8/14 Checkers AMPS 247, +2 261, +4 139, +9 85, PMPS 252, +2 221, +5 74

Chris and Checkers

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-254-2-239-5-162-8-122-pmps-247-2-275.267096/

So Checkers went on a road trip and is now with my sister in law. I fed him some mc I the morning before giving him a sedative, acepromazine for his car ride. He was okay on the ride, though he threw up. I think he needs an anti-nausea medication from his trip home. He is going to the vet tomorrow to get his CGM, but my sil seems to be managing fine with manual testing.

He dipped into green in the am cycle, but he vomited.
 
If your SIL can manage even 4 tests day - 2 preshots and 2 mid cycle - you needn't bother with a Libre. It reads much lower at normal numbers.
Have a great trip. How long are you gone for? 2 weeks?
 
I am just away 5 days, Thursday to Tuesday. My sil will have him until Aug 31 though. Checkers used to be her cat up until 3 years ago so she really misses him.

I told her to give 1u of insulin, is that okay or should she give a lower dose (isn't what is usually done for a vacation dose?). I will be in contact with her except the 5 days of my vacation.

I noticed his +5 is 74.
 
If she can test as much as she is testing now, she can hold the dose. Just remind her to feed him every hour for the first 4 hours of the cycle to slow the drops.

How did he come to be with you?
 
Back
Top