8/13 Templeton PMBG 45 +.5 79, +1 51 +2 45 +2.5 72 +3.5 96

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by smorgasbord, Aug 13, 2021.

  1. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
  2. Scdal

    Scdal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2020
    That's the way it works. I believe our cats are psychic. They go low, low, low so mama won't go,go, go. My cat does the same thing.
     
    smorgasbord likes this.
  3. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    Meanwhile, when you're exhausted, and want to lounge on the couch all day with them, that's when they run high.
     
  4. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Hi Joey, you want to give HC when T. is below 50.

    This diving shows what a powerful drug insulin is.
     
    smorgasbord likes this.
  5. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    Ok thanks. I'll do that now.
     
  6. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    I screwed up. He's on a way earlier shot schedule now (5 hours earlier) and I forgot to take away his food 2hr prior. He was SCREAMING 20 minutes before his PMPS, I gave him food not even thinking. 20 minutes later, he's 45.
    What do I do?
     
  7. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
  8. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    Today's numbers as a refresher:
    AMPS 403 +2 332 +5.5 99 +6.5 62 +7.4 46 +8 91 +9 104 +10.5 92 PMPS 45
     
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    What did you feed him? It would have been fine to feed a teaspoon of lc and retest. Sounds like he got a whole meal. I’m going to look at your ss.
     
  10. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Looks like he has a really full depot. He was screaming because of the low bg.
     
  11. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    I added some water to some LC and he had about ~2 tbs.
     
  12. Liz & Minnie

    Liz & Minnie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    TEMPLETON!!!
     
  13. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    I updated and posted stalling, then fed him HC about 16 minutes later. Yes, I know I'm supposed to not feed and retest, but I've shot as low as 51 and I can be up all night to keep him safe. But 45 20 minutes after food? I couldn't wait any longer to feed him after getting a 45.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  14. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    :( At least I have a bat AND a jackal looking at my SS.
     
    Liz & Minnie likes this.
  15. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Have you got another test since the 45?
     
  16. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
  17. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    He has 2tbsp of LC and then tested 45 after 20 mins, right? Ate anything at that 45?
     
  18. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    just got 79
     
  19. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    And how much behind schedule are you? I don't think you should shoot yet. You might have another crazy night like 2 nights back
     
  20. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    I updated and posted stalling, then fed him HC about 16 minutes after getting the 45. Now he's 79.
     
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Did you feed hc too?
     
  22. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    He was due 30 minutes ago. I can stall as long as needed.
     
  23. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    This is after HC at 45?
     
  24. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    With hc I would not shoot until it wears off.
     
    smorgasbord likes this.
  25. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    I updated and posted stalling, then fed him HC about 16 minutes after getting the 45. Now he's 79.
     
  26. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    Correct. 20 minutes after HC.
     
  27. Liz & Minnie

    Liz & Minnie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    I've had to refer to this sticky several times recently when Minnie's had low PS numbers, towards the bottom (and I copied here below) Sticky Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers. Maybe you've already been looking at this but I know every time I read it, it STILL feels counter-intuitive to me because we have it drummed in to give higher carb with lower numbers!
    • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
      • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
      • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
        • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
    • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

    Good luck with tonight's cycle, I feel your stress!!!
     
  28. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Ok. Got it. I agree with @tiffmaxee . Don't shoot right now. Let's see if he zooms at some point. Or its just another skip.

    Test in 30 mins.
     
    smorgasbord and tiffmaxee like this.
  29. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    Whoah, thank you so much. We got to this low PS business so fast I never absorbed/looked at that part.
    Thank you!
     
  30. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    Ok, I'll test in 30.

    So, in future, little bit of LC in the 40s at PS? Anything else I did wrong?
     
  31. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    When it happens you either stall and test n 20 or feed just a teaspoon of lc and test in 20. You would have been fine if it was lc.
     
  32. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    Crazy. Ok, thank you. Not going to make that mistake again woof!
     
  33. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You mentioned that you changed your shot time by 5 hours. Do you have it where you want it?
     
  34. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    Not at this point. I'd like to be in bed right after his +4. So shooting at 7pm is good, knowing that there is some inevitable creep later...
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  35. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
  36. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Would you like to skip so that you can start in the morning at 7:00?
     
  37. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I would feed a meal and skip. Then you can shoot at 7:00.
     
    smorgasbord likes this.
  38. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    For our sanity and safety, I think so. I'm not comfortable giving a normal dose even if I wait 2 hours after the HC wears off so maybe a skip is best.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  39. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    Awesome, he really wants food.
    Thanks for sticking around to help :)
     
    Liz & Minnie likes this.
  40. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Your welcome. His depot is full and he needs to eat. I predict it won’t set him back.
     
    smorgasbord likes this.
  41. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Oh and keep testing until you are sure he will stay up. Just feed lc.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  42. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    Good reminder, thanks! Watch me just pass out.
     
  43. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The adrenaline from that 45 should keep you up for awhile, lol. :bighug:
     
    smorgasbord and Bandit's Mom like this.
  44. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Just seeing this. Good idea to skip. See if he stays up with LC since you are skipping. Might not from the looks of things.
     
    smorgasbord likes this.
  45. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
  46. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes, MC away!
     
    tiffmaxee and smorgasbord like this.
  47. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Good call not to shoot. Nothing to prove. Up a little please.
     
    smorgasbord and Bandit's Mom like this.
  48. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    Just got 72 hip hip hooray.
     
    tiffmaxee and Bandit's Mom like this.
  49. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Let's see if he stays up. The irony will be if you stay up testing and feeding after a skip! LOL.
     
  50. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    With the slip he should start to go up soon and stay up.
     
    smorgasbord likes this.
  51. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Sorry I missed your tag, Joey, I must have gone to sleep right before. Looks like you were in good hands with Elise and Bhooma.
     
    smorgasbord likes this.

Share This Page