? 8/14 Cargo AMPS 68/67/61

Mel and Cargo

Member Since 2020
Good morning all!

It's been a while since I've posted because Cargo is humming along fine. He's a long term diabetic. After bouncing for years I finally read about food manipulation and WOW what a difference! No more massive bounces! Cargo's cycle seems to currently be low in the mornings. I have been delaying and retesting and as long as he has been rising I have been feeding MC AM meals and jabbing a slightly lower dose. But this has ended up with a higher PMPS and cycle. So I'm hoping experienced eyes can tell me what to do today - because today's cycle is a little more extreme. AM cycle keeps getting lower despite delaying. I finally fed MC and decided not to shoot. However I'm sure I'll get a big bounce in the PM. I guess I just want to confirm I did the right thing, or should I have done something different?

Thank you!

Melinda
 
Hi Mel! Here's your last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-1-cargo-amps-135-189-3-5-224-5.248087/#post-2798376

Those high numbers could also be from the different doses he's getting all the time and the depot is uneven. I would try to stick with one dose for at least 6 cycles, even if you are on SLGS. With SLGS you're not supposed to change doses sooner than every 7 days. Maybe try 1 unit for a while and see if that keeps him steadier, and revisit it in a week to see if he needs to go back up again. Keeping him higher for a while is better than him dipping low when you're not around.
 
Hi Katherine!

First of all, how do you find previous posts? What is this magic? LOL!

Ok, so you think maybe the 1.5 is too high and now that I'm finally getting him more stable with the extra meals that I should go to a lower dose and start from there?
 
If you are following SLGS, you need to take an immediate 0.25u reduction when Cargo goes under 90, and you do also want to make sure to hold the reduced dose for a week, unless Cargo gets another under 90 in any cycle in that time period, in which case you reduce again. You only increase after holding a given dose for a week if nadirs are over 150. With SLGS it is also not recommended to shoot a number under 90.

I'm a bit confused by your note on the SS about reductions at 75. If you are custom dosing, that's fine, but you should change that on your SS and in your signature, just so others understand that you aren't following SLGS, you are custom dosing. If you are using 75 as a reduction point, the thought process of holding the dose for a week is still recommended. And, looks like you've missed taking a few reductions if 75 is indeed your reduction point.

For clarity, there is no new dose wonkiness when you decrease a dose, and NDW, if it occurs, would be within 2-3 days after an increase.

I'd suggest you try 1u and hold that for a week, unless he drops under either 90 (if you are still following SLGS) or if you are custom dosing, under 75 as you noted in your SS.
 
Hi Christie,

Yes, I guess I am doing custom dosing because we've had too many failed reductions with both TR and SLGS so I've been holding the dose until I feel it's proven itself. I'll change that on my SS and signature. But I think you're right,it's time to reduce. I'm going to try 1.25 consistently and see how that goes. I have a few more days off so I'll be around to monitor and that was the dose I had my cat sitter giving so it'll remain consistent when I go back to work.

Thank you both for your advice!
 
You're welcome, Mel :)

I'm not sure I see Cargo having troubles holding reductions. More recently, the quick dose adjustments up and down really haven't given you a chance to see what a particular dose can do, and disrupts the depot. I think my only additional comment in terms of your reduction number would be to follow through if he does drop under 75. Otherwise, it ends up just being an arbitrary, meaningless number if you don't.
 
Back
Top