8/14 Checkers .PM 231 no food/no shot/sick

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22288
last night'
359 pmps
318 +1
127 +3
86 +5
154 +6


Checkers is sick to his stomach this morning. Ate only about a teaspoon of breffis, if that.
I overslept, and was half hour late with shot and breffis, so he may have eaten some last nite's before I got up

I shot the full 1.5... Tested at +3, and he hasn't plummeted, so I guess it was okay

He puked a bit of white foam, and I gave a teasp. of hairball stuff. He went back under bed after +3 test.
 
Re: 8/14 Checkers amps 338.-more vetty smell

Here's our day.

-Tiny breffis
-AMPS 338
-Shot half hour late, 1.5
-Threw up bile @+2
-Stayed under bed until I got him out at+3
-268/+3

No food..no water...no LB, all day
-stayed under bed
-Nudged him out with broom, for second time, at 3PM...threw up bile again..
-BG 131 at +7
-Went back under bed.
-Brought him back out to examine him and he layed on bed in whatever position I put him in.....eyes fully dilated.

Called vet clinic, knowing doc would have to call back, but they were there for another emergency, and said to bring him right in.
Checks was quiet on drive in, usually whines the whole way.
Bladder/ abdomen, palpated. nothing unusual.
No fever
Peed in carrier, so doc doc got a fresh sample, to look for blood and whatever. Obviously it wasn't sterile, but his symptoms didn't indicate UTI.
Asked about temp of house.....no it's not hot. Lots of questions, and still was baffled.
Seems Checkers had an "off" morning??

If he hadn't acted like he was about to go unconsious, I would not have been so upset.
Before I took him in, his bg was 131....at clinic it was 159, so it wasn't hypo.

Doc said no shot tonight. He can have food if he wants, but better to let his GI tract rest.
At least now, he is on top of bed, not under it. Small victory :smile:
So, no party for him tonight!
 
Re: 8/14 Checkers amps 338.-more vetty smell

Wow, that's kinda scary Barb - I hope Checkers is feeling better! It's so nerve-wracking when you can tell they don't feel good but they can't tell you what's going on. Hang in there!
 
Re: 8/14 Checkers amps 338.-more vetty smell

Hi

oh my goodness, your day turned into something scary there.

I have no suggestions on what could be up with Checkers,
but I would like to suggest a ketones check between now and morning or so.
Just a thought thou.

How are you feeling?
 
Re: 8/14 Checkers amps 338.-more vetty smell

did the vet do an x-ray of his abdomen? Did they do bloodwork? I also suggest asking them to run the fPLI or SpecPLI to check for pancreatitis. Those have to be sent out separately from the other bloodwork, did they mention that?

I agree with Ronnie, with a sick cat not eating and not getting insulin, you'll definitely need to check for ketones. If you see anything on the ketone strip, straight back to the vet. OK?
 
Re: 8/14 Checkers amps 338.-more vetty smell

Did the vet recommend anything to settle Checker's stomach?

Is there any chance he got into anything? Quite a few years ago, Gabby was vomiting bile. She had eaten dental floss and required abdominal surgery to remove it. An abdominal X-ray may help.
 
Re: 8/14 Checkers amps 338.-more vetty smell

How is he now? Any idea what it could have been? Did they check to see if he is dehydrated or anything?
Worried about him...I know you are too...update when you can.
 
Re: 8/14 Checkers amps 338.-more vetty smell

Vet checked for ketones. Urine was fine.
No abdominal x-ray. Checkers was perked up, by the time he got vet checked.
I mentioned med to settle stomach, but didn't want to medicate, not knowing for sure why vomiting.
Sienne, it sounded like hairball acking. I too was thinking dental floss.

Ronnie, I have no ketone strips, so can't check tonight.

Libby, pancreatitis wasn't brought up. He vomited small amounts of bile both times. No diarrhea. No abdominal pain.
He just had lab work done, 3 days ago, and got a clean bill of health, so this is something new.
This clinic has 24 hour emergency care, and vet is always available. I will be watching carefully tonight.
Doc said to keep testing, of course, even without shot.

Just checked; he is 231 with no food in him I am going to try to get him to eat a little. Vet said to let his tummy rest, but I'd like to see him eat a little, anyway.
Well, he just refused a little tuna, his favorite. Will try again later.

Thank you All.
 
Barb -

If the vomiting persists and you think this is from dental floss, it's really serious. Dental floss can strangle or perforate the intestines.
 
Sienne, I didn't mean to imply that he was still vomiting. It was twice, this morning. I am always worried about things like string, floss, etc, so that was the first thing I thought of.
He has been sleeping for a while. I'm so nervous. Checkers never gets sick. Well, except for the diabetes.
I must be annoying him by hovering. He just got up and moved to a different spot on the bed. :-D At least he's alert.
 
awwww poor checkers ... I hope you feel better soon little man .. it is no fun being sick, especially on a night when there was going to be a party!
 
Barb, I'm sorry Checkers is sick! It would be so much easier if he could just tell you what was wrong. Hopefully, it's a hairball and he will get it out of his system soon! Feel better Checkers!
 
Feel better Checkers!!!

One time Savannah had a "Fever of an Unknown Origin", they called it an FUO (kept thinking of UFO) she was better in 24 hours, a nice scare though. Sometimes things just work themselves out.

Keep us posted!
dd
 
oh my what a day for you. I hope he perks up soon, and his appetite returns. I wish I could offer advice, but I think you've gotten some goods pointers already. Keep a good watch. Feel better checkers, OK? ANd I hope you are doing OK too.
 
awwwww ((((((barb)))))) ((((((checkers)))))
Poor guy. :sad: Poor you! :YMSIGH:

I think the suggestion of a pancreatitis test is very reasonable, if you see this continuing in the next 24hrs. Was all the other blood work you did a few days ago good? Or are you still waiting on it?

Have you given some baby food a try? Gerbers meat only (chicken, turkey, ham are often the popular ones with kitties). You can spoon feed, or put right next to him. Try and get something in him, if he will keep it down or it might cause more white/foamy vomit (from an empty tummy). Treats are always a good thing at a time like this. Or, mmmmmmm....rotissare chicken (the meat, not skin) ;-)

I hope he starts feeling better and you can be less worried. Will be thinking of you!

(oh - Latte was always one to 'perk' up as soon as she got to the vet, making me into a liar :roll: )
 
Barb, I hope that by now (almost midnight) whatever it is has cleared up. Poor Checkers! Poor Barb--what a day you had. If he ate dental floss and it starts to emerge in his poop, don't try to pull the floss out! Go back to the vet. Floss is sharp and you don't want to injure the lining of his intestine. (This is all just precaution. He probably just has a food-related 24-hour thing. But I thought I'd mention it since it happened to a friend's cat.)
Stu wants Checkers to know that all the kitties are sending healing vines and that they hope he feels A-OK tomorrow.

Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top