8/14 Beenie AMPS 264, 289 +2 DOSE INCREASE ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beenie (GA)

Member Since 2017
Yesterday : http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-13-beenie-amps-128-145-1-174-2-160-5-133-7.182182/

Mornin'!!:coffee:

@Wendy&Neko , @Sandy and Black Kitty , @Tuxedo Mom @Bronx's dad
I have a question about increasing the dose. If I follow protocol I wait 8-10 cycles and I would ideally like to increase tomorrow morning (will have had 10 cycles then) but I just had a bounce. Do I wait 6 more cycles for it to clear? Also on high dose kitties is is still standard to increase .25 U? Or are the increase .5U?

  • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing. -YES

  • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing. -YES one nadir at 98
Thanks!!!
 
Good morn Michelle :coffee: Protocol says hold the dose from that green on 8/12 for 10 cycles. The others you tagged are far more experienced than I and let's see what they say but I would think hold the dose for a few more days to see if 12u gets you get green again.

Once you hit 10u, increases/decreases can be in whole units.
 
Last edited:
As far as the dosing goes a high dose kitty is different than a "regular" FD kitty. With the dose level you are at dose increases are done by 0.5 or 1.0 unit increments. However since I personally have no experience with high dosing I would wait for the more experienced members, who you have already tagged to respond.
 
Wendy told me long ago with high dose kitties it can be easier to think of increases in percentages, not units. A low dose cat, a .25u increase might be 10% or more. With beenie, a .25u increase would be a much smaller percentage. That is where the larger increases come from. Personally, I would give it a few cycles to see which way she goes, either more blues or more yellows. Let's see what the veterans think and go from there.
 
Good morn Michelle :coffee: Protocol says hold the dose from that green on 8/12 for 10 cycles. The others you tagged are far more experienced than me and let's see what they say but I would think hold the dose for a few more days to see if 12u gets you get green again.

Once we hit 10u, increases/decreases can be in whole units.
Ah thanks for explaining. Wasn't thinking about when we saw the green, just when we started.

As far as dose increases, did I miss that in the stickie? I saw the note on decreasing for high dose kitties but not increasing so I wasn't sure. Of course it makes sense that on such a high dose .25 isn't much.

Sounds like you all feel we should wait and I will see what Wendy and Sandy say when they chime in. Not knowing what condition Beenie has, if any, I want to stay on top of breaking any resistance if possible.

Thanks!!
 
As far as the dosing goes a high dose kitty is different than a "regular" FD kitty. With the dose level you are at dose increases are done by 0.5 or 1.0 unit increments. However since I personally have no experience with high dosing I would wait for the more experienced members, who you have already tagged to respond.
I thought dosing was different but couldn't find it so I wasn't too sure. Thanks Mary Ann :)
 
Wendy told me long ago with high dose kitties it can be easier to think of increases in percentages, not units. A low dose cat, a .25u increase might be 10% or more. With beenie, a .25u increase would be a much smaller percentage. That is where the larger increases come from. Personally, I would give it a few cycles to see which way she goes, either more blues or more yellows. Let's see what the veterans think and go from there.
I'm thinking you're right. Let's see if we get back to blues and perhaps a green before uping the dose. Curious what Wendy and Sandy think but this all makes sense to me.
Thanks Wes!
 
Looking good :cool:

When working with Acro and/or IAA , it's important to remember that each of these high dose conditions has unique variables that are unpredictable yet can and do have an impact on BG. It's another, additional layer of considerations that HD caregivers must keep front of mind when deciding how to best proceed.

IHMO being that Beenie is new to Lantus and new to Blues and Greens, I would try for holding 10 cycles since the green. However I would re-evaluate this dose if you don't see green after another couple cycles.

That's my $0.02. Lets see what @Wendy&Neko thinks.


 
Looking good :cool:

When working with Acro and/or IAA , it's important to remember that each of these high dose conditions has unique variables that are unpredictable yet can and do have an impact on BG. It's another, additional layer of considerations that HD caregivers must keep front of mind when deciding how to best proceed.

IHMO being that Beenie is new to Lantus and new to Blues and Greens, I would try for holding 10 cycles since the green. However I would re-evaluate this dose if you don't see green after another couple cycles.

That's my $0.02. Lets see what @Wendy&Neko thinks.


Good advice. I wish I had increased sooner after my greens faded away. Now he's up up up and away.
 
That's my $0.02. Lets see what @Wendy&Neko thinks.
Sorry to be late to the party - out hauling boat motors again. :rolleyes: I pretty much agree with Sandy.

I would hold this dose at least six cycles after that sweet little green. Good catch by the way. :D Since Mr. Greenie has not visited Beenie before, there's a good chance she'll bounce, perhaps as much as six cycles. Let's see where she lands when the bounce is over, soonest would be Wednesday. She might yet have room for a bit of an increase if all she does is very high 90s, but let's let Beenie take the lead in this dance for now.
As far as dose increases, did I miss that in the stickie?
No you didn't. The TR protocol is from the German Diabetes Katzen forum. Apparently they seldom get kitties higher than 10 units in dose, so our suggestions on dosing larger dosed cats is based on years of experience.
 
I would hold this dose at least six cycles after that sweet little green. Good catch by the way. :D Since Mr. Greenie has not visited Beenie before, there's a good chance she'll bounce, perhaps as much as six cycles. Let's see where she lands when the bounce is over, soonest would be Wednesday. She might yet have room for a bit of an increase if all she does is very high 90s, but let's let Beenie take the lead in this dance for now.
Thanks Wendy! Let's see where the next few cycles takes us:)
Appreciate everyone's input. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top