8/13 Walter AMPS 103, +2 113 , +4 121, +7 120/ Mandarin AMPS 293, +4 291, +7 338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Our Caturday started with one reducie and one dosecrease. Walter decided to make it crystal clear that he was done with this dose when he dropped into the 30s last night. :eek: I decided that that would warrant HC food + syrup. I am amazed that he is already coming back down after all those carbs. Since I am going to visit my friend Connie tomorrow (I'll be gone for about 36 hours), I went with a reduction to 1.5 Us (from 2) to keep him safe while the pet-sitter is taking care of him.

Meanwhile, Mandarin got another dosecrease. My pet-sitter has never even been able to touch him, so I won't even attempt to work out an Insulin routine. He will still get his regular shot tonight and tomorrow morning and I will take off shortly after the boys' AMPS. Mandarin will miss his next two shots, but I will be back for his Monday night dose. Not ideal, but for my own sanity, that's the best I can do.

Iris's vet appointment was pretty miserable. The "swabs" had to go deep into her throat and into her eye... and she had a lot to say about that plan. They eventually got the samples they needed, but not without Iris drawing some blood. Just glad that I didn't have to hold her and that I could be the good guy who rescued her from the mean vetty. Seconds after scratching up the vet, she was purring and rubbing on my face. We should have the results next week and I sure hope that they can finally figure out a treatment plan.

My heart goes out to Serryn, after the loss of sweet Vyktor. And sending lots more vetty vines for Harvey and crossing fingers for good results.
 
Congrats on the reducie for Walter. I don't blame you for taking a bigger reduction to keep him safe. I know it's not ideal for Mandarin to miss some shots, but he'll be okay. I'm glad you're going to visit your friend. You need to do that for yourself.

Poor Iris. I hope the tests give you some answers. Sending prayers.
 
Good work Walter and smart to take a larger reducie so you can enjoy the weekend. Mandarin will be Ok. No one could ever take care of Doodles either, not even DH. Poor little Iris and hope there is a proper diagnosis with a simple treatment plan. Extra scritches for all your babies. :bighug::bighug:
 
Good plan for your mini getaway. Back when Polly was on 10 Units, I remember a stretch of fur shots. More than once, two in a row. Mandarin will do just fine. And Walter is sure chewing up the reductions! Rock on.

Poor Iris. Poor vetty! Let's hope the swabs tell a tale and something can help her.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Walter is sure chewing up the reductions! Rock on.

I am really impressed with his numbers lately! I was almost certain that he would bounce to the moon today after he dipped so low last night - but instead he is enjoying a beach day. :cool:

...I just wish that Mandarin would follow his example. I wish today was just a case of NDW, but it's basically identical to any other cycle. :blackeye:
 
Way to go Walter! (Except it sounds like a PJ party for you!)

I can't blame you for skipping shots with Mandarin while you are gone to keep him safe.

Iris, you really are a feisty one! I hope the report comes back that will be easily fixable. How is Flora doing?
 
How is Flora doing?

She still has diarrhea, not quite as liquid, but far from normal. She is on Florastor now and that seems to have helped a little bit. The shelter vet's only other recommendation is to cage her and put her on a diet of cooked chicken, but I just can't imagine that that would be a complete and balanced diet for a growing kitten. And I would just feel horrible separating her from her siblings. At this point, I will give the probiotics a few more days to work and then I will figure out if I should just take her to my vet and see if she has other suggestions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top