Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)
Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=220928#p220928
Happy Friday the 13th, Everyone! (My late Auntie Elsie, who was born on a Friday the 13th in 1901, always considered it her lucky day)
Maybe it will be Stu's lucky day. He had a good night. Ate everything in the automat, played vigorously with his mice, and this morning has an AMPS of 393!! (down to 254 at +3). I sure don't know what is happening to his bg. I'm shooting 1 unit, but maybe I should go up a bit (but since at one point yesterday he dropped to 59 from high numbers, maybe I should keep it at 1 unit). I am totally confused about everything. We started on the hyperthyroid medication Methimazole this morning: 5mg pill and he is supposed to have 1 pill every 12 hours. I don't know if this dose is considered low, medium, or high, but Cassandra says that it is important to start low and work up if necessary in order to prevent a renal crash. I'll ask the vet, but I think he will just say that it is the dose he recommends. In any event, Stu will be re-evaluated on Aug. 25th, when we do the next blood work, and then we will see if the Methimazole is doing anything.
One neat thing: Stu is fascinated by his new water fountain. He is playing with the water (and also drinking from the fountain as well as from his water bowls).
Off now to walk to the post office and try to get my mind to process how indeed I can deal with three conflicting diseases at once: diabetes, kidney disease, hyperthyroidism.
Later,
Ella & Stu
Happy Friday the 13th, Everyone! (My late Auntie Elsie, who was born on a Friday the 13th in 1901, always considered it her lucky day)
Maybe it will be Stu's lucky day. He had a good night. Ate everything in the automat, played vigorously with his mice, and this morning has an AMPS of 393!! (down to 254 at +3). I sure don't know what is happening to his bg. I'm shooting 1 unit, but maybe I should go up a bit (but since at one point yesterday he dropped to 59 from high numbers, maybe I should keep it at 1 unit). I am totally confused about everything. We started on the hyperthyroid medication Methimazole this morning: 5mg pill and he is supposed to have 1 pill every 12 hours. I don't know if this dose is considered low, medium, or high, but Cassandra says that it is important to start low and work up if necessary in order to prevent a renal crash. I'll ask the vet, but I think he will just say that it is the dose he recommends. In any event, Stu will be re-evaluated on Aug. 25th, when we do the next blood work, and then we will see if the Methimazole is doing anything.
One neat thing: Stu is fascinated by his new water fountain. He is playing with the water (and also drinking from the fountain as well as from his water bowls).
Off now to walk to the post office and try to get my mind to process how indeed I can deal with three conflicting diseases at once: diabetes, kidney disease, hyperthyroidism.
Later,
Ella & Stu