total income is only $710/month, and the electric and phone company got skipped to afford the Lantus and the supplies...I'm still trying to catch up with those and trying to figure out how I'm going to afford a dental with extractions that's going to be at least $300 :cry:
 
Re: 8/14 China AMPS 237,+2.6 307,+7 192..increased to 1 unit

Hi Chris! Good luck with the increase, and I hope you get some rest in. I know what you mean about too tired to sleep! Hopefully China comes down nicely for you!
 
Re: 8/14 China AMPS 237,+2.6 307,+7 192,PMPS 216 Increased d

Hi Chris,
Good luck with the increase!
China, work that joooooce!
 
Re: 8/14 China AMPS 237,+2.6 307,+7 192,PMPS 216,+3 221 Incr

Thanks for all the visits and encouragement today everyone! I felt it was the right decision to go ahead and increase her since there hadn't been any greens in almost a week..and too few blues (and most of them were high)

Hopefully, we'll start to see some of those pretty healing numbers soon!

AMPS 237
+2.6 307
+7 192

PMPS 216
+3 221
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top